We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb B&B in Cripple Creek”
Review of Carr Manor

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Carr Manor
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed July 16, 2012

This B&B is a beautifully converted old school, with around 14 rooms. The standard of decoration is wonderful, and very detailed. We stayed Thursday/Friday in June at Donkey Derby weekend. As the B&B wasn't full on the Thursday we were able to uprade for one night to the Principals Office, and back to room 2 for the Friday. If you stay here I can guarantee you won't be disappointed. Gary & Wini were excellent hosts, and gave us a guided tour of the building. Breakfast was excellent and served with the other guests, so you got time to chat. Cripple Creek is a small gambling town, but Carr Manor is located slightly off the main drag, so is very quiet, but only 2 mins walk from the main street. They really do have the original chalk boards, so you must leave a message.
We found this place on line & checked reviews on tripadvisor, I would echo the other excellent comments on this site, I would highly recommend it.

Room Tip: Pick any of them, they're all wonderful
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NashJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (267)
There are newer reviews for Carr Manor
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

160 - 166 of 267 reviews

Reviewed July 10, 2012

Delightful accomadations. Beautifully restored High School. Breakfast was delicious and the Inn Keepers helpful. charming and knowledgeable about the surrounding community. Leaving was like leaving home with ice and drinks offered along with directions to next spot. Highly reccomend for a charming stay.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Nancy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

This was our first experience in a Bed and Breakfast and I can not say enough about how much we enjoyed this trip. I found Carr Manor on line and was very impressed with what I saw, booked two nights and I have to say that it was the best decision that I have ever made. The rooms make you feel like you are at home and the decor in the Manor is so beautiful that all you want to do is photograph the walls and rooms. The welcoming feeling that we got the moment we walked through the door lasted the entire stay! We were welcomed with freshly baked cookies and fresh coffee and tea. We were given a tour of the Manor before we even reached our room and were told to enjoy the whole Manor. We stayed in room #25, it is on the end on the top floor. It is a very comfortable room, and you can't hear the neighbors at all. We had a wonderful view of the mountain side. Breakfast was wonderful on both mornings and the staff was very attentive and kind. I recommend that if you are needing to have a relaxing vacation... this is the place to be. Thank you very much.... We Will Be Back!!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andria R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2012

This bed and breakfast, located in an old schoolhouse, is absolutely delightful. Our room was sparkling clean and charming. The proprietors went out of their way to make us feel comfortable and to make our stay memorable. Our room was small, but we found plenty of places to stash our considerable luggage. High ceilings with ceiling fans kept the room comfy, even in unusually warm weather. Downtown is close - an easy hike. The delicious three-course breakfasts were outstanding. They kept us satisfied until dinner! If you are traveling to the Cripple Creek area, don't miss this place.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DeKalbDawn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The Carr Manor is a wonderful place to stay. The current innkeepers go above and beyond to welcome you and make your stay so comfortable. Lovely, clean rooms with lots of charm. I'm not an early riser, but the delicious breakfasts lured me out of bed. Just a great experience!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biggie57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Welcoming hosts. A fabulous staff. A lovely, historical inn with well-appointed rooms. Hospitality and service with heart. Fresh cookies await guests each afternoon. And breakfast has never been so good!

Room Tip: My favorite room is the Roy Rogers Suite. King bed. Tucked away in a quiet corner.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mona H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2012

After the two previous days staying in Colorado Springs just a mile or two from the Waldo Canyon fires Carr Manor was the perfect place to relax and take our minds off the tragedy we had just been in the middle of. We have stayed at B&B's for all of the twenty years we have been married and these inn keepers were above and beyond the best we had ever met. They covered all the details, showed us around and made a great breakfast to enjoy before we took off the next morning for Breckenridge. Wish we had stayed two nights!!! Do not settle for the pix that are on the website in making your decision to stay here....they do NOT do the place justice! Read all the reviews including ours and then go stay at this place....or wish you did!!!
M&M, KC, KS

Room Tip: Get a room with a King Bed...they are still an excellent value
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cripple Creek
0.2 mi away
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
#5 of 10 in Cripple Creek
57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
0.2 mi away
Century Casino & Hotel Cripple Creek
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Victor Hotel
The Victor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Victor
70 reviews
15.9 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
841 reviews
19.9 mi away
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Grand Hotel & Spa
The Mining Exchange A Wyndham Gr...
#5 of 105 in Colorado Springs
1,929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carr Manor? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carr Manor

Address: 350 E. Carr Ave., PO Box 189, Cripple Creek, CO 80813
Location: United States > Colorado > Cripple Creek
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Cripple Creek
Price Range: $106 - $371 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carr Manor is the perfect place for your Colorado vacation rental, romantic getaway, honeymoon, family reunion, retreat or wedding. We are located in the historic gold mining town of Cripple Creek, Colorado, surrounded by a wealth of history & activities that offer year-round fun & adventure. Since we are at 9500 feet of elevation, we do not have air conditioning. In addition, we do not have an elevator to access rooms which may be on our second floor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Carr Manor reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing