We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel - but dodgy charge on my credit card on departure”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel
Ranked #45 of 158 Hotels in Denver
Reviewed March 30, 2012

We stayed at the Renaissance Denver for two nights - at the beginning and end of our vacation.

Both times, we had a lovely stay, the facilities are great, and the rooms are lovely - spacious and very clean with great views.

The first night was great, we nipped over to the iHop for breakfast, and then grabbed a cab to take us to pick up our RV for our main vacation.

The RV didn't come with any pillows and bedding, so we purchased these from Walmart. After dropping off the RV and returning to the hotel for our last night before our journey home, we brought all of the pillows and bedding back to the hotel with us.

One of the pillows was damaged during our vacation, so I left this in the bin at the hotel.

To be clear - this was a pillow bought from Walmart - NOT a hotel pillow.

Anyhow, after returning from our trip, I was very surprised to find I had a $25.00 charge on my credit card, apparently for "damage to property"!!

I called up the hotel, and they said we had damaged their pillow and so were charging for it. They would not accept my explanation and assurance that it was a pillow we had bought ourselves for our trip in the RV.

Other than the surprise charge on my credit card, and a very long train that tooted it's whistle through the night (there's a railroad right next door), we did have a lovely stay at the hotel. It's just a shame that it was soured at the end.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mjtafa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 2, 2012

We’re happy to learn that your stay was enjoyable and you got to explore the area in the comfort of an RV. We were surprised to hear however, that there may be an incorrect charge. Thank you for reaching out to us and letting us know that this situation has not been resolved to your satisfaction. Your comments will be reviewed further by our management team and we appreciate your patience. Any inconveniences you may have experienced are truly regrettable and we hope this will not deter you from choosing to stay with us again. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Renaissance Denver Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,613)
There are newer reviews for Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1,427 - 1,433 of 1,613 reviews

Reviewed February 24, 2012

I've rarely stayed somewhere that every single staff member I encountered made me feel welcome ... This was one of those places. I arrived after midnight and used an airline voucher for a discounted rate with no problems or complaints. Check in was friendly and speedy. The hotel seems to have been recently remodeled and was clean and well kept. I loved the big windows without a smudge on them. But again, what set them apart was the staff. Helpful, considerate, friendly, and efficient. I will stay here again given the chance.

  • Stayed: February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bethann7779
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

Our goal at the Renaissance Denver Hotel is to provide the most comfortable accommodations and best experience possible to ensure our guest’s satisfaction. It is touching to learn of your positive experience with our staff and facilities. We appreciate your review and look forward to welcoming you back for another stay with us in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 15, 2012

Stayed here on business while visiting the UC Denver Anschutz Medical Campus. There are one or two closer hotels but this had a much better rate. Room was nice and clean, and the free breakfast was plentiful and uncrowded. It is far from both downtown and the airport, and the trains are pretty loud in the middle of the night, but would definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Mountain views on the west side
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Diamond_D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2012

We are pleased to learn that you enjoyed the comfortable accommodations, modern amenities and convenient location of the Renaissance Denver Hotel. Approximately 20 minutes from the Denver Airport, we are located in close proximity to a number of Denver area attractions including the Denver Zoo, Stapleton and The Improv. We thank you for your review and look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 13, 2012

Stayed here for a recent conference for the second time, and here's the deal:

Pro's:
a) Very nice staff, always professional and courteous, especially the bell staff
b) Convenient off of highway with free parking for overnight guests
c) Many rooms have a very nice view of the mountains

Con's:
a) The structure of the hotel is that the restaurant is in the center of the hotel on the ground floor and all of the rooms' doors open up to this open-air configuration surrounding it. This makes the dishes clanking, people talking, etc. annoying, very early in the morning or late at night.
b) The hotel is near the train tracks just where the train likes to blast its horn, even in the middle of the night. It's more severe depending on where your room is.
c) If your room isn't on the mountain side, you have a view of a highway and the Home Depot.

Basically I suggest if you book with this hotel, ask specifically for a mountain-side room and far away from the tracks. You'll get the restaurant noise but it's better than a loud train.

Room Tip: mountain side room, away from tracks
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tzeug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

We are very thankful for your kind words about our professional and courteous staff, convenient location and beautiful views. We also appreciate your feedback regarding the layout of our hotel. The comfort of our guests is of the utmost priority for us at the Renaissance Denver Hotel and our staff is always available to assist in improving the overall experience for our guests during their stay. It would be our pleasure to welcome you back to the Renaissance Denver Hotel in the near future and help you find the perfect accommodations to suit your needs.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business conference for a few days. All of the conference activities were at the hotel conference centre.

The amenities at the hotel were good. The quality of the restaurant was good. The rooms were clean and well appointed with decent furniture. There appear to be covered patios on all or most of the rooms. Parking is included with the room rate. Internet is available for a typically ridiculous extra charge. Good fitness centre with lots of high-end cardio equipment.

This hotel is out in the middle of no where in what seems like a bit of a sketchy neighbourhood. It is out by the old airport, at the intersection of a highway and a major road. There is also a busy railway nearby. You can even see a penitentiary on the horizon to the east.

There isn't much around the area and its a long, long way from downtown Denver. I guess at one time, this was a solid airport hotel. Now, it just seems out of place.

Returning to the hotel after dark and parking in the poorly lit, unsecured parking garage seemed a little risky/unsafe.

It worked out fine with the conference being at the hotel. It is a solid average hotel, but I wouldn't recommend it for personal travel.

Room Tip: East-facing rooms overlook a highway, a busy road and a railway.
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SirCanuck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2012

It is great to hear from a guest who enjoyed the convenience of our overnight accommodations and conference facilities. We are happy you enjoyed our amenities and were able to take advantage of our secure, complementary garage parking, fitness center and more. The Renaissance Denver Hotel is conveniently located only 4.6 miles from the center of downtown and in close proximity to many area attractions including the Denver Botanical Gardens and Denver Zoo. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future to experience all that this area has to offer.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 9, 2012

As a Marriott Platinum Member I've stayed in many Marriott Hotels. The Denver Renaissance offers above and beyond customer service. Throughout the hotel all staff was extremely helpful, professional. Special thank you to Julie (Concierge Lounge), Michelle (Manager), Mohammed (Bell Boy), Joshua (Bar) you all made me feel welcome during my 10 day stay.
The lobby is well designed and offers the guest many areas to relax or socialize. The bar has excellent bar food in a decent price range. Very well equipped business center. The concierge lounge offers tasteful snacks and breakfast. The rooms including bathrooms are very clean and spacious. The view from the room balcony was amazing.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ute1301
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 14, 2012

We appreciate your loyalty and are touched by your review. Your kind words about your interactions with our staff is the customer service experience we strive to provide each of our guests. It is wonderful to learn that you enjoyed the updated accommodations and amenities during your stay. We look forward to welcoming you back to the Renaissance Denver Hotel in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Stayed here when my flight from DIA was cancelled. Great hotel! Beautiful! Far from DIA though.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nbparents
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DenverRenaissance, General Manager at Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 30, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We regret to hear that you had travel difficulties but are grateful you had the opportunity to stay with us at the Renaissance Denver Hotel. We are about 20 minutes from the Denver International Airport and offer complimentary airport shuttles. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for another visit to enjoy all that this area has to offer!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Denver hotels
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver
Stapleton
Embassy Suites by Hilton Denver Stapleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Stapleton
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Denver - Stapleton North
Stapleton
Drury Inn & Suites Denver Stapleton
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel

Address: 3801 Quebec St, Denver, CO 80207-1629 (Formerly Renaissance Denver Hotel)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Denver
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#16 Business Hotel in Denver
#18 Family Hotel in Denver
#22 Romantic Hotel in Denver
Price Range: $144 - $284 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 399
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Embrace the understated luxury found at our Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel conveniently located just off I-70 between the Denver International Airport (DIA) and Downtown. Our North Denver hotel is pet-friendly and close to area attractions including the Shops at Northfields, Quebec Square Retail Center and Dick's Sporting Goods Park. Plus, as an esteemed sponsor of DSG Park, our hotel is the official home of the Colorado Rapids, located mere minutes away. Every guest will indulge in luxurious guest rooms offering balconies with expansive views and luxurious amenities, while those visiting on business appreciate our impeccably designed conference space spanning over 40,000 sq. ft. of flexible event space. Family vacationers especially enjoy our proximity to the Colorado Convention Center, Coors Field, Larimer Square, the Denver Zoo, the Museum of Nature and Science, and Bass Pro Shop. Discover the distinctive style of our Denver hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire, HotelsforEveryone, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Renaissance Denver Stapleton Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Renaissance Denver
Denver Renaissance

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing