We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean room, some noise, so-so restaurant”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel
Ranked #44 of 160 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed September 30, 2013

Stayed one night before flying out of Denver the next morning. Check in went easily. Room overlooked 3 roads, so there was traffic noise, but was reasonably quiet in wee hours of the morning. It rained overnight, and the rain poured on the concrete balcony, which created some noise of it's own. Finally, all rooms overlook the lobby, open concept plan, so you can hear noise from the lobby, dining room, etc. That does quiet down eventually.
The room was clean, plenty of towels, hair dryer in room. No mini-fridge, which was a bit of a bummer, but not a big deal. King bed was very comfortable.
We needed our boarding passes printed, business center printer was not working. The hotel guide says there is an airline kiosk by reception, but there is no such thing. However, the front desk did go online for us and print off the boarding passes, which was a help.
We ate in the restaurant for dinner and breakfast. I had to send my dinner back as the chicken was not cooked all the way through. They were very nice, brought me out a new dinner, and took it off the bill. But the dish which was supposed to be chicken cordon bleu, was a flat piece of chicken, with a huge slab of ham over top, covered with cheese, and some blend of herbs overtop which completely overwhelmed the dish. Even if the chicken had not been undercooked it was an odd rendition of the dish. My husband had the spaghetti and meatballs and said the meatballs were definitely homemade. For breakfast, there is a buffet option as well as menu. I am not a big breakfast eater, and I was thrilled to see a single egg benedict for $3 on the menu. That and OJ was a perfect size breakfast for me, and it was well done. Hubby had French Toast which he said was very good. Service for both breakfast and dinner was fairly slow, so keep that in mind if you are in a hurry.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the backside of the hotel to avoid highway noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank finegael
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 9, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. Keeping comfortable is crucial to having an enjoyable traveling experience and we’re glad the Renaissance Denver Hotel provided you with that. Although our rooms do not come equipped with a mini fridge, one can be placed in your room upon request for a one-time fee of $15. We would be happy to assist you in finding the perfect accommodations in a quieter area of the hotel for future stays. It would be great to see both you and your husband again at our hotel.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,648)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,263 - 1,269 of 1,648 reviews

Reviewed September 27, 2013

Ok hotel, nothing great. Only plus was the Starbucks located in the lobby. Beds were comfortable and rooms were clean. But for a Marriott property, it is just OK. We had a balcony room, which was not worth the price. We only stayed here for 1 night before flying out of Denver International airport. Hotel front desk staff is very nice, however very misinformed about what their own hotel services offer. They gave us wrong information when we asked about returning our rental car. They told us that Enterprise would come to the hotel and pick up our rental car and then we could ride the shuttle to the airport. WRONG! Enterprise does not pick up cars at the hotel. Good thing we called Enterprise directly. And like other reviewers stated: NO free wifi in rooms!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cheryl C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

While we’re glad that you were able to have a cup of Starbucks coffee with us, it’s unfortunate to discover that your stay with us was not more than just ok. Although our hotel provides a complimentary shuttle to the airport, we would like to point out that we are not affiliated with the car rental service you mentioned. We regret any oversights that occurred on your stay. Thank you for providing us your perspective. It is our hope that we’ll have an opportunity to serve you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

I must say, I love Renaissance properties. As a Marriott loyalty member, it's one of my favorite next to the Ritz Carlton. But I had a bad negative experience upon first entering this property. Let's begin with the list:

• No one available at valet and waited 10 minutes so I decided to self-park. Which is fine considering it's next door, but if I have the intention on valeting, I go there first.
• I reserved a King bed and they didn't have any available.
• The sink didn't drain when I arrived to my room.

Not the best customer experience provided when I requested a room change after all this. The manager did not empathize with my situation. I eventually received acknowledgment for my request, but almost begrudgingly from the Renaissance staff.

Thanks all goes out to Anna for really listening to my frustrations and offering me some alternatives and accommodations for my stay.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

First and foremost, we sincerely apologize about the service you received. It’s extremely important to us that our guests receive everything they need for an exemplary stay. Your encounter with our staff was definitely out of character and we really wish it hadn’t been. We’re glad that a member of our staff was able to make things right and we appreciate you sharing your experience with us. Your comments will be shared with our valet and other staff members in an effort to improve. We hope that you’ll return to us again; we’ll certainly provide you the stay that you deserve.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

We hosted a National Convention at the Renaissance Denver and couldn't have asked for a better experience. The staff went above and beyond to make our group feel comfortable. Steve in sales was a pleasure to work with, and Cat in catering is my new favorite person. She was such a character, so much fun, but didn't miss a single detail of our banquet.

I will definitely host another event there.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank John H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2013

We’re looking forward to hosting your next event at the Renaissance Denver Hotel! Your kind words for our staff and facilities are greatly appreciated and we’ll be sure to share them with our event staff. It’s wonderful to hear that your convention was a success and everyone had an incredible time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

Pros: beautiful lobby. Nice fitness center. Quiet, the rooms are well insulated. The housekeeping and valet very friendly. The breakfast was great. Great business center.
Cons: Jacuzzi out of service. Small indoor pool, outside pool out of service. Room out dated, no fridge, no free Wi-Fi in the room. Horrible location, no free parking.
Overall the experience was not the best.
Would I recommend: no stay in a holiday inn and save money.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingemi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

While we’re glad that many aspects of our hotel met your standards, we’re disappointed to discover that your stay with us was not everything it should have been. We’re sorry that our Jacuzzi and outdoor pool were not available during your stay. Also, a refrigerator can be placed in your room for a small fee. Our location is convenient to several major shopping facilities, sports complexes, and the Denver International Airport; we apologize that it wasn’t beneficial for your stay. Please consider staying with us again; we would love an opportunity to provide you with the stay that you deserve. Thank you for sharing your perspective with us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

We stayed two nights at the Renaissance Hotel Denver while attending continuing ed classes. The hotel lobby is nice. We did not eat in the restaurant. The room was okay, typical but no frig. What irked us was the $10/night charge for wifi and $10/night charge for self parking (valet parking is $15/night). We were not allowed to borrow the bellman's cart unless the bellman stayed with it, i.e., we had to tip a bellman even if we moved our own bags. In this day, every hotel should have free wifi. Sandwich shops and burger joints have free wifi, got goodness sake! Last month we stayed in a Super 8 which had free Internet, a nice free breakfast, and even free soup and salad in the evening! Except for the fancy lobby, it was more appealing and well appointed than the Renaissance. If this is a good location for your stay, you will probably be satisfied. We will not be returning.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Janet S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Positive or otherwise, we’re always thankful for the feedback we receive from our guests. We regret that your experience with us fell short of expectations. Although our rooms do not have refrigerators in them, one can be placed in your room upon request for a small fee. We apologize if you were not made aware of this. It is our hope that you will reconsider and return for a future stay; we’re sure it will be much improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 16, 2013

The price fluxuates drastically at this location. When it is within my company budget I like to stay at this hotel. The hotel itself is older, but it has been reconditioned and is more modern looking. The work out facility is well equipped and clean as well as the pools. The rooms are updated, clean and when you get a high enough floor, offer a great view.

There are some restaurants nearby and a little shopping. The staff is typically helpful and the concierge lounge is nice.

Room Tip: Mountain views are on the West side of the hotel, but only if you get a higher floor. Low West side...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank businessmap1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2013

Thank you for sharing your experience with us! It’s always great to hear from our guests who stay regularly with us at the Renaissance Denver Hotel. We’re glad that our prime location and staff always add convenience to your stays. Being able to continue your workout regimen is always important and we’re happy that our fitness facility exceeds your expectations. We hope to see you on your next trip to Denver!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stapleton
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver Stapleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel

Address: 3801 Quebec St, Denver, CO 80207-1629 (Formerly Renaissance Denver Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Family Hotel in Denver
#16 Business Hotel in Denver
#22 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $121 - $244 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the understated luxury found at our Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel conveniently located just off I-70 between the Denver International Airport (DIA) and Downtown. Our North Denver hotel is pet-friendly and close to area attractions including the Shops at Northfields, Quebec Square Retail Center and Dick's Sporting Goods Park. Plus, as an esteemed sponsor of DSG Park, our hotel is the official home of the Colorado Rapids, located mere minutes away. Every guest will indulge in luxurious guest rooms offering balconies with expansive views and luxurious amenities, while those visiting on business appreciate our impeccably designed conference space spanning over 40,000 sq. ft. of flexible event space. Family vacationers especially enjoy our proximity to the Colorado Convention Center, Coors Field, Larimer Square, the Denver Zoo, the Museum of Nature and Science, and Bass Pro Shop. Discover the distinctive style of our Denver hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelPower, Travelocity, Marriott, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Denver
Denver Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing