We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Historic spot”
Review of The Windsor Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Windsor Hotel
Ranked #1 of 5 Del Norte B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 9, 2014

Saved from demolition by the townspeople, this nineteenth century property has been thoroughly renovated while preserving its historic character. Best hotel in the San Luis valley with reasonable prices and friendly staff.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (172)
There are newer reviews for The Windsor Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

129 - 135 of 172 reviews

Reviewed March 28, 2014

This historic building had been vacant for 30 years and was 24 hours from demolition when a small group of history-loving philanthropist/entrepreneurs took action to save the building for future generations. Talk to Steve, who was part of that small group, and you'll appreciate what they went through to save the building and maintain the old-west flavor, while meeting modern building and accessibility codes. The restoration took away the squeaky floors and some of the old flavor, but a loving architect and the historical society kept the feel of the old west. Follow the story-board in the lobby showing the before and post-restoration photos and narrative. It's fun to walk the halls and view the paintings by local artists depicting life and people of the old west.
Don't expect a fridge or microwave in your room (suites have them). The restaurant is not cheap, but it is managed by an award-winning chef and the food amazingly good. If you appreciate the history of the old west, and don't mind if the floors don't squeak, you'll enjoy The Windsor Hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspectordude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 20, 2014

Decided to check out the sandhill cranes in Southern Colorado at the Monte Vista National Wildlife Refuge this year and found this historic wonder in Del Norte [20-25 minutes from the MVNWR]. Saved by a group interested in historic preservation, the Windsor Hotel is beautifully renovated. Enjoyed listening to Steve relate the process of rescuing the building. We stayed two nights, March 10 & 11, at very reasonable winter rates in a very large room with high ceilings in the southwest corner of the building. The room was immaculate; the kingsize bed comfortable; and the sitting area nicely furnished. Coffee was available in a sitting area at the top of the stairs. We had planned on trying the Three Barrel Brewing co. pizza and beer [maybe next time], but ended up eating both nights in the Windsor Restaurant. Sommelier Kodi and Chef Regan have created a delectable dining / drinking sensation. We ordered martini's, Kodi recommended Breckenridge Distillery's vodka. It was delicious. Chef Regan is marvelous. We had the pan seared chicken, the grilled salmon, and the local lamb. These and the accompanying side dishes were delicious, cooked to perfection, and the presentation was beautiful. [I generally don't eat brussel sprouts, her caramelized brussel sprouts are to die for]

Lots to do in the area, hike Penitente Canyon or many other trails; visit the MVNWR [Sandhill cranes, eagles, hawks, deer]; visit Creede [scenery is beautiful]; visit Haefeli's Honey shop on main street [delicious clover honey].

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ViajeroTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2014

Many travel highway U.S. 160 blasting their way in one day's drive from Texas or Oklahoma to some unfortunate Colorado ski area or river. This place is not for you people. Sorry. The Windsor Hotel is a step into the past and with the kind of luxury that is welcomed by the kind of person who stops and enjoys life. The rooms are few (20) and gorgeous. We stayed in the corner room 216, and loved the view onto the towns activities (really quiet). Wander down from your upstairs room to the bar kept by Kevin (Drink a Rye Manhattan), then wander into the dining room where Kodi with Tiffany's help implements Chef Regan's masterpieces. The wine selection is exceptional. The dinner experience was awesome. Go there. Enjoy life. Say hello to Steve at the front desk - he knows everything about the hotel, and there is a lot of history here.

Runners, there is a great run right from the front door. Just head south down Columbine Avenue to the Lookout Mountain trailhead about .4 miles away. Put together some loops on the trail system (see the map) with some serious uphill for a 5-mile adventure and extremely photogenic views into the San Luis Valley.

Birders. Go to Monte Vista National Wildlife Refuge. Ask Don the wildlife biologist where to look for your favorite bird.

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mylonite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 5, 2014

My husband and I went to the Windsor to celebrate our 25th anniversary. We had been before and were not impressed with either the food or the service but this time it was different - excellent food (We both had the salmon, cooked to perfection) and service. We thoroughly enjoyed being there for that celebration.

Room Tip: We did not stay at the Windsor because we live close by in Monte Vista.
  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
Thank EMS728841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 4, 2014

The Windsor Hotel in Del Norte is an oasis on your way to the 4 Corners of Colorado. The staff is very welcoming and they make the whole experience one to remember. Within the hotel is a great restaurant and I mean FANTASTIC ! They source all local products from vegetables to meat and I would rate the food as 5 Star. What I mean by oasis is that they have very comfortable rooms and provide a great dining experience. So on your travels a great place to unwind and replenish your self.

Room Tip: They are all very nice and comfy
  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BlueMoonhat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2014

My husband and I went to the Windsor Hotel on Valentines weekend. It was a great experience despite the fact that we could only go for the second night (we were stopped by a snow storm the first night and couldn't make it). The hotel offered us another night free but we could not stay (they could not refund us because it was through Groupon). We did not eat at the restaurant and went to 3 Barrel Brewing instead (an awesome pizza place next to the Windsor). The staff even shipped the sweater I left behind to us for free. Overall a wonderful experience, highly recommended.

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 2chelseyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Del Norte
15.8 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
265 reviews
10.6 mi away
Best Western Movie Manor
Best Western Movie Manor
#1 of 4 in Monte Vista
592 reviews
14.8 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
238 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.0 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
160 reviews
13.3 mi away
Monte Villa Inn
Monte Villa Inn
#4 of 4 in Monte Vista
35 reviews
41.1 mi away
Ute Bluff Lodge, Cabins & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Windsor Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Windsor Hotel

Address: 605 Grand Ave, Del Norte, CO 81132-3251
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Del Norte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Del Norte
Price Range: $113 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Windsor Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in 1874, and one of Colorado's oldest hotels, the Windsor has been the heart of the town of Del Norte for nearly 140 years. Originally known as "The Whitsitt House", this “Grand Dame’s” construction started soon after the town was founded in 1871. In the last quarter of the 1800's, Del Norte was a booming and thriving mining and ranching hub. Once on the short list for the capital of Colorado, Del Norte lost by one vote to Denver as state capital. The Windsor Hotel was the focal point of social and commercial activity in San Luis Valley area and remained a regional gathering spot for over a hundred years. Del Norte, remained a prospering and influential town in south western Colorado until the early 1970's. The Windsor Hotel too, began to reflect the area’s decline. By 1993, the hotel was dilapidated and in a state of ruination. A wrecking ball was literally looming over the decaying and lifeless “Victorian Lady” as she awaited her final fate. With amazing foresight and dedication, a local benefactor and his wife, Doctor Raymond & Mrs. Barbra Culp, stepped in to save the Windsor from demolition, literally at the last minute (the hotel lounge, Bistro Barbara, is named after Mrs. Culp in her honor). Over the past 20 years, several phases of reconstruction, restoration and regeneration have produceded an eloquent lodging and dining establishment. Highlights are a "turn-of-the-century" parlor, elegant dining and event rooms, and a living history interpretive area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your The Windsor Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing