We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An absolute Winner!!!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Naperville, Illinois
Level Contributor
32 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“An absolute Winner!!!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

We just came in yesterday for a week. We requested the 5th floor but there was a wedding party in for the weekend so the front desk upgraded us to a three bedroom condo on the third floor with an absolutley great view. The condo was exceptional! The staff also called about half an hour after we checked in to make sure we were happy... Where do you get service or concern like that?..the front desk gave us recommendations for dinner and activities that was very helpful. What I really like the most the lodge was a hit with the wife and two adult sons. They love the pool..hot tub..workout Romans much more!,, we are coming back next year and the lodge will be home base!!!!

Stayed June 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    209
    27
    12
    4
    1
See reviews for
86
106
7
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (59)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Gaborone, Botswana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

My wife and I are senior skiers who go on a ski-safari every year, either in America or Europe. Our holiday typically lasts about 4 weeks and combines a little shopping and sight-seeing with visits to up to 3 ski areas.
We tried Crested Butte for the first time in March this year (2013) and were delighted to find that it ticked all of the boxes for us.. in such a wonderfully unpretentious and friendly manner.

We stayed at the Lodge on Mountaineer's Square which is literally a few steps from everything important to a skier. The lift-pass sales office, the overnight ski-check (included in our hotel rate), the ski-slopes themselves and the main access lifts, the best dining and apre-ski venues were all unbelievably close to our door; as were all of the facilities located at the base station. And no long stomping walks in our ski boots down endless corridors in the lodge either. The elevators at the Lodge at Mountaineer's Square deposit hotel guests right at one of the doors leading on to the square.

The service standards set by the hotel management and staff were equally impressive. This was evident from the genuinely warm and friendly welcome that greeted us and that remained with us throughout our stay. All of the staff were always smiling, always interested and always ready to help. Our room was presented in an immaculately clean and functional condition and was kept like that until we left. So too were the public areas of the Lodge. This made it very easy to overlook the fact that the carpets, in the corridors mainly, were showing signs of some wear. The only reason that we noticed the condition of the carpets at all was because staff told us that they were all about to be replaced.... The carpets that is!
Although some of the housekeeping staff were obviously foreign contract workers, they were equally pleasant and brought to their jobs the same service ethic as the permanent staff members.

Our suite was very well equipped with a superior standard of furniture, softs and amenities. We were provided with as much good quality coffee, etc as we required and complimentary bottled water, which was a first for us in the mountains.

On the whole, the ski slopes ranged from very good to excellent with a slight drawback being that a lot of the more difficult slopes are accessed by drag lifts only. Slope-side facilities were well priced and conveniently located, and complemented by lots of powder and sunshine during our visit.
Best of all were the uncrowded slopes, lift-lines and facilities which ensured totally stress-free skiing.

It snowed a few times during our visit which necessitated some early morning clearing of public walkways by the mountain company. But we hardly heard them at all despite the fact that our condo overlooked the main lifts and their access path. Nor, for that matter, did we hear much of the other nuisance sounds that seem to be common to all ski resorts ... the pre-dawn snow ploughs, garbage removal and service trucks all seemed to be operated under a customer friendly culture. We had the impression that the operators were actually trying not to rev their engines or make any other unnecessarily loud sounds.
.
All of the restaurants and bars that we tried gave us good meals, good value and good service. None were totally outstanding, but all were entirely pleasant in terms of quality, service, variety and ambience. Our favorite was the Avalanche which is just across the street from the Lodge.

Everybody that we spoke to during our visit, whether in the base station or the village below, whether on the chairlift or behind a counter, whether a local or migrant worker or even a guest, was exceptionally friendly, had the time to answer our questions, give us some advice or merely have a conversation as the case may be. And this was one the most endearing aspects of Crested Butte and is in itself a good reason for us to go back.

CB village, a few miles lower than the base itself, is a similarly friendly little community with many restaurants and craft shops. And, further afield, we found the ranching town of Gunnison and the regional city of Montrose in the course of a relatively short and scenic drive. We were very pleasantly surprised at the amount of shopping in Montrose which was a bonus to us foreigners.

Will we be back? Without a doubt! And we will stay at the Lodge at Mountaineer's Square.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jannie512
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We were here the week before Memorial Day and it was still off-season. So, none of the restaurants on the mountain were open and the hotel was minimally staffed. As a result, there was no one to assist with luggage, the pool needed vacuuming, the coke machine on our floor was out of order and so on.

One of our rooms was unmade on arrival but the front desk apologized profusely and offered a free upgrade to a suite. So, good recovery there.

If you're planning to visit during the winter or summer seasons, you might want to look at the reviews of others who have visited during those times.

But, the rooms great. Very comfortable. The pool/gym area was also nice with an exercise room, sauna, indoor/outdoor pool and hot tub.

When we checked in, we got some rather confusing instructions about the gold elevators vs. the silver elevators but, in the end, we could get to and from our rooms either way.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AustinTexasTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

We stayed for a week in a one bedroom condo at the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in the summer of 2012 and loved it. Our balcony had views of the ski mountain and overlooked the mountain village square. The condo was luxurious, modern and well equipped. The kitchen was very nice with all the conveniences needed. Having two bathrooms was a plus. The master bath had both a tub and shower and was quite large. Although there were only two of us, we could have easily accommodated one or two other guests with the fold out couch and extra full bath. We loved the location and the covered garage parking. The staff was professional, friendly and most helpful. This property is new, well maintained, secure and beautiful. The large conference center is steps away and most convenient. If you want a condo on the mountain, this is the best place and I would happily return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Houston2007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montrose, Colorado
Level Contributor
90 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I love staying at the Lodge at Mountaineer Square- it's by far my favorite property in the area. The pool is a great spot to relax at the end of a long work day or after skiing and the rooms have everything you would possiblly need- great coffee, fabric softner for laundry, great bath products. The sauna and gym are convenient to the elevator and pool area.The attention to detail makes the property a stand out. The staff is courteous and professional and there is always ample parking in the garage. The proximety to dining and to the mountain and shuttle into town makes the location perfect.

Room Tip: I love the 5th floor because of the view of the square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SouthernBelle69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC
Level Contributor
77 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

We had another great stay at the Lodge. The staff is very friendly and eager to help you in any way. They had great restaurant recommendations as well. We were there a few years ago when it was brand new, but everything was still up to date and clean. We had a studio deluxe room which was more of a one bedroom as it had a separate bedroom from the living/dining/kitchen area. The movies were a little pricey, but easily fixed if you bring your own iphone/ipad, adapter, and HDMI cable to hook into the TV. There are lots of new places on the mountain for breakfast/lunch/dinner so be sure to check out my other reviews. My only suggestion for the Lodge is to offer whipped cream for the hot chocolate in the room :)

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fairhope, Alabama
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

We always have a great time in Crested Butte - We love the wide runs on the slopes and all the many choices for each ski level. It is a ski town paradise. Even though sometimes it can be hard to get to, it is always worth it!!!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 727 reviews
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Paradise Crested Butte Condos
#6 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 610 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 334 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 244 reviews
2.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 137 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lodge at Mountaineer Square? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lodge at Mountaineer Square

Property: Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Address: 620 Gothic Road, P.O. Box 5700, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Lodge at Mountaineer Square 3.5*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just steps from the ski lifts, the Lodge at Mountaineer Square in Crested Butte, Colorado features premier studio, one, two, three, and four-bedroom suites with deluxe amenities, including indoor/outdoor heated swimming pool, outdoor hot tub, sauna and fitness room, bell, valet, concierge services and a full-service front desk. Relax in front of the fireplace and enjoy a drink with friends or associates at the on-site Trackers Bar & Lounge. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Jetsetter so you can book your Lodge at Mountaineer Square reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lodge At Mountaineer Square Hotel Crested Butte
Hotel At Mountaineer Square
At Mountaineer Square Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing