We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun Experience”
Review of The Butte Theatre

The Butte Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: The Butte Opera House is an 1890's era theater refurbished for modern use. Owned and operated by the City of Cripple Creek, the Butte hosts both community and professional performing arts events throughout the year. The Butte is the proud home of The Thin Air Theatre Company, a production company that produces many genres of professional theatre, with an emphasis on Cripple Creek's beloved tradition of Classic Melodrama.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
73 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Fun Experience”
Reviewed October 27, 2013 via mobile

Cool theater with a heritage you can feel flowing from the stage. This is quickly becoming my favorite place for entertainment.

We saw The Frozen Man on a Sunday afternoon. We had seven people ages 13-48. The script would drag along if not for the fun performances of the actors. The real entertainment for me was watching the performers have fun with their characters and one another; the action of the play itself advances waaaaay too slowly, but the show was good.

The Olio was a hoot - this cast is talented! I saw some of the performers tap dance in Singing In The Rain a few months ago, and they can tear it up! They did a little tap during Putting On The Ritz, but they should've let these dancers cut it loose a little.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ray B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    12
    3
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montrose, Colorado
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“SO much fun!”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

The theater was cute, the actors were impressive and the show was great fun! Definitely worth doing while you are in Cripple Creek!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank LaurenByler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A fun engaging experience!”
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The Butte Theater is such a neat place, it not only holds interesting performances but has historical roots as well. The building is one of Cripple Creek's historical buildings and has a great feel to it, almost like you are stepping back in time as one enters. Though the theater is smaller, it is definitely captivating. If you are into theater, this is a must see!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank kbdare
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fountain, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“10 YEAR OLD DIDN'T WANT TO GO ... THEN LEFT LOVING IT!!”
Reviewed September 24, 2013

My son went to a play here kicking and screaming last Halloween. When we left he asked when we were going again. We all had a thoroughly great time!!! The Olio after the play was SO good too ... We are going again this year, and maybe even to the Christmas play. HIGHLY RECOMMENDED!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amy80817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
“Loved the theater and performance”
Reviewed September 17, 2013

I went last year to the Dracula production at the Butte Theater. I enjoyed it so much that we are returning this year for the Frozen Man production. Besides the play, the theater group put on a little variety show between acts that had us laughing and singing along with them. This is truly a hidden "gem".

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank JFox776722
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Butte Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Butte Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing