We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun Fun Fun”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Beque
Certificate of Excellence
State College, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fun Fun Fun”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2012

If you enjoy outdoor sports such as shooting, fishing, horseback and ATV riding and want to stay in the lap of luxury, eat gourmet meals, experience international art in a beautiful western setting, then this is the place for you! I can't say enough about the staff. They really make you feel at home. I was invited to a retreat that was hosted by a company seeking to dialog with potential customers in regard to product development. It was a great mixture of work and play. The food and drink was top notch. Invite me back any day!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    1
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
25
38
5
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 18, 2012

This was the most amazing place we've ever stayed! From the minute we arrived, we felt like we were guests in Mr. Kessler's home! The setting is stunning and the lodge is spectacular. Around every corner is another gorgeous wood piece, old photo or painting. The furnishings were art in themselves. And then there is Chef Lenny (AKA the Black Mamba). Lenny is a gourmet chef in every sense of the word. His food was some of the best We've ever had anywhere and each meal just seemed to get better than the last! And the food presentation was art in itself. Lenny goes above and beyond to make your stay perfect. And, if that's not enough, he sings, plays guitar and tells stories - and he's really good! It was a perfect weekend and we can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Kathyb80439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2012

Nothing compares to this place. I don't know where to begin. The lodge is adorned with beautiful art and decor. The accomodations are second to none. It's so peaceful and tranquil I truly felt younger when I left. The staff is attentive, friendly and makes you feel like you belong there. You just have to experience it for yourself.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Bill D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2012

You come around the corner on this lonely dirt road and and there sits this almost majestic lodge on the edge of the lake. Then thru the gates you park at the edge of the apple orchard only to be greeted by the staff. What an inredible surprise. Upon entering the lodge you feel as if you are home. The accomations were lovely. After seeing our rooms we go down for a cocktail before dinner and meet Lenny and discover he is agourmet chef to boot. Lenny opened his kitched to us during our amazing meal, it was just a fantastic place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hildibeyor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
20 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

I'm hesitant to advertise Kessler Canyon because this place is truly a gem and I almost hate for word to get out! We stayed here last Thanksgiving weekend and this property is truly awesome and amazing. This property is marketed under the Marriott brand so we stayed on my points. Kessler Canyon is situated on 23K+ acres and is miles from anywhere. There is not a restaurant per se on-site - rather you get Chef Lenny (aka Black Mamba) who will make you a cocktail upon arrival and cook cuisine to your specific needs. My wife is a non-militant vegetarian and he conjured up some amazing food during our short stay. Tip: if you like Bloody Mary's - just ask. Lenny had a killer Bloody Mary bar set up when we got up for breakfast one morning.

Kessler Canyon does not lack for ambiance or things to do even if you are just into kicking back in a rocking chair enjoying the outdoor fire (which was always stoked and burning). I can't say enough good things about this great find so I'll stop by saying: you will not regret going to Kessler Canyon!

Room Tip: There are no bad rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Jerry N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2012

I have been fortunate to visit a number of incredible places. If this isn’t the best, it is certainly in the top 3. It is amazing in terms of the environment, the facility, and most of all, the people.

First, if you are booking from the Marriott web site, they really don’t do it justice. Go to the Kessler Canyon website for a better explanation and pictures, but even then you won’t really get a feel for the place. Staying here isn’t like staying at a normal hotel or resort. It’s like you are staying at your good friend’s 25,000 acre, $40 million Colorado family retreat.

But before all of the accolades, I first have a couple of warnings:

First: You need to understand that this is more a bed and breakfast than a hotel or resort. There are only 15 rooms in the main house andguest house (combined). You will be eating dinner (and possibly lunch and breakfast) with others. If you don’t want to be around other people,then you need to rent the whole place out (and they will certainly accommodate youif that is your desire), or you need to go somewhere else.

Second: If you are booking with Marriott points, you need to be aware that the web site might still be screwed up. Yes, this place looks like abargain because the web site might only charge you for the room. But if you are booking with points, you need to pay for your meals on top of that (a flat rate, per person). Marriott should be more clear about that and hopefully by now they are. There are no restaurants within 45 minutes of this place, so there really are no options offsite. And given the food that Chefs Lenny and Buck conjure up, you won’t want to go anywhere else to eat. In addition, the food and the nightly entertainment from the Black Mamba are at least half of the experience.

The room was great and we slept like dead people every evening, as well as a couple of the afternoons (we have 4 kids and 3 dogs,including 2 puppies, so we needed the rest and we certainly did get it). This was the perfect place to recharge. Yes they have wi-fi (complimentary) but if you are going to do work here you might as well stay at home. Cell service is spotty, and I thought that was a good thing. Verizon works at themain entrance. AT&T doesn’t work at all.

Activities are, for the most part, limited to the outdoors.We took an ATV tour, went shooting (twice), took a fly fishing lesson, and went on a hike. We could have borrowed the mountain bikes and gone for a ride, but we ran out of time. We didn’t enjoy the spa services, but they were well reviewed by our fellow guests and the facilities certainly seemed more than adequate.

Although the setting is perfect, it is the staff that sets this place apart. They really know how to treat you well without going overboard in terms of unnecessary [--] kissing. We were only there for a long weekend, but they treated us like we were family, and by the end of our short stay we really felt like we were family.

And last, but not least, oh my heaven the food was spectacular. Every evening is a 5 course meal followed by entertainment. Every breakfast and lunch was also terrific. Buck and Lenny will make you feel right at home and are so integral to the experience that it is hard to imagine the place without them.

We can’t wait to return. I have never seen a place so highly reviewed on Trip Advisor. After visiting, I know that the rave reviews are all well deserved. This place isamazing. Go there, unless you are anintrovert or are afraid of the outdoors.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank B W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seal Beach, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2012

We booked this property and prepaid for our stay. The ranch is an amazing place. We were surprised at how far away it was from anything when we first arrived, this quickly became a plus. Chef Lenny was incredible and dinner and the entertainment were an unbelievable experience. This is a rare look into a great property with a fabulous art collection. The only problem we had took a way from the experience. Since we had prepaid for our stay we were not prepared that it was expected that we purchase the meals once we arrived. Apparently that will soon be changed on the website. I think it would serve better as an all inclusive property. As we departed we were given an additional bill for daily charges. The only explanation we received was that it helped pay for the staff. I was disappointed since this marred what had been a great time at this property.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Connie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near De Beque
21.7 mi away
Candlewood Suites Parachute
21.7 mi away
Days Inn & Suites Parachute
21.3 mi away
No photo provided
Grand Vista Hotel
#3 of 5 in Parachute
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection

Property: Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection
Address: 4410 County Road 209, De Beque, CO 81630
Location: United States > Colorado > De Beque
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in De Beque
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kessler Canyon is a Colorado resort located on the western slope of the Colorado Rocky Mountains, the hotel is just 45 minutes east of Grand Junction and two hours west of world-famous ski resorts. This Colorado resort's location provides an unparalleled outdoor sportsman's paradise with a large variety of recreational opportunities, including fishing, wing shooting, big game hunting, hiking, and shooting sports. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Kessler Canyon, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing