We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historical jail worth a visit.”

Outlaw and Lawmen Jail Museum
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Historical jail worth a visit.”
Reviewed August 17, 2013

I happened to be back in Cripple Creek on a veterans motorcycle event and visited the old jail. I was impressed and they have done a good job with the museum itself.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
6 Thank Oshea1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

109 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    66
    40
    3
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
ft. Lauderdale, FL
Level Contributor
39 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“LOCK UP STOP TO SEE”
Reviewed August 16, 2013

The museum is super nice and the owner is so very informative and friendly. Take the time to walk through and read the informational panels. The price is more than fair and well worth a stop to see it and support the museum.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank traveler7462
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisburg, Kansas
Level Contributor
49 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fun stop”
Reviewed August 4, 2013

Reportedly haunted, this was a fun stop on our list of places to visit in Cripple Creek. There is even a picture of the Ghost Adventures cast inside, from when they filmed a show here. Our boys (9, 10, & 12) had fun posing in the jail cells and in front of the mug shot area. There is a lot of interesting information about the history of the jail, and the people who had been incarcerated here, along the walls to read as you go through. The lady working here was very friendly and helpful.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank CalgirlP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
138 reviews
105 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
“Very interesting and the price is right”
Reviewed July 8, 2013

Yes, only $2 (or less if you're a veteran, a teacher, or a senior) admission for a pretty interesting old jail. There's a 2-level block of cells for men -- all in the condition when this jail was last used, as well as a separate set of cells for women and juveniles. There's also a sheriff's office. And of course, the typical gift shop. It'll only take you a half hour to examine it all, but it's very interesting and nice that it has been preserved.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank vinlyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mustang, Oklahoma
Level Contributor
90 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A must see”
Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

This museum is a must see on your visit to Cripple Creek. It was very interesting. I actually enjoyed it more than I thought I would. The staff was very friendly and informative. A lot of history is in this museum.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank S B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Outlaw and Lawmen Jail Museum also viewed

 

Been to Outlaw and Lawmen Jail Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing