We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury in Crested Butte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My wife and I only planned on staying in CB for 2 days but extended our trip for the full week due to how much we enjoyed the Lodge at Mountaineer Square. We typically stay in town but we found it really nice to be located at the base of the mountain. The rooms will not disappoint - very well decorated, high end features, clean and plenty of space. I have lived in Denver for 7 years and I will say that Crested Butte provides some of the best (if not the best) skiing, camping, biking, 4-wheeling and hiking in the state. Very diverse/cool offering of restaurants in town.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (272)
There are newer reviews for Lodge at Mountaineer Square
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

126 - 132 of 272 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Best hotel at Crested Butte, period!! We have stayed in the Lodge At Mountaineer Square several years in a row and we once again echo all of our comments from the previous visits! This slope side hotel is great. The suites are beautiful; the views of Crested Butte are awesome; walking out your door almost on top of the ski lifts is convenient; and the service ethic is just fantastic. Everyone was helpful, pleasant and appeared honestly interested in making sure we were happy. Our three bedroom suite must have had 31 places to sit, 4 large flat screen TVs, blue ray players in every room, 4 phones, the most comfortable beds/linens, etc. So, when we weren't skiing or shopping we felt surrounded by luxury. Chuck Donnelly is a great General Manager and pays constant attention to his guests needs. The house keepers are polite, efficient, thorough. I haven't even mentioned the great mountain and quaint town. Crested Butte has some of the best back country advanced skiing around, but not at the expense of blue and green trails. My wife is a beginner and she had plenty to ski. I am comfortable with single black diamonds and also skiied all week without getting bored. My daughter was searching for cliffs and woods and never ran out of terrain. And lift lines? Forget it, there are none. In addition, the town of Crested Butte is fun and has a surprising number of great restaurants. We really liked Soupcon, Marchitelli's Noodles, Ryce Asian Bistro, and Wooden Nickel. Uley's Cabin (the ice bar) is another great dinner spot half way up the mountain). Crested Butte might be a little harder to reach then Park City or Vail but it's a great resort and Lodge at Mountaineer Square is the best hotel at the resort!

Room Tip: Don't forget to wander down to the lobby mid afternoon for fresh baked warm cookies. Ask to f...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank larryAnnapolis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 19, 2013

Greeted nicely. One must pay an extra $20 a day to park in the underground garage which is ridiculous. You can park free on the dirt lot which is a block away. Careful of walking into the wrong hotel coming back for the first time. The Lodge was not occupied very much. In fact we never saw another guest in the hallway or elevator but yet they assigned us a room on the 2nd floor facing an interior courtyard! I called the front desk and within 15 minutes they moved us to the 4th floor facing the mountain which was very nice. Room is nicely decorated though a bit small. They need bigger pillows for bedding but the linens were top rate. The bathroom is poorly designed and lighting is very poor. The lights above the sink were set too low. It is actually dark in the shower. The shower had no holders for soap and shampoo. There was very limited counter space and only one sink thus on,y one person could use the bathroom at a time. They place a ceramic Kleenex holder on top of the toilet and of course I knocked it down and it broke into pieces. I told the front desk about it and they did not charge me. The TV had unusually poor picture quality 90% of the time. HD came in and out and mostly out. The picture was dark and faded. I called the front desk which they were to contact the engineer but they never got back to us. The one gratis lift ticket was nice but the extra resort fee during summer usage was not. The location was great.

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
3  Thank LEXUSGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 12, 2013

LMS does so many things well...good units, great staff, big variety of activities. It was our fourth year to stay and we'll be back. Rare to find this level of staff in a mountain town at this value. Great place for families.

Room Tip: Courtyard or mountain views are good but you don't want to face Gothic Road.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeffgrahamdallas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Stayed here for 2 nights as a family with our 14 and 10 year old. We stayed in a 2 BR condo. The rooms were beautiful. Tons of living space in the family room.

The location was great right on the mountain. Everything was super clean too.

Our view was fine - we were on the 2nd floor and though we faced the mountain, we really looked at the Avalanche Restaurant.

Our kids loved the indoor/outdoor pool and the hot tub - though they wished the pool was a bit larger.

I used the fitness center 2 days of my trip and the machines were all great quality.

The staff is very polite and kind.

The only thing I would wish for is a better option for families on sleeping. There is not an option for twin beds or bunks - just sleeping on the couch - which seems defeat the purpose of having a second bedroom.

Overall, we really enjoyed this property and would return.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
Thank MNBauer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Four couples stayed in the 4 bedroom Penthouse at The Lodge at Mountaineer Square this past weekend and it was nothing short of awesome! Michele Schmidt of Summit Travel was a dream to work with and also helped some of our other friends find places to stay. Our only regret is that we only stayed one night as we hiked to Aspen the next day. Our room in Aspen cost much more and was the pits! We all want to head back next summer and stay longer in Crested Butte where the wildflowers are beyond incredible!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rkjkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I was in Crested Butte for business. This was my first visit to the area but plan to return soon for a vacation. The value was incredible! I had a 5 star experience at a economy price. It was obvious that the staff enjoyed their job and had a vested interest in me enjoying my stay. The room was very clean, fully equipped and each day, I found the staff giving that extra something to enhance the stay.

Room Tip: The staff is wonderful and they will assist you in finding the best room. Let them know what you ne...
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nicole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
798 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Paradise Crested Butte Condos
#6 of 7 in Crested Butte
5 reviews
24.9 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
646 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
373 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range: $163 - $415 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing