We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Go for the dessert and the experience” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of D Bar Denver

D Bar Denver
Reserve with OpenTable
D Bar Denver is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #50 of 2,977 Restaurants in Denver
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $30
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Bar scene
Dining options: Dinner, Brunch, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Located in Uptown, just a short walk from the Convention Center and the 16th Street Mall, D Bar Denver is fun dining at it's finest. Food Network Celebrity Chef Keegan Gerhard and his team bring you seasonally inspired upscale comfort food and award winning desserts. Immerse yourself in the culinary sanctuary we call D Bar. The d in D Bar stands for drinks, dining, and dessert. Drinks - Whether it's our fresh roasted Allegro coffee, hand spun milkshakes, world famous vanilla bean lemonade or our custom cocktails, craft beers and thoughtfully selected wines, D Bar is sure to quench even the most discerning thirsts. Dining - Keegan and Lisa's passion for food and travel bring you breakfast, lunch, dinner and brunch menus showcasing food you know done well with a twist. Dessert - D Bar is the home of Denver's favorite desserts. Grab a treat out of the pastry case, order a custom cake for that special occasion or cozy up to the dessert bar where it's prime seating as you watch talented pastry chefs create imaginative plated desserts right before your very eyes. Dessert - it's kind of our thing ya know!
Denver
Level Contributor
34 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Go for the dessert and the experience”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2013

This review will be short and to the point. This place is awesome if you're looking to get away from the ordinary, and experience something different in terms of desserts. Why should you only get excited to try regular menu items? Seeing a crazy list of fun, cool desserts is just as exhilirating for a foodie.

My gf and I went here, (get there before 8pm on a weekend night) and the wait was only 10 minutes. If we had gotten there a little later, the wait looked abysmal...even with the front patio open, which doubled the occupancy. I had a delicious pork sandwich, and she had the sliders. They were both yummy, but the sliders were heaven. I also had a lemonade which was one of the best lemonade's I've ever had - they put vanilla bean in it, which really gives it something extra.

For dessert, she had a plain slice of chocolate cake and a milkshake. They were about as good as you can get, but still kinda plain compared to all the other things on the dessert menu. I had the rasberry souffle, which was really different and good. There were lots of things on the plate to test out and experiment with. We sat at the bar, so we could see the cook making all the desserts, and we couldn't wait to try the others in the future.

The service definitely wasn't always there, but when you're there to just enjoy the experience, we didn't mind at all. They give you a bottle of water, so really there's not much to need from them. Price was a lot, but that's because you're basically paying for 2 meals per person.

Great place for a date night.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank FooserX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar Denver, responded to this review, July 25, 2013
Hi FooserX! Thanks for the awesome review, we love that you took the time let us know (and other fellow diners) how everything was. Looks like you scored on coming right at the right time! Sounds like you had a sampling of things and everything was yum in the tum! Yes isn't the lemonade good with the twist of vanilla! Thanks again for all the feedback and we certainly look forward to seeing you again soon for another opportunity to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

276 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    64
    27
    4
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
53 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Nice concept, neighborhood feel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2013

This place feels trendy and high-end but mixes in a neighborhood charm. I like their dessert options and twists on classics like cookies and milk! They have a full bar and great wine options too. I prefer to sit on the patio in the late evening time. Great for a post date visit!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank SS220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar Denver, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi SS220! Thanks for taking the time to write a review about D Bar on TripAdvisor and let us know about your experience. Love that you still feel the neighborhood charm when you are here. We have a great mix of out of towners/first time visitors and neighborhood regulars. Great suggestion on evening patio time..... nice way to wind down. Thanks again for all your valuable info and we look forward to serving you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
63 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Best dessert joint in Denver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013 via mobile

Get the cake and shake; sooooo good! This is a very cool place with some very unique desserts to choose from. Its a little expensive; but the desserts are amazing and definitely worth it! Parking can be tough, but you gotta check this place out if you are in downtown Denver; you wont be disappointed!

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank thehungryjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar Denver, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi thehungryjack! Thanks so much for taking the time to let us know about your experience, we appreciate the kudos! Such an honor to be a top dessert restaurant in Denver for you! Parking can be tough but we appreciate you sticking it out and we look forward to next time. Thanks again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
30 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great date night, always!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

My girlfriend and I absolutely love D-Bar! They have really expanded their menu over the past couple years and it is always fun to see what's new. I love the Milkshake / Cookie combo.... We tried Crave the other day, expecting D-Bar service and taste, and were extremely disappointed. We will stick to D=Bar for late night sweet treats! Love it!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Steiss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar Denver, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Steiss. Thanks so much for the kudos and for taking the time to let us know your feedback. You are right, we have really expanded our menu and try to include fun new things all of the time. You can't go wrong with milk and cookies :) Thanks again and we look forward to next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“So much fun!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2013

You have to try this place. This place is much fun. Sure be ready to wait for a table or just go at an off hour, it's worth the wait. Everyone in the place was taking pictures of their desserts. They are so creative and so delicious. We only had dessert and coffee but the dinner looked amazing. Next time I'm definitely trying the Chicken and Waffle sandwich, just because it looked so creative. I can't wait to go back here, sit on the patio, get another great dessert. The staff is so friendly. It's not a place to have an intimate dinner though. You are shoulder to shoulder with the person next to you but it's fun and not stuffy at all.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Staceyod
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChefKeegan, Owner at D Bar Denver, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Hi Stacey! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review, we appreciate the feedback! That's great advice on coming during an off period if you are looking for less of a crowd :) We would love for you to come back and give that Southern Fried Belgian a try and let us know how it was. Summer is here so yay patio season. Thanks again and we look forward to next time!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed D Bar Denver also viewed

 

Been to D Bar Denver? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing