We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously understaffed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Reviewed January 5, 2014

Perfect location and very friendly staff. Proper management seriously lacking though. Restaurant staff inexperienced and way too few. Room-cleaning late in the afternoon at best and some days not at all. Room generally dirty. Getting 2 towels for 4 persons every day. Parking significantly understaffed and chaotic. Although more difficult to address, doors "slam" and one can hear everyone passing by outside with the consequence that people coming home late wake you up as do families with children early in the morning.
Management can make this a truly great place with some additional investment in staff/facilities and focus on what really matters.

Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
3  Thank PSK157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elevation M, Manager at The Elevation Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear that you did not have a positive experience. It is disconcerting to hear that your stay was anything less than perfect. We hope you will give us another try in the future.
~Elevation Hotel and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (820)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

572 - 578 of 820 reviews

Reviewed January 3, 2014

Stayed here for a quick ski trip. The hotel is right at the base of the slopes, just a few steps from the main lifts. The ski valet made everything so convenient and easy. We were worried, knowing this was one of the busiest times of the year for the hotel (the week between Christmas and New Years) , but the service was amazing. Everyone we met was friendly and willing to help. The hot tubs were amazing after a long day of skiing. I would definitely stay here again. Very comfortable, very clean, very nice.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Hotel has a great location, easy to access slopes. We booked one room; a week before arrival received a call it was no longer available. We were switched to another room without the view. That was fine, the room was still plenty spacious and comfortable. The valet stand had the best service of the hotel, Rodrigo in particular. He helped us from the time we checked in, getting our huge pile of skis to the ski valet, tracking down a missing cell phone for us, etc. Ski valet was great too. All of the staff was very friendly, but clearly overwhelmed. The rollaway bed requested had been given away to someone the day before, so we got that a day late. Our room was not cleaned at all in the 4 nights there. I think it would be a good place to stay if not at capacity.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sonia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elevation M, Manager at The Elevation Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We apologize for the resort not meeting your expectations. We hope you will give us another try the next time your travels bring you to Mt. Crested Butte.
~Elevation Hotel and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

I must admit, as a person that does not complain and very well versed in travel... this is the absolute worst experience. From no houskeeping for since Sunday and here it is Wednesday to slamming doors, people hanging out in hallways all night, people fighting, no food, unexpected cancellation of plans, filth everywhere.... the list goes on.. stay away as this is the absolute worst hotel experience ever....

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank chrisnrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elevation M, Manager at The Elevation Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your detailed review. As you can imagine, this is not our typical standard of service. It is our goal to always exceed our guests’ expectations but we clearly failed with your stay. Thank you very much for your feedback letting us know where we fell short of your expectations and I hope to see you back again very soon.
~Elevation Hotel and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013

We were here at perhaps the hotel's busiest time of the year.. between Christmas & New Years'. They were beyond busy.. and yet the service was superb. Saw another review remark about JASON at the valet stand -- please consider promoting him to hotel manager. The guy's got a future. Eager to please, never met a problem he couldn't fix and just plain pleasant! Loved the rooms, can't beat ski-in/ski out, wine/cider reception from 5 to six.. and THEY ALLOW DOGS! Will say housekeeping was woefully understaffed, the only disappointment. We'll be back.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank VenteLatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2013 via mobile

We have being staying at the Elevation since 6 years ago and for first time looked miscarried. Tobacco shop looked empty...
Our room was not cleaned before 5 pm!!! When it was cleaned...
Front desk staff nice but unable to solve our requests...
I found facilities a kind of smelly all over the place...
Very dissapointing place this season

Stayed: December 2013
3  Thank GeorgyV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elevation M, Manager at The Elevation Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 20, 2014

Thank you for your feedback concerning your experience at our hotel, Elevation Hotel and Spa. I am sorry to learn that your time with us was anything less than perfect. We hope you will consider staying with us again.
~Elevation Hotel and Spa Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 30, 2013

No review of the Elevation Hotel & Spa can begin without mentioning Jason, who met us at the door. He parked our car, loaded more bags than Imelda Marcos traveled with, helped set up our in room ski rental, and just ooozed charm the entire time.

I must have tipped too much, because the next night when I called for our car, he had it at the back door before we could get there ourselves.

The hotel was packed, someone told me that all but three rooms were taken. Still the desk clerk got our rooms sorted quickly, the staff had hot cookies out for the kids, and there were even dog treats at the front desk for our dog!

The ski valet service is really cool, just steps away from the slopes.

But my favorite part of our stay was the hot tub. I am tired of hotel hot tubs where some attorney has told them not to let the temperature go above luke warm. Not the case here. I crawled out of the hot tub red as a lobster, and as relaxed as I could be.

The only negative was that we tried to order room service after the kitchen closed. Even then, the restaurant manager came by our room to apologize, really!? It was typical of the entire hotel staff. Here they were working around the clock, and it was never too much trouble to ask if there was anything more that they could do.

We'll be back.

Room Tip: We had a suite with a kitchenette. I did not realize that there would also be a stove and oven, or...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LeRoyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
274 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Plaza Condominiums
The Plaza Condominiums
#4 of 7 in Crested Butte
36 reviews
22 mi away
The Inn at Aspen
The Inn at Aspen
#12 of 35 in Aspen
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
The Westin Snowmass Resort
The Westin Snowmass Resort
#6 of 13 in Snowmass Village
857 reviews
21.5 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
21.7 mi away
Hotel Aspen
Hotel Aspen
#10 of 35 in Aspen
522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elevation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Address: 500 Gothic Road, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range: $164 - $368 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elevation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elevation Hotel & Spa is the only full-service ski-in / ski-out hotel at Crested Butte Mountain Resort. The completely renovated property features 262 rooms and spacious suites. Enjoy first-class amenities and services, including swimming pool, hot tub, wireless internet, Spa treatments, Fitness Center, bell and concierge services. The on-site 9380 Prime Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Elevation Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate slopeside luxury and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your The Elevation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elevation Hotel And Spa
The Elevation Hotel Crested Butte
Elevation Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing