We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the most reasonable base of a mountian places I've even been”

Avalanche Bar & Grill
Ranked #12 of 67 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Kansas City
Level Contributor
58 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“One of the most reasonable base of a mountian places I've even been”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 8, 2013

I had the fish & chips....great. We were there 4 different times in a week, 2 times for lunch, and 2 for dinner. Each time the service was great, and the food was good. The prices are reasonable, especially for mountain food which is usually 4 times more than anywhere else. Their drinks are good with a wide variety of hot drinks.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank rb517
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    88
    112
    35
    12
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comfort, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good Après Ski meeting place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Don't go here expecting fancy tablecloths or hand cut steaks. It is what is and does a good job of that. Friendly staff, and if you care to socialize, fun patrons. Oh and the beer selection is good (not great). Food is what I expect from a mountainside fairly inexpensive location, but frankly that is not the primary reason I would go there

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Lengwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canton, Georgia
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Convenient, thats it”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2013

Food was average, breakfast was better then lunch, we tried it three times, and we only went back because it was convenient. Bar food, you cant expect much i guess

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Dechandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durant, OK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Terrible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013

Big party with a large variety of orders. Service was awful. Chicken fried steak awful. Tilapia was awful. Sea Food Fettuccini was awful. Pork Sandwich was awful. Reuben Sandwich was good. Chicken Parmesan was awful. The fish and chips and chicken wings were good. Service was awful. Waiter would not split checks. Stomach discomfort followed for several. Terrible ski food! Keep looking...

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank grclark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“'Best on the Mountain Dudes!'”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 17, 2013

Sad truth about the Mountain is that the food sucks compared to what's available in town. It's like another world and from our/the customer's point of view makes no sense. It's always about making do. The Avalanche Bar and Grill will do if you're hungry and need a drink. The drinks are actually way better than the food. That said, they have upped their game since last year. Ingredients are better quality, the salads fresher and more munchable and they always give you huge portions of whatever you order. It's regular American fare without much finesse - burgers and fries etc. etc., but like I said the salads are pretty good. Service is always with a smile, quick and attentive, so you can get back on the mountain to burn off what you've just eaten.

So don't expect much, but you'll feel satisfied and ready to face the challenges the mountain might serve you in the afternoon.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Martzdude
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Avalanche Bar & Grill also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Avalanche Bar & Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing