We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable Place - Beautiful Town”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Sacramento
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Comfortable Place - Beautiful Town”
Reviewed June 22, 2009

The Ruby is a very comfortable B&B. Clean, quiet, comfortable, large rooms, full nice size bathrooms, wifi, and so many little extras. The host and hostess (Chris and Andrea) are charming and very attentive. It was quickly apparent that they care for your comfort and well being. The morning breakfast was exceptional and always a great start to wonderful days. Bicycles were made available for our use a spa is also available for guest use.

I highly recommend the The Ruby and the town of Crested Butte.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lwintern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
269
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New Hampshire
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2009

The Ruby is a lovely, welcoming, nicely appointed, pet friendly B&B on a quiet street in Crested Butte within walking distance of restaurants, shopping, trail heads, etc. The young friendly innkeepers prepare delicious, hearty breakfasts, offer tips on hiking, rafting and dining and offer to make reservations for guests. Rooms are well appointed, with ice buckets and wine glasses, high quality linens, tvs, and there are 2 comfortable sitting areas as well. There are bikes for guest use, and CB is a very bike friendly town too. Chris and Andrea make delicious afternoon cookies; they offer excellent hospitality. I hope to stay here again and can reccomment this inn without any reservation.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Blesher
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vermont
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 17, 2009

Fabulous is the only word that comes to mind when I think of The Ruby of Creste Butte. If you visit Creste Butte, add it to your "must do" list. Andrea and Chris, owners and inn keepers, are extremely warm and welcoming hosts. They cater to their guests and make them feel very special. This was our 6th visit and we are already looking forward to our next. They care about their guests and make sure everyone is comfortable. They are very professional and knowlegeable of the CB and surrounding areas. They can help plan activities, suggest restaurants, shopping, etc. and you will not be disappointed. They are very particular about their Inn and obviously take pride in it. The rooms are well done and most of all....it is pristine! They put on the best breakfast in town and i keep telling Andrea that her Lattes are better than Starbucks:) It is perfectly located in town near the bus stop. The local buses run on a regular basis so it is easy to move around town or to the mountain. Oh....did I mention they have these wonderful ruby red "Fat Tire" bikes for guest use? They are a blast. This was our first experience in CB in the off winter season and we loved touring around on the bikes. Well...i think you get the idea. If you haven't stayed at The Ruby.....you should!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JoanneVermont
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Hampshire
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 16, 2009

A few years back, when our youngest two daughters (then 19 and 18) were able to travel with us, we had stayed in Salida and wandered the south-central Colorado region, exploring. We "discovered" Crested Butte, its beautiful summertime accessibility and displays of flowers throughout town and the magnificent wildflowered mountain valley above Crested Butte mountain...and vowed to return for a reprise. This year, in a relative whirlwind tour of western Colorado/eastern Utah following our now-22 year-old's graduation from the University of Denver, we STAYED in Crested Butte...a gift to ourselves. After a lot of research, I made reservations at the Ruby - we enjoy Bed and Breakfast stays - comfort, breakfasts that "are to die for," congenial folks also staying, accessibility to town, etc. We were pleasantly surprised...and reaffirmed...at the Ruby. The building itself is unprepossessing...indeed, underwhelming from the outside (except for the GREAT array of retro bicycles available for guests to take and enjoy in riding the area's many bike paths!). But, once inside, we were taken with the thought put into making the space welcoming, warm and functional. In that we were travelling with two young adults (the "girls" had now "grown up!"), we opted for the "loft suite" where we, parents, could have the "downstairs," king-bed space (with bath!) and the "kids" could have the loft with (up to) three beds and the TV/DVD player. Suited all of us just fine...and my snoring didn't seem to interfere with their ability to sleep through anything! The amenities of the B&B were excellent, its location allowed easy access to "town," and Chris and Andrea's attention to details (especially the GREAT breakfast), provided everything we might have expected from a premier B&B. Even before reading the note asking that we remove our shoes, we had done so - for, at our home, we do the same...sure reduces the wear and tear at home...and, amidst an environment wherein "salting" of the roads tends to occur, it's so logical to ask for that "help" in such a clean, well-maintained B&B environment - and, it keeps the noise down from pounding heels on floors! For us, the accommodations and the ambiance added up to a wonderful...although short...visit. We will be back for a longer visit - for sure!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Windsigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2009

The room was beautifully decorated,well-equipped and truly comfortable. The Breakfasts are out of this world. Not to mention the chocolate chip cookie treats...

But best of all were Chris and Andrea who made us feel completely at home and made us glad we came. We love Crested Butte and will be back to CB and The Ruby-- the ONLY place to stay as far as we are concerned!

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DenverBacchus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Junction, CO
1 review
Reviewed June 15, 2009

The Rudy combines the simplicity of mountian living with a subtle elegance. After a weekend the field and sleeping in a Holiday Inn, the comfort of the Ruby was awesome. My only regret is that my fiancee and our dogs where not there, she would have loved to take a complementary cruiser bike from the fleet for an ride around time. Chris and Andrea are fantastic hosts that provide a locallay renowned breakfast with great coffee and conversation.

Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank HydroTech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chicago
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2009

I expect to see the owners of the Ruby opening a gourmet restaurant sometime in their future. The fabulous breakfast, made by Chris, the owner, was outstanding. Everything from the delicious egg cups, to the sticky buns are made with expertise and love. This breakfast will see you through the day and more! The rooms are comfortable and very well detailed, like a page out of house and garden. Everything is placed perfectly, for your comfort. Some b & b's seem restrictive where you don't feel comfortable enough to explore -- Books abound, dvd's to watch, comfortable couches, beautiful surroundings. The Ruby is warm and welcoming, like home away from home -- And isn't that exactly what we want in our travels?

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sueveh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
765 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
263 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Property: The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Address: 624 Gothic Avenue, In Historic Downtown, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 Colorado Bed and Breakfast Inn by TripAdvisor, and recommended by Sunset and Southern Living magazines! Colorful. Authentic. Connected. Truly Crested Butte! The Ruby is Crested Butte's premier Bed and Breakfast Inn for the discerning visitor seeking gracious treatment, abundant amenities, and a destination where affordable luxury and environmental responsibility create an exceptional guest experience. The Ruby is located in historic downtown Crested Butte in the heart of the coveted Bed and Breakfast District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing