We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hosts Chris and Andrea Greene made our weekend one of the most pleasant ever.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Reviewed January 24, 2010

Clean, friendly, warm home highlighted by a delicious breakfast, tasty cookies, excellent conversation and two people determined to help make your stay comfortable in any way they can.

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jlctinman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (422)
There are newer reviews for The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

332 - 338 of 422 reviews

Reviewed January 19, 2010

The Ruby of Crested Butte is a wonderful B&B - the best we've ever stayed at! Chris and Andrea have left no stone unturned in terms of providing their guests with a friendly, comfortable, and luxurious stay. From roses in the room to gourmet breakfasts, it was a weekend to remember....and we plan to go back soon!

  • Stayed: January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dara H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2010

Innkeepers, Chris and Andrea, pulled out all of the stops to make this one of our best family vacations ever. The inn was so comfortable, clean, and very centrally located. The pet-friend policy was also a big winner with our family. Our sheltie had a wonderful stay and was pampered beyond belief. He thought that The Ruby of Crested Butte was HIS house! My husband, son, son's girlfriend and I LOVED the never ending sumptous breakfasts that were prepared so wonderfully by Chris & Andrea. We would lie in bed at night thinking of what the next day's meal would be! Seriously, good food, good people, and wonderful accomodations. I would highly recommend this B&B to friends & family. Thanks Andrea & Chris for such a wonderful holiday and new year. Oh, did I tell you we received complimentary champagne, chocoloate covered strawberries and other goodies to "Ring in the New Year"? We definitely want to return in the summer time as well.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sheltilover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 31, 2009

Wow, what a great place to stay. From the warm greeting when we first showed up to the delicious breakfasts, there really isn't anything bad to say about the Ruby. Chris and Andrea do an excellent job as hosts, making sure that everything is just so; being available when needed while not being intrusive. Overall, a wonderful getaway.

Room: the Ruby was clearly built as a B&B, with each room having an en-suite that doesn't look like an afterthought. Our room was one of the smaller ones, yet there was plenty of room for the two of us. The bed was comfortable and the room tastefully decorated without going overboard. Although we didn't really use it much, there was a decent size flat screen TV with DVD player in the room. With the TV hung on the wall and the DVD player tucked away near the bed, you really didn't notice it if you weren't looking for it. The Ruby is in a quiet part of town and noise was never an issue (either from the outside or other guests).

Food: The food was delicious. My wife and I have food allergies (one of us gluten and one dairy) and Chris accommodated us for each breakfast, cooking up terrific meals. Additionally, they served cheese and crackers (gluten free for me), wine and beer in the afternoon. It was definitely nice to go somewhere that we didn't have to worry about what we were going to eat for our morning meal.

Location: Although not on the main strip of Crested Butte, it would have only been a 5 minute walk from the main street. As it was, while we were there it was a little cold for walking all over town so we did the 2 minute drive. That said, we'd love to come back this summer to do further exploring.

Overall: This was a wonderful place to stay. Chris and Andrea have done a wonderful job of reducing the Ruby's impact on the environment without compromising quality or comfort. We were looking for a place that would let us relax for a few days, and finding a place that met this need and did it with minimal environmental impact was a bonus. We have already recommended the Ruby to several friends.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BikeDad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 18, 2009

Chris and Andrea have created a wonderful place to stay and relax. The purpose of this trip was skiing and the Ruby's locker in the Treasure at Crested Butte Ski Resort where we left our skis and boots made it so easy - just catch the bus a little over a block away, get out, and go ski. I'm not sure if Chris and Andrea arranged for the 31 inches of snow in two days but they would if they could.

Chris prepares the breakfast and the bread pudding made from cinnamon rolls - which was wonderful - is typical of his creative and delicious breakfasts. It made getting out of the very comfortable bed worthwhile - an event really.

I want to go back - soon.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllenAndAbby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2009

We really enjoyed our 3 days in beautiful Crested Butte at this quite splendid B&B. Andrea and Chris extend warmth and hospitality without overpowering their guests. The room was tastefully decorated and was a breath of fresh air after several hotels or B&Bs with flowery and cutsy Victorian overtones. We were looking for something a lttle bit different and The Ruby met all of our expectations. It had a relaxed ambience, great books to read and the home-cooked breakfast that was memorable. You need to be doing some exercise to do the breakfast full justice!!! We stronglt recommend this B&B - wish there were more like it in CO

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dominic P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 12, 2009

The Ruby is a beautiful and relaxing B and B. Our room was charming and luxurious all at once. The owners were very friendly yet also gave us plenty of space to do our own thing. The breakfasts were delicious, creative and beautifully plated. We highly recommend The Ruby and can't wait to return ourselves!

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollicarol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
799 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
646 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crested Butte
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Address: 624 Gothic Avenue, In Historic Downtown, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: $199 - $229 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 Colorado Bed and Breakfast Inn by TripAdvisor, and recommended by Sunset and Southern Living magazines! Colorful. Authentic. Connected. Truly Crested Butte! The Ruby is Crested Butte's premier Bed and Breakfast Inn for the discerning visitor seeking gracious treatment, abundant amenities, and a destination where affordable luxury and environmental responsibility create an exceptional guest experience. The Ruby is located in historic downtown Crested Butte in the heart of the coveted Bed and Breakfast District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire so you can book your The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing