We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Unexpected Professionalism

We went with friends to see PIPPIN and were pleasantly shocked at the professionalism of the... read more

Reviewed July 22, 2016
Gary H
Hidden Gem In Cripple Creek

My husband and I recently saw the show Into the Woods and were blown away by the excellent quality... read more

Reviewed August 15, 2015
globegurl
,
Colorado
Read all 19 reviews
  
Reviews (19)
Filter reviews
18 results
Traveler rating
18
0
0
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
0
0
0
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 18 reviews
Reviewed June 26, 2017

We have been going to the Thin Air Theater for years and have never been disappointed. Every time we take a new visitor, they are impressed and want to be included in the next visit. The performances are always excellent.

Thank cgrob416
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 22, 2016

We went with friends to see PIPPIN and were pleasantly shocked at the professionalism of the performance, cast and crew with a good ticket price. The matinee production was entertaining, the cast was excellent, and costumes, direction, choreography were outstanding. This is not an "amateur theater production"! Thank you for a wonderful afternoon. Don't miss any production they present!

1  Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2015

My husband and I recently saw the show Into the Woods and were blown away by the excellent quality. The performers are not locals; they are professionals that come from all over the country and bring with them a variety of experience. The quality of acting, singing, production, etc. was very high and made for an extremely entertaining and professional show. The value is amazing, you will pay double/triple the price for a similar show in Colorado Springs or Denver. It appears these actors do several shows a day, several days a week- it is amazing they are able to consistently present high energy, professional performances! I'm sure this hidden gem does not get the appreciation it deserves.

1  Thank globegurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2014

We do our best to see every production. The only thing that can hold us back is the weather, primarily during the Christmas show.

Mel runs a phenomenal theater. As long as Mel is there, you can be certain that the entertainment will be best in class. The gleam in his Mel's eyes tells you just how much pride he has in the performances staged at the Butte Theater. Mel in his own right is an excellent actor, by the way.

The productions have become much more elaborate over the years. The backdrops have become a quality much greater than what you would expect from a local theater company. These guys truly could tour nationally if they chose. They are that good!

Go to just one show and you will be hooked, just like we are. See you at the show!!!

3  Thank Ultimatetravelking
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2014

Thin air theater is a awesome group help local school with drama program! Micky, Mel and Rebecca ar ethe heart and soul of this place and add a touch of class to Cripple Creek!

Thank CryptoTracker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2014

Wonderful small venue for live Theater productions..at a very small price.........you will love it!!

Thank Nancy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2013

I heard about the Christmas Blaze, an original play by Chris Sorensen, on Colorado Public Radio. My husband and I have a cabin near Cripple Creek and decided to attend a Christmas 2013 performance. It was delightful, original, funny, sweet and completely worth the drive home in a snowstorm! They really do put their hearts into the production. But it's not just heart...it's quality local theater. Good work! And the Butte Opera House is a historic and architectural treasure.

1  Thank janajane14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2013

These guys put their heart and soul into everything they do. We have been to numerous shows and they never disappoint. It's really fun and totally worth the price. We take out of town visitors and they love it. They are also really cool about kids coming.

Thank COtoAK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

Cripple Creek is an historic and very scenic Colorado mountain town and the site of a major gold rush in the 1890s. Today, there is gold of a different sort to be found in the wonderful stage productions of the Thin Air Theatre Company (TATC), which performs at the beautifully restored Butte Opera House. TATC is the most worthy successor to the Imperial Players, presenters of authentic Victorian melodramas in Cripple Cripple starting in 1946. All the performance that we've attended over the years have been first rate.
Last week we saw this year's melodrama "Girl of the Golden West," an adaptation of a play written in 1905. The cast, made up primarily of Fine Arts graduates from around the country, did a stellar job of whisking the audience back in time to the rough and tumble old west. The play is followed by an Olio (an old fashion cabaret of song and dance) that brings a tap to your toes and a smile to your face.
In the summer, the traditional melodrama alternates with a musical. The year TATC is presenting "Singin' in the Rain." In the fall, there is a spooky Halloween show and later a Christmas themed production.
The cost for this top notch entertainment is a ridiculously reasonable $16.25 per adult ($14.25 for seniors and $10.25 for children).
If you're anywhere in the Pikes Peak area, take the short scenic drive to Cripple Creek and catch a performance of this marvelous company.

1  Thank Tom N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I teach theatre and have seen many, many local shows over the years and can honestly tell you the shows put on by the Thin Air Theatre Company are the best. I live in Cripple Creek so I have the opportunity to see all of their productions. They are always entertaining and the actors are take things very serious. If you are visiting Cripple Creek make sure you include one of their shows on your plans.

1  Thank MountainLarry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews