We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Stay”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Cripple Creek
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
McGills Hotel and Casino
Ranked #6 of 10 Hotels in Cripple Creek
Reviewed November 10, 2009

I was extremely surprised at the size of the room and how modern it was. The food at the hotel was very reasonable and breakfast was basically free with a coupon they gave us. Best of all is that we won in the casino. The town is very turn of the century and the day we arrived there was an antique car show. We really enjoyed our stay. You have to take the train ride if you go to Cripple Creek. I decided on this hotel after reading reviews on Trip Advisors site.

  • Stayed: September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RickWestPalmFlorida
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (76)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

66 - 72 of 76 reviews

Reviewed September 21, 2009

This was our second trip to Cripple Creek in two months. We had a king room that was very clean and nicely furnished. I could not believe how quiet the rooms are as we never heard any noise from the outside or the other rooms. Great location above the casino and friendly staff. Parking in the deck behind the casino makes for an easy walk to the room. Not sure why this hotel is not rated higher.

Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
Thank FLS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2008

The hotel was nice for the price, which was very good when we stayed. I chose this one as it has an elevator to the rooms, where a lot in Cripple Creek do not have.

We got there too early in the day, and had to wait until 4:00 pm to check in. The room was ok, just a room. A place to sleep.

We tried to eat at the little food place there in the evening, which is a big mistake. They are too short-staffed, tried to seat us over other people who had been waiting longer, almost causing one man to start a fight with us...and then they kept delaying any seating. We finally got fed up and went up to their other property, which was being remodeled, then across the street to Maggie's for a great dinner. The girl in the cafe seemed to be new, and she also seemed to overstep her boundaries at one point. Another older waitress yelled at her. Not good public relations or customer service from one who has worked in that field for years and years...as has hubby.

The free breakfast...(a $4.00 coupon) was ok...we had a difficult time getting seated again, however, and I think I will seek out another locale next time.

The hotel staff was ok, seemed a bit harried, and after waiting all day to check in, we had another long wait once we located the hotel.

But it DID have an elevator, something I definetly need.

  • Stayed: May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Mary S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2007

The rooms at this casino/hotel are very nice and clean.
My parents stay here all the time.

If you have a players card, they give you $4 off breakfast. Basically is a free breakfast if you order the eggs, meat, hashrowns and it is a good breakfast and it is good.

However, after we checked in, around 6:00pm on a Wednesday, we headed down to their little grill for dinner. This area needs to be really cleaned up, it is bad, dirty. We had to wait about 15 minutes to be seated. They gave us water but we never heard from a waiter. Finally my mom stopped a waitress and asked if she could take our order since we had been waiting so long, about 30 minutes. The waitress told us no she had 5 other tables ahead of us. We left and went across the street to a nicer place to eat.

  • Stayed: July 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank CNW901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2006

My wife and I spent another two very exciting days and nights with the very fine people of J.P. McGills over Labor Day. As always the room accommodations were excelent in every way. All the staff working in their respective areas are of the finest quility and go the one extra step to make sure your time spent at J.P.'s is one to remember. Thank you J.P. McGills and you will be seeing us again soon.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank Grainman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Childress, Texas
13
Reviewed August 23, 2005

We have been to Cripple Creek many times before, but have never stayed at J P McGills until now. We had a great time. Everyone that worked there was very nice. We will go back and Stay there again.

  • Stayed: July 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Pampa, Texas
18
Reviewed April 16, 2005

I stayed here for my birthday and had a blast! The people are great. The slots are fun and the food is great!

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Cripple Creek
0 mi away
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
Midnight Rose Hotel and Casino
#5 of 10 in Cripple Creek
60 reviews
0 mi away
Century Casino & Hotel Cripple Creek
0.6 mi away
Cripple Creek Hospitality House & Travel Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
The Victor Hotel
The Victor Hotel
#1 of 1 in Victor
71 reviews
16.1 mi away
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
The Cliff House at Pikes Peak
#1 of 10 in Manitou Springs
869 reviews
0.6 mi away
Gold King Mountain Inn
Gold King Mountain Inn
#9 of 9 in Cripple Creek
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to McGills Hotel and Casino? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about McGills Hotel and Casino

Address: 232 East Bennett Ave., P. O. Box 976, Cripple Creek, CO 80813
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Cripple Creek
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Casino Hotel in Cripple Creek
Price Range: $83 - $100 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — McGills Hotel and Casino 2.5*
Number of rooms: 59
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
One of the most spacious casinos in historic Cripple Creek, McGills Hotel and Casino boasts unmatched variety and excitement, with a variety of video poker, slot and progressive machines to choose from. Designed for comfort, convenience and excitement, the mezzanine in McGills Hotel and Casino overlooks the main level of the casino and has the hottest coin games in town. When you're ready to call it a night, McGills Hotel and Casino has a wide selection of affordable hotel rooms, located just upstairs from the casino. Our deluxe standard rooms, feature plasma TVs, FREE wireless Internet and a two meal vouchers per room/per day. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
j.p. Mcgills Hotel Cripple Creek

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing