We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly, clean, yummy cookies... great place to stay.”
Review of Old Town Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Old Town Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 18, 2011

I have stayed here a few times. I love the staff, friendly atmosphere, quaintness, dog friendly rooms and location.
Not to mention the variety of breakfast items in the morning and the fresh baked cookies in the evening. Great basecamp for hiking and biking!!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank creeklaying
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (126)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

107 - 113 of 126 reviews

Reviewed August 24, 2011

We chose the Old Town because it was one of the cheapest motel options for Crested Butte. It is your basic older motel with dark rooms. But our room was plenty large for our needs – and clean. The front desk staff were very friendly and helpful and they have fresh baked cookies each afternoon - yummy. The hot tub was OK but in a rather non-private area - and smelled of chlorine.

But the reason I recommend this place is its location. For one, it is across the street from the town park where a concert was held the night we were in town. Crested Butte is small and that evening with everyone scattered on the Green with blankets, chairs and food was delightful. Later, we wanted to save money so went to the grocery store immediately behind the motel for some sandwich stuff and then to a movie in the theatre next door. (All very small town touristy cute. We loved Crested Butte.) We earlier walked to both a lovely hiking trail and to the main street with all the restaurants. Neither was real close to the motel but we came to CO to hike, so we did a lot of walking. So - if you want to save money by staying less expensively, I recommend Old Town. Just don't expect an "Inn atmosphere." It is basic.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NCTravelingGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

The Old Town Inn is located next to the Welcome to Crested Butte town sign. If you stay up at one of the ski resort places on the mountain - your paying 100.00 more for nothing. Since all the action is in town anyway - this is where I have enjoyed staying with every return trip.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Scarbourghdowns
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2011

We stayed here the second week of January and thought it was perfect. It's a quaint little place, right there as you drive into town. The free bus that heads to the ski resort picks up right outside, and the inn is just a few blocks from the town's main street, Elk Ave.
The service was awesome — really friendly and helpful. The rooms are simple, clean and comfortable.
For the price, you can't do much better than this in any ski town.
Will definitely stay here again the next time we're in Crested Butte.

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laureninvail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 24, 2011

The Old Town Inn could be just another generic hotel when you look at the rooms (which are clean and fine). But it's all of the little things that make this a great, comfortable place to stay. From the chocolate chip cookies at the front desk when you check in, to the pleasant and friendly staff, to the substantial continental breakfast, everything makes you feel at home. We've stayed here twice in the last year and both experiences were great. The continental breakfast has been expanded to include hard boiled eggs and mini-quiches since the comments were written about no proteins for breakfast. I'm already looking forward to our next stay!

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GwenG28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2010

When we arrived without reservations in Crested Butte, the first place we landed was the welcome center. After looking at a newer place with a higher rate per night, we spoted two Townie bicycles at the front door of The Old Town Inn. Since this Inn is at the edge of town, we thought they might allow us to use the bikes to ride down main street. We were greeted by friendly, Michael Garren, at the front desk. He immediately made us feel welcome. The rate was super reasonable. This made me a bit suspicious, so I asked to see the room. With the exception of a hike up the stairway and a pretty dark hallway, the room was spacious, very clean, and the beds were comfortable. Michael allowed us to take the bikes to town and gave us several recomendations for lunch. By the way, he was right, all of the restaurants are really great. Try Lil's for sushi.

The Inn provides a delicious continental breakfast each morning. It's a bit more than a normal continental, with sliced peaches, quiche and hard boiled eggs. I would recommend that the breakfast be kept out until 10:30. There are also cookies in the late afternoon. Nice touch! The location can't be beat. There is a supermarket within walking distance and we actually walked to town for dinner.

We think Michael and Sandy are doing a great job. We will be back!!

PS: Our IPAD worked perfectly in the room (wireless).

  • Stayed: June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 1, 2010

My husband was coming to CB on business so I tagged along. I searched and searched for reasonably priced lodging and couldn't believe that the hotels were so expensive at the very end of the season (literally the last week). I was shocked to find the Old Town Inn had such reasonable rates but wasn't expecting much. We booked one of the two king rooms, but upon reading that they were pet friendly decided to move to one of their two pet-friendly rooms. I was very hesitant, thinking that the designated pet-friendly rooms would be run down and dirty. Boy was I wrong!
We arrived to the most cheerful innkeeper (Marilynn) who was as sweet as could be. The aroma of fresh baked cookies filled the lobby. We went down to our room and were super surprised at how nice it was. Turns out the only difference with the pet-friendly rooms are that they are located closest to the doors, which was very helpful while walking our dog. There was no evidence that there were ever other animals there; the room was very clean and odor-free. The bathroom was spotless and all of the furniture was in great shape. We paid $10 extra each day to have the dog there which was still cheaper than any other place in the county. The breakfasts each day were great, the staff was terrific (offering ski advice in the lobby if needed), and the rooms were comfortable and clean. You also can't beat the location... 2 blocks from Elk Street where all the restaurants and shops are, and 3 miles from the ski area. We were right in front of the movie theater and saw a great movie our last night in town. All in all this was a terrific stay!

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mrs_Latham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
2.4 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
807 reviews
2.5 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
22.7 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
649 reviews
0.3 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
126 reviews
0.1 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Town Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Town Inn

Address: 708 6th St, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: $111 - $145 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Old Town Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 33
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If the mountains are whispering your name, give us a call. The Old Town Inn makes a great home base for your Crested Butte adventures, wild or civilized. The inn offers all the amenities of a traditional hotel, but feels more like a bed-and-breakfast or European inn, where guests are welcomed like family. Here you can launch your day’s adventure with a hearty Continental breakfast and end it with home-made cookies and treats and a luxuriant soak in our outdoor hot tub. Though we offer one of the best lodging values in Crested Butte, we take excellent care of our guests. Our 33 rooms are spacious and spotless, most with two queen-sized beds (or ask about our king rooms or suite if you prefer). Rooms feature cable television with HBO, phones with voice mail messaging, wireless Internet access and daily housekeeping service. We also provide guest laundry facilities and fax service. We are located at the entrance to Crested Butte, right next to the Town Park, Center for the Arts, movie theater, grocery store and restaurants. We’re just a short walk from historic downtown’s shops and eateries and from cross-country skiing, hiking and biking trails. Just a few steps away, you can catch the free shuttle bus to the ski area. We’d love to be a part of your next mountain getaway. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Groupon, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Agoda, Cheap Tickets and Hotwire so you can book your Old Town Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Town Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing