We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pretty good and fun spot” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dog Bar and Grill

Dog Bar and Grill
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Cuchara
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Kids, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Longmont, Colorado
Level Contributor
152 reviews
87 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
“Pretty good and fun spot”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Standard fare, burgers and salads and the like. Very casual. Lots of good people watching, seems to be a stop-off for bikers, so fun to see all the different bikes and outfits. Anyway, considering Labor Day weekend, service was pretty good. The burgers were 8 ounces, all seemed very fresh. Portabella sandwich is very good. The sides were all very good. if you are passing thru the area, it is a good place to stop. The outside patio is comfy and very casual, esp if you have little kids. Subject to the weather of course. Nearby cute mini-golf, and some neat shops.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank go_mommy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    50
    15
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Littleton, Colorado
Level Contributor
463 reviews
386 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 109 helpful votes
“Rain Makes It Happen”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

It was the 2013 Labor Day holiday. The showers hit Highway 12 Highway of Legends and everyone stopped into the Dog Bar. I mean everybody! The gravel main drag was a mess of bikes, SUVs and cars. The Dog Bar was packed tight. The wait staff was obviously caught off guard and were struggling. After a reasonably short wait, we were seated, our drinks delivered and our order taken. The menu is bar fare as expected. We had the American Burger and the Ribeye Roast Beef sandwiches. Any place that serves Alaskan Amber is alright with me! Both sandwiches were very tasty and the fries were spicy good! Would we do it again? Yep, in a heart beat....

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 1Goldwinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Llano, Texas
Level Contributor
59 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Very fun vibe, good food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

My parents have owned a house in Cuchara for 20 years and the Dog Bar has been an institution for as long as they have been there. There used to be a St Bernard dog there that the kids were very interested in but sadly, he is no longer with them. It has changed and expanded over the years (different owners now) and becomes better every year. It is a great place to hang out and drink a pitcher of beer (lots on tap, including Blue Moon, our favorite) and eat a pizza. The pizzas are very good, and they have numerous specialty ones. We like the Hooch, and our son and his girlfriend got the Lady and both were excellent. Service is friendly and casual, feel free to wear your shorts if you can stand the cool weather! There's an outside patio where you can hang out after playing mini golf (highly recommended, very nice and cute!). Our family has been going here since our children were little and we have lots of memories here. We go there more than once while we are visiting and it is very consistent. Ok for kids, not a bar like atmosphere, highly recommended.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank LlanoSher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
101 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great spot to stop for lunch while traveling the Highway of Legends”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 4, 2013

This restaurant is in Cuchara, CO, a very small town, but the perfect place to stop for lunch while driving around the Highway of Legends. Although cooler at this elevation (bring a sweater), we ate out on the patio. We ordered an American hamburger, Asian salad with chicken, and a ice cream sundae - everything tasted good. You sit on plastic chairs on the patio, but have a cloth napkin with a real spoon and fork which I prefer over plasticware. Considering it was very busy, the service was good. The restaurant and bathroom was clean. Pets are allowed outside on the patio. It is a little expensive, but I expected this. This restaurant has a webcam on their website - it was nice to visit a place I had only seen on the internet. There is a small gift shop that had interesting momentoes and clothing. I highly recommend this restaurant.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank MissHappyPatty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa
Level Contributor
68 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Everyone Eats at The Dog Bar”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 3, 2013

The Dog Bar is the gathering place in Cuchara - and surrounding areas! You can bring your dog - on a leash - to join you on the patio with your friends. Basically burger/pizza type food which is good. Hard to find anything that isn't fried, however.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank bismallw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dog Bar and Grill also viewed

Been to Dog Bar and Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing