We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a perfect place to relax and reconnect with your spouse!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“What a perfect place to relax and reconnect with your spouse!”
Reviewed January 11, 2009

My husband and I were looking for the perfect place to have our fist overnight away from our new baby boy...We wanted a friendly, but private place that was different from a hotel. We found it all at the Ruby!

The owners are great - they put their hearts into the place. It is clean, nicely decorated, and the extras (i.e. cookies in the afternoon, good bathroom products, excellent breakfast) were well thought out.

We have told all of our friends about this place - you shouldn't hesitate to stay there!

Stayed December 2008
Helpful?
1 Thank babyfamily2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
269
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Co
2 reviews
Reviewed January 11, 2009

The Ruby of Crested Butte is wonderful! From the kind and knowledgeable owners, to it's location in the heart of town, and it's luxurious cozy charm, there is not one thing I could think of to change!

Not only were my husband and I made to feel right at home, our 2 dogs were welcomed with special dog beds, treats, and bowls in our room. Our pups were ready to move in permanently!

The Ruby makes all efforts to be environmentally green, is quiet and peaceful, and the afternoon cookies, and breakfasts are amazing! Great coffee too!

It is very easy to walk into town, or to catch the shuttle to get to the ski area. And, if you don't want to leave the B&B, it's a great relaxing environment to read, relax, or hot tub.

We will definitely be back!

  • Liked — Beautiful, welcoming owners, quiet, great location, awesome coffee!
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank macDenver_Co
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
Reviewed December 24, 2008

This was our third visit to The Ruby of Crested Butte. We have had great experiences each time (Oct 2007, May 2008, Dec 2008).

From arrival to departure, the innkeepers (Chris & Andrea Greene) work to ensure a relaxing and comfortable stay. Rooms and common areas allow for cozy relaxation or getting to know other guests.

Come hungry for breakfasts. The food is absolutely fantastic, and we enjoyed the time to chat with the other guests and the innkeepers. In addition to breakfast, there were home-baked cookies to greet us every afternoon and a wine and cheese tasting with local Colorado wines on Saturday evening.

Be sure to bring your dog. The Ruby caters to pets providing a comfy blanket, dog bowls, and a pet friendly environment. Plus the innkeepers helped us arrange for our lab to spend the day at Oh Be Dogful doggy day camp while we skied the mountain. (I think our dog had as much fun as we did!)

Chris and Andrea provide excellent advice about the area, restaurants, events, etc. and will make arrangements for everything from dinner to massages to dog sitting so you have time to enjoy your vacation.

Crested Butte itself is a wonderful town with a great atmosphere, fantastic restaurants, good skiing and hiking. The Ruby is a great home away from home to explore this beautiful area of Colorado.

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Stayed December 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank ColoradoAgs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

My husband and I loved the Ruby! We enjoyed our stay so much. Chris and Andrea were such wonderful hosts. It is so rare to find hosts that care so much for their guests. The room was excellent, as well as the breakfast. My husband and I got to know the hosts and the guests at the Ruby. We felt so welcomed and cared for. I would recommend the Ruby in a heartbeat. I want to thank Chris and Andrea for their hospitality and their open hearts. Our stay in Crested Butte would not have been as enjoyable if we did not stay at the Ruby.

  • Liked — The comfort the Ruby offered and the close proximity to town
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Vacation_experience
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed September 26, 2008

We agonised for some time over where to stay in Crested Butte. In the end we decided on town over the mountain and were glad we did as it has much more atmosphere. Of the places in town, we felt that The Ruby was the best option from the research we did and looking around town confirmed this. However it is not perfect.

It is a pleasant building with a small garden at the back. It is located 5 minutes walk from Elk Avenue (where most of the action is) and so is in a quiet location. However, it is between 2 empty lots and one of them seems to get used as a car park so the immediate vicinity doesn't add much.

When we arrived we found a number of pieces of paper on a table with parties names on who were checking in that day. It was from the innkeeper apologising for being out (running errands) but directing us to our room. They asked us to call to arrange our time for breakfast which we did but we never actually met the innkeepers until breakfast the next day. Oh well we thought - errands need doing. But the same system seemed to be in operation on the other days we stayed. This seems a pity and real missed opportunity as one of the things we like about B&Bs is getting the personal touch. As first time visitors to both the inn and Crested Butte we had nothing to help us orientate ourselves on either the inn or the town. It took us until the next day to discover the really very nice lounge area upstairs and two days until we discovered the basket of restaurant menus lurking under a table in the downstairs lounge. This all felt a bit impersonal and we felt rather abandoned.

Other reviewers have commented on the "removing shoes" policy. We fully understand this and sympathise with the issue. However, the innkeepers need to understand how much of battle it can then be if you are getting multiple bags out of the car (or putting them back in) whilst taking your shoes off (or on) each time you go in (or out). With no one to around to help this contributed to us not feeling terribly positive about the inn on arrival.

The rooms are nicely decorated with some style. The beds are large and there is plenty of hanging and drawer space. The bathrooms have plenty of towels and loads of high pressure hot water from the shower and the small bath. Big bathrobes are a plus.

Our room was not large. With a large bed there was not much room to move around. Seeing through the doors of others I think it is the same with most of them. Additionally we could every footfall from the party in the room above - we were downstairs - fortunately they were fairly quiet but if they hadn't been this might be an issue.

The bed was comfortable but the pillows could have been better. We slept with the window open and it was quiet. The room even then was a bit stuffy so we had to run the ceiling fan as well to move the air.

Breakfast was substantial and excellent. Eg waffles plus eggs and fruit. Lots of good coffee and juice plus water and iced tea also provided. Excellent cinnamon buns!

Rating: 3.5 stars

  • Stayed September 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diz01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iwantmoretravel
1 review
Reviewed September 20, 2008

We hiked over to Crested Butte for the night with our 2 dogs. We were pleasantly surpised with how modern everything was at The Ruby. No kitch, no antiques...a pleasant surprise for a B&B.

Every last detail has been thought out at this place starting with fresh baked cookies 15 minutes after we arrived to great dvd options and wonderful luxe bathrooms. The dog beds and bowls were a nice touch also.

The owners were thoughtful and attentive.

We will go back soon!

  • Stayed September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iwantmoretravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, CO
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 14, 2008

The Ruby was the perfect place to stay for our Crested Butte getaway. We were traveling with our dog and this place made it so easy without missing a bit of luxury. The place is immaculate, decorated beautifully, the food is amazing and the hosts are friendly and interesting. There were so many nice extras including the hot tub, chocolate chip cookies each afternoon, and fresh ground coffee available at 6:00 a.m. We have stayed in a number of B&B's in this price range around the country. Most seem either over-priced for what you get or shabby around the edges. The Ruby offers bang for your buck. We'll be back!

  • Liked — Breakfast
  • Disliked — Taking my shoes off each time I came in
  • Stayed September 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosephinaMaria
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
765 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
263 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Property: The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Address: 624 Gothic Avenue, In Historic Downtown, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 Colorado Bed and Breakfast Inn by TripAdvisor, and recommended by Sunset and Southern Living magazines! Colorful. Authentic. Connected. Truly Crested Butte! The Ruby is Crested Butte's premier Bed and Breakfast Inn for the discerning visitor seeking gracious treatment, abundant amenities, and a destination where affordable luxury and environmental responsibility create an exceptional guest experience. The Ruby is located in historic downtown Crested Butte in the heart of the coveted Bed and Breakfast District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing