We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing food dinner, brunch, and lunch”

The Windsor Hotel Dining Room
Ranked #2 of 13 Restaurants in Del Norte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $12 - $40
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Romantic, Large groups, Special occasions, Families with children, Local cuisine, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Chef Regan is a rising star in the valley. Her dishes shine far beyond flavor and presentation. Innovative dishes combined with the freshest local ingredients have earned her a reputation of DE-LIGHTRESS.Oh! But let's not forget Regan's desserts... TEMPTRESS.... comes to mind, with one taste of her decadent chocolate souffle! The Dining Room at the Windsor is all aglow with local patrons' and travelers' raves and reviews. Come in, enjoy the service and know that tasting IS believing! Kodi Whitehead, our own local starling, returning to the valley with his wife, Regan, this last spring. As the Food and Beverage Director, Kodi brings his appreciation, experience and formal training as a Sommelier (from the Court of Master Sommeliers). Yet, Wines are only the beginning... what an excellent and fun evening to be had, learning from your host, about fine foods and drink. The Dining Room, at the Windsor, is looking forward to your arrival and providing you with a superb and 4th dimension dining experience!
Santa Fe
Level Contributor
96 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing food dinner, brunch, and lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

We loved the restaurant so much, we are every meal on our two day stay at the hotel. Dinners were gourmet. Meats cooked perfectly. Drinks were good and original. Sunday brunch was great. Everyone at our table had a different dish and raved about the steak and eggs, home made chorizo sausage, eggs Benedict, toast, corn bread, and almond French toast. The burgers were also outstanding. We were told the meat is a special mixture of burger and sirloin, made especially for the restaurant. We were there for a special music event and enjoyed beef and pork brisk it sandwiches on the patio with $5 drinks all afternoon. Amazing food outstanding service. Worth a stop on a road trip and/or an extended stay to satisfy your inner foodie!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank ValSantaFe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    129
    19
    6
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Hillsborough, North Carolina
Level Contributor
27 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“As Good As It Gets, Anywhere!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

Denver would be way lucky to have a restaurant this fine, so you can imagine if you're in the Valley, do not miss this gem. The wines are superb, the food is absolutely fantastic and the prices excellent for this gourmet fare. Regan and Kodi are Wolfgang's (LA) loss but a treasure for the whole South of Colorado to enjoy. You will not find a better meal anywhere. And while you are there, if possible to stop over, the hotel is a magnificent and historic experience. Their bar is great too. The manager, Steve, makes sure anything and everything is absolutely perfect for his guest and he means to please. As I said, As Good As It Gets Anywhere!

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DenverJerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newark, Delaware
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent meal!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2013

We enjoyed an excellent meal that we would have expected to find in a MUCH larger city. Reagan and Kodi are both alumni of Wolfgang Puck restaurants in LA, and they offer a number of great dishes prepared from local food. They have a very nice selection of wines to accompany the dinner, and also offer a variety of cocktails. Desserts were particularly delicious.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boerne, Texas
Level Contributor
155 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Great lunch in the courtyard.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2013

My husband and I choose the courtyard so we could enjoy the beautiful Colorado weather. Our waiter was very friendly and helpful with the menu. We shared an Arugula and Fennel Root Salad and the Carbonara pasta. Both were outstanding. The weather plus the great food made for a wonderful lunch. We are vacationing in the area, but we would definitely go back if we are ever in the area.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank MarieH774
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alamosa, Colorado
Level Contributor
32 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Meal tonight at the Windsor-Great New Chef and Management”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2013

Decided to have a pre-Father's day dinner with my husband and we were really impressed. The front and the back of the house were run like we were at the Broadmoor, but with much more reasonable prices! We started with a corn salad that was very good, with baby arugula. My husband had the polenta starter and all the flavors worked well together-goat cheese, pickled onions, tomatoes, roasted asparagus and a balsamic glaze. Each bite was a bite of heaven. My trout had a burst of different flavors included a relish of cauliflower, white raisins, capers, and a cauliflower puree, that worked incredibly well together. My husband's chicken had a raspberry sauce and fingerling potatoes with an amazing sauce. With topped it all off with the chocolate souflee with a vanilla cream that was sooooo rich. You might want to share it with a few friends! The wine list was interesting and varied. The cocktails utilize local Colorado liquors and the mixologist was friendly and had some neat cocktails. I had a local gin with some Pernod and lemon and it was very crisp. This is worth the meager 30 minute drive from Alamosa! You would not even think about this kind of drive in the city! Time to drive to Del Norte for more than just special occasions!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jmordecai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Windsor Hotel Dining Room also viewed

 

Been to The Windsor Hotel Dining Room? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing