We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“fantastic stay”
Review of Carr Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carr Manor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 20, 2013

Beautiful hotel, Superb staff. Highly recommend
parking on site. Rooms are decorated beautifully. Stayed there on business, after working all day what a place to come to, perfect.
view is fantastic. Inn keepers are sweet and welcoming

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheila D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Carr Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 267 reviews

Reviewed August 16, 2013

Carr Manor is a beautiful diamond surrounded by Cripple Creek gold. The atmosphere was quiet and relaxing; it was definitely a home away from home. We stayed in the "principal's office," a lovely suite that I would recommend to anyone. Everyone from Wini and Gary, the owners, to the grounds keeper were so hospitable. We have been to many bed and breakfast inns, but this one was the best by far!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

This charming B&B was once a high school. (built in the early 1900's) We made our mark on the blackboards that are still prevalent in the rooms and hall. Enjoy the spacious and comfortable common area with a large screen tv, cookies and drinks. We stayed in what was formerly the 'principal's office." The bed was extremely comfortable! The area is very quiet even though casinos are about two blocks away. The grounds a pretty with bronze statues (more on the inside)
Only wish our room had more electrical outlets.
We enjoyed eating at Maggie's restaurant.....wonderful ravioli and fresh veggies....very good service.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pianogardenlover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2013

I selected this place based on the reviews on TripAdvisor and it did not disappoint. Normally as we travel around on our motorcycle we find some inexpensive place for the night. I decided to upgrade to the Carr Manor and am glad we did. The building is historic and the rooms are very nicely decorated. We stayed in the Principals Office room, which was fantastic. The staff was very attentive and friendly and they had free water, pop and coffee throughout the day. Breakfast was delicious and served to us. One side note, if you get a room on the East side, don't plan on sleeping in, the sun will get you up at the crack of dawn.

Even if you don't gamble, this place is worth sneaking off to for the night.

Room Tip: during the summer, you might look at a room on the west side
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fullshock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013

If you like a great night's sleep; this is for you.
If you like an awesome breakfast (and cookies in the evening); this is for you.
If you like great accommodations and hosts; this is for you.
If you like history and Victorian charm, this is for you.
If you like lots of noise; stay away!
The manor was formerly the town's school and was built in the late 1800s. It has been completely refurbished, with nothing less than beautiful and comfortable amenities thoughout, as well as historical memorabalia and Victorian furniture. Food was fresh and homemade. Hosts were helpful and entertaining. I can't say enough great things about this manor; I've been to many places and this is really top notch. I thought it was a good price for so much charm. They can accommodate meetings and parties, too. There is a workout room and a computer (wireless internet in the rooms also).

Room Tip: All rooms were lovely; some had queen and some had king beds; there were some with kitchens and jacu...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank WAYFUN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2013

All the reviews were accurate in depicting this as a delightful B&B. The hosts were friendly & helpful, the breakfast excellent, & the facility very clean. The restoration work on this historic school has made it into a must experience when visiting Cripple Creek.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dale B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2013

My wife and I just got back from a three night stay (Sunday, Monday and Tuesday) at the Carr Manor. If you don't stay here, you are missing a real treat. First of all, the hosts, Curtis and his wife Deena, are just the best. Deena is the cook, and all of the food was just delicious. On top of that, there are cookies, coffee, and tea available at 4 PM. Curtis wanted to know if there was anything else they could do for us. The fridge is always stocked with bottled water and soft drinks. We toured the entire place and ALL the rooms look wonderful. We stayed in room 3 with a VERY comfortable queen size bed. The bathroom was a good size, and everything is spotless. Our room was very quiet. The place is like a museum with plenty of beautiful artwork. They have a big parking lot on the side of the building. Great location. Please stay here and experience something totally different.

Room Tip: The Roy and Dale Evans room looked very inviting and there was plenty of memorabelia.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BeJeTravelers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cripple Creek
0.2 mi away
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
#5 of 10 in Cripple Creek
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
0.2 mi away
Century Casino & Hotel Cripple Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Victor Hotel
The Victor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Victor
70 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
842 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,930 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr Manor

Address: 350 E. Carr Ave., PO Box 189, Cripple Creek, CO 80813
Location: United States > Colorado > Cripple Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cripple Creek
Price Range: $106 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr Manor is the perfect place for your Colorado vacation rental, romantic getaway, honeymoon, family reunion, retreat or wedding. We are located in the historic gold mining town of Cripple Creek, Colorado, surrounded by a wealth of history & activities that offer year-round fun & adventure. Since we are at 9500 feet of elevation, we do not have air conditioning. In addition, we do not have an elevator to access rooms which may be on our second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Carr Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing