We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tremendous Experience at the Elevation!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Colorado
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Tremendous Experience at the Elevation!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

We just visited the Elevation Spa with friends during the off season and it was a tremendous experience. I cannot say enough wonderful things about it from beginning to end. Upon arrival after being on the motorcycle for 6 hours the valet staff was wonderful. They walked us over to a specific motorcycle parking area in the underground garage, which couldn't be more perfect. Our bikes were protected from the rain and very safe right next to the entrance of the hotel. Check in was smooth and friendly. The entire staff at the front desk were smiling and wanted nothing more than to offer any assistance possible. The rooms are absolutely beautiful!! We didn't really have a mountain view as our room choice suggested, but it was magnificent. The layout is nice, there are real wine glasses, a wine opener, a full size coffee pot and real silver ware. The full size sink and very nice refrigerator were nice as well. After relaxing a bit and taking a shower we headed to the wine reception was low key, comfortable and an added touch. After the reception we went to dinner at 9380 and had a terrific waitress and great food. Okay my husband didn't like his food, but the rest of us were very happy with our choice. Overall I don't know how this hotel is during busy season, but I couldn't be happier with my experience in August. I recommend you allow time to walk through the little town and there are shuttles from the hotel. I will definately go back again.

Room Tip: I recommend the apex king room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grizzly9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

738 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    349
    204
    88
    45
    52
See reviews for
246
298
19
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (223)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Elevations is a very nice hotel with excellent rates in the Summer, we got a buy two get three nights deal. Our room was a King bed with a pull out sofa bed which was great for two friends traveling together. There is a nice spacious area with a coffee table and chairs to sit at and the kitchenette is awesome with fridge, microwave, dishes and sink. We had a small deck overlooking the mountainside which was beautiful. There is no AC at this Hotel which you don't really need even in the Summer as it cools down at night. The hotel gave us a box fan as it was a little stuffy in the evenings.

There is a workout room and hot tub/swimming pool, the hot tub had broken jets but they are installing some new outdoor ones for this Winter. Wine reception is nice and live music outside every Wed night.

The hotel charges a $12/day 'resort' fee and $15/night for parking whether you valet or not. There is a free public lot less than half a block away during Summer which the hotel did not tell us about when we asked.

Room Tip: Slope side is a little noisy..
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grotegutj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 23, 2013

we just got back and 2 nights seemed alike a week.of fun and relaxing it is off season and it was like we were the only ones there Everybody was very friendly from the arrival to leaving. exterior looked great. pet friendly even though we didn't have one . wine reception was just a bonus we ate at 9380 rest and all the food we had and the service couldn't have been bettter we got a great deal on travelzoo spur of the moment type thing. room faced the mt and lifts. great hike all downhill. highly recommend if you live in co. 5 hr drive from Denver.

Room Tip: we had room 445. excellent room
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nmkaps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
1,150 reviews
132 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 709 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Upon check in, we'd just missed the complimentary wine reception, which is held 6-7 p.m. daily in the hotel lobby. We'd also just missed live music at the band stand, a stone's throw from the lobby, which is a Wednesday evening event during summertime in Mount Crested Butte Village.

Sarah, the front desk clerk was incredibly helpful. After assigning us a room, she spent at least ten minutes answering all our questions about the hotel's amenities and what to do in Crested Butte. Elevation's on site restaurant, 9380 Feet, serves food till nine. The restaurant has excellent outdoor deck seating with fabulous views of the mountain and a fire pit for chilly evenings.

The hotel lobby has doors exiting directly into the very quaint Mount Crested Butte ski village. Even during off season, three or four restaurants in the village serve food day and night, and quite a few of the tourist shops are open, as is a convenience mart.

We reserved a king suite and were fortunate enough to get a 3rd floor suite with a fantastic view of the mountain. The suite has a kitchenette with refridge, microwave, toaster, coffee maker, and includes cutlery, dishes, and dish soap. Bottled water is provided, as is hot cocoa mix and a variety of teas. We had to import Half & Half from the lobby coffee service though because we won't use fake creamer.

My favorite amenity was the humidifier. In staying at hundreds of hotels worldwide, I've never been furnished one anywhere else. We made use of it almost immediately because, coming from a normal 80% humidity, we were parched inside and out in the arid Colorado mountains. It makes an amazing air quality difference having the humidifier on.

Wi-Fi is free and the signal is pretty good, although it was too slow at times. A dinette table with two chairs is provided, directly under a ceiling lamp, which makes using laptops for two people very convenient.

The sofa is also a hide-a-bed, so a king suite can sleep four. The king bed is wonderful for sleeping comfort, but the pillows are not. They're all too soft, and I was awake half the first night trying to find a comfortable position for my neck. Two pillows stacked are too high to sleep on, but one is too flat. You can't get any air when your head rests center pillow at bed level and the remainder of the pillow pouffs up around your face. The second night it occurred to me that I could use my airplane neck pillow, which made for a perfect night's sleep. Room darkening curtains make it possible to snooze till noon, once you get the pillow problem resolved.
.
The hotel has no air conditioning but does provide a ceiling fan and a screen door opening onto the balcony. Nights are chilly here, even in August, so sleeping temperature is fine. If you must be cooler than nature though, box fans and portable A/C units are available upon request.

Toiletries are lovely - Gilchrist & Soames Spa Therapy, which contain no harmful chemicals. Bring your own body wash, as only bar soap is provided for bathing. The hotel advertises being eco-conscious with linens and toiletries, so I have to wonder why recycle bins aren't provided in rooms. I toted empty water bottles for three days because there was no place to recycle them.

We loved the bathrobes provided. The bathroom is lovely but is also tiny. There's barely room for an adult to sit in the tub, which is about 2/3 a normal size bathtub. You can't have a nice relaxing bubble bath, but water pressure is great for showering. The sink area has almost zero counter space, so my personal care items kept falling off onto the floor.

The room was very tastefully decorated in local flavor and everything was spotless clean. There's plentiful lighting and sufficient electrical outlets for charging cameras and phones.
There's also lots of closet and drawer space, and the coat closet doors are full length mirrors - an important amenity that a lot of hotels fail to provide.

We appreciated the fact that housekeeping never bothered us, though we didn't leave our room until about 12:30. We didn't hear a peep in the hallway all morning, so rooms seem to have good soundproofing.

The fitness center (open 6 a.m. to 10 p.m.) is enormous, almost as big as the public gym at home, and exceptionally well equipped for a full hour workout. It's also very clean.

We were happy to discover that the property is totally non-smoking. It is pet-friendly though, if you like to travel with canine family members. An additional deposit is required for guests with pets.

Garage parking is available; valet parking is optional. The fee for either is $15 per night. A free shuttle is provided to and from Crested Butte if you prefer not to drive the five minutes to town.

The hotel staff was all exceptionally helpful and friendly, from parking to restaurant to housekeeping. Our luggage was brought to our room for us, and we had additional coffee within five minutes of requesting it. We got a fantastic deal on our stay via one of the travel websites, so Elevation Hotel was well worth the dollars spent.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loveland, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Best value for a relaxing retreat and spa experience. Staff is friendly and seemed happy. The spa provided professional services.
Appreciated valet service. No need for a car as the bus service to town was sufficient. They parked my car and brought it to me whenI was ready to leave. Excellent service.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LAWTON
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

Just loved the whole experience. This is a beautiful hotel with excellent friendly staff. The food was wonderful . Could not recommend it any more highly. We were able to have our pet with us and the hotel is very welcoming of pets. Loved going downtown and walking around. There's a wonderful farmer's market on weekends.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ROBBIE C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Littleton, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013

This is a great place to stay if you're traveling with older kids (mine are 17 and 12) because our room had an extra sink and counter area and our room was bigger than an average hotel room. They have a good gym and a shuttle service to town. But the main reason to stay here is the staff! They bed over backwards to make sure you're having a good time and are extremely cheerful.

Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Jenny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
24.8 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
21.6 mi away
Molly Gibson Lodge
Molly Gibson Lodge
#13 of 35 in Aspen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Elevation Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Elevation Hotel & Spa

Property: The Elevation Hotel & Spa
Address: 500 Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Elevation Hotel & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 262
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Elevation Hotel & Spa is the only full-service ski-in / ski-out hotel at Crested Butte Mountain Resort. The completely renovated property features 262 rooms and spacious suites. Enjoy first-class amenities and services, including swimming pool, hot tub, wireless internet, Spa treatments, Fitness Center, bell and concierge services. The on-site 9380 Prime Restaurant & Bar serves breakfast, lunch, and dinner. The Elevation Hotel & Spa offers the ultimate slopeside luxury and convenience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Elevation Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Elevation Hotel Crested Butte
The Elevation Hotel And Spa
Elevation Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing