We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We loved this hotel!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel
Ranked #42 of 157 Hotels in Denver
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“We loved this hotel!”
Reviewed June 23, 2007

We researched the reviews for Denver area hotels and this hotel seemed to be a favorite. Although it was sold out on several travel sites and not available on Priceline, I took a chance and called the hotel directly, The rate was less than online ($79/night)! The website advertised a "Bass Pro Shop" rate that is available to anyone -great bargain. We upgraded to the concierge level for $15/night for Wed and Thurs to get the hot breakfast, snacks at 5:30 and deserts later on. For a family of 4, this definitely was a time/money saver and we didn't have to leave the hotel to eat breakfast. NOTE: I wouldn't recommend this for Friday night or weekends since food/snacks not available. Another plus - refrigerator in the room and free internet access (hi speed in room, free wi fi in lobby). Location was great - easy access to I 70, Coors Ballpark, Waterworld etc.
Rooms were large, beds were great, and all the staff we encountered were extremely nice, especially to our children. They have games in the lobby if you want to borrow them, a pool (both indoor and outdoor) and a fitness room. Food from the restaurant was good and reasonably priced. Although we originally tried to stay downtown (rooms were $190 and up), I'm glad we stayed here! Would definitely stay again.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank chakrachick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,598 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    782
    462
    203
    83
    68
See reviews for
281
238
98
756
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (421)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed June 23, 2007

I used the renaissance website to view and book my room. After arriving at the hotel we were promptly checked in to find out that the renovations which were advertised will not even be started until Dec '07. Our room looked nothing like the website pictures. It was straight out of 1983. I called the front desk and asked if we could be moved to room we booked online. After being transferred to a manager and informed that the website photo was a rendering of what a future room would look like I asked to be checked out at no charge. They did check us out but the hold that they put on my credit card will not be refunded for several weeks. This hotel in its current state is not worth the price.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank lauriemarie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liberty, Missouri
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2007

I have stayed at this property many times over the years because it is well-located close to I-70. This makes it convenient for travel up to the ski mountains and for business travel, provided you have a car and are not intimidated by driving around Denver. On my last stay I noticed more than ever that the hotel can use some freshening up. Maintenence and visual appeal seem to have slipped.

Part of the problem, I suspect, is that over the past few visits I have noticed the hotel seems to cater to large groups--and often they are groups of kids and teens. They can be very hard on hotel properties.

Those not familiar with Denver need to know that this hotel is not all that close to Denver International Airport, even though it may be advertised as an airport hotel. It is across the street from the location of the old Stapleton Airport, but that is a good 20 minutes away. It's about halfway between DIA and Downtown Denver and probably about halfway between DIA and the Cherry Creek area. The hotel does offer shuttle services to and from DIA, so that makes it a little more convenient for those looking for "airport accomodations." But there are better (if more expensive) hotels closer to DIA .

On the plus side, the rooms are nice and large. The double queens have space galore and plenty of room to work. The hotel is well set up for business travelers, with the typical range of business services you would expect at a hotel catering to business travelers. The front desk and staff are helpful. The hotel has an on-site restaurant and bar and a business center.

The main reason to stay at this hotel is value. Most of the time, the room rates are very reasonable considering the flag and the facilities. If you can get the rooms at a discount, I think it is worth considering for the price-conscious business traveler. If you have to pay anything close to full price, I would shop around. If they renovate it and stop hosting the youth conventions, that may change the equation.

  • Liked — Value
  • Disliked — Needs a little maintenance and maybe a renovation
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank TravelerKC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Royal, PA
1 review
Reviewed June 6, 2007

This hotel is amazing!!! I have stayed there twice in the past month - it is my preferred location while in Denver.

The property is grand...lobby area packed full of special services - gift shop, car rental, resturants, laundry facilities, pool. Roomy living quarters with those amazing beds- comfort plus!!

Closeby are many chain restaurants and a Super Walmart - for everything I forgot at home!

THE BEST PART - THE STAFF!!! They are so professional and willing to do for the customer. I was especially impressed with their high level of training in other areas such as medical emergencies and first aid. They displayed a can do attitude as well as a get it done skill set.

I would highly recommend this hotel.

Stayed June 2007
Helpful?
Thank launatk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, Virginia
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2007

Check-in was fantastic! Since my flight arrived prior to 1500 I was concerned about whether I could check-in early but this was no problem as the staff let me in the room several hours before standard check-in. The room did not have a refrigerator which I needed for my medication. Once again, the staff had a micro refrig delivered in less than 30 minutes.

Room was standard but the mattress and pillows were soft and very comfortable. Rooms on the west side have an excellent view of the mountains and downtown Denver. Hotel is within walking distance of Walmart and a few popular restaurants (Famous Dave's, Country Buffett). Rooms are interior and open up to a lovely atrium.

Hotel restaurant is a quality establishment, not great but the food is good with several excellent salads. There are several nice waitresses in the restaurant and a few are very pleasing to the eye. The bar is nicely arranged with several billard tables and food service. The bartender was prompt and courteous but she could be a little more chatty. There are wine and beer specials before 1800. The only draft beer selection is Coors (of course) which is a great beer but a wider selection would have been nice.

Fitness center is top-notch for a hotel. There are weights, treadmills, and elliptic equipment plus an indoor pool and sauna.

Concierge, during the day, was very customer service oriented and since I did not have a car, he provide shuttle service to the local establishments. The hotel has a frequent shuttle service to the airport.

Pros:
Great, attentive staff
Ambiance of lounge
Fitness center/pool
Mountain view (west side)

Cons:
Noise level (east side)
Distance to airport is almost 17 miles
Hotel is in an area in transition; retail establishments are being built but some industrial structures are nearby

Recommendations: Ask for room on west side; to see downtown Denver you will need a car as it is some distance away

Would stay here again.

  • Liked — Staff
  • Disliked — Distance from downtown
  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Dale_69er
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 19, 2007

Booked with a group a few weeks ago and we did not even get the rooms we wanted and the sales manger didnt seem to care after our booking. Gee thanks!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — Not much
  • Stayed April 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank DenverK123456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa Kansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2006

This Hotel is Awsome! We were there on a wednesday and stayed till friday. Although it was busy with meetings the pool and the excersize room was nice. If you like great views I would remecomend the west side so you could see the city with the mountains in the background. The east side of the hotel is where you can see nothing but landscape and the DIA (the airport).

  • Liked — The great view and the indoor pool
  • Disliked — Over pricey at the gift shop
  • Tips/Secrets — if you need snacks i would go across the street to the wallmart to buy it cheeper
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank crowbar123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Stapleton
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Stapleton
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver Stapleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North
Stapleton
Drury Inn & Suites Denver Stapleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel

Property: Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel
Address: 3801 Quebec St, Denver, CO 80207-1629 (Formerly Renaissance Denver Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Denver
#18 Family Hotel in Denver
#22 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the understated luxury found at our Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel conveniently located just off I-70 between the Denver International Airport (DIA) and Downtown. Our North Denver hotel is pet-friendly and close to area attractions including the Shops at Northfields, Quebec Square Retail Center and Dick's Sporting Goods Park. Plus, as an esteemed sponsor of DSG Park, our hotel is the official home of the Colorado Rapids, located mere minutes away. Every guest will indulge in luxurious guest rooms offering balconies with expansive views and luxurious amenities, while those visiting on business appreciate our impeccably designed conference space spanning over 40,000 sq. ft. of flexible event space. Family vacationers especially enjoy our proximity to the Colorado Convention Center, Coors Field, Larimer Square, the Denver Zoo, the Museum of Nature and Science, and Bass Pro Shop. Discover the distinctive style of our Denver hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Denver
Denver Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing