We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Government employee discounts!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“Government employee discounts!”
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I've stayed at the Ruby many times over the last 9 years - it is by far my favorite place to stay when I'm in Crested Butte for work. I work for a federal agency and was so thrilled to find out that the Ruby offers discounts to government employees! Chris and Andrea are such wonderfully friendly hosts and make you feel like part of the family. The accommodations are plush and extremely comfortable, and the free use of the towny bikes makes you feel like you are one of the locals. Once you've had a taste of their gourmet breakfasts, you won't ever want to leave! Don't stay anywhere else!!!!

Green Features: I work in the environmental field and haven't stayed in a hotel or B&B that takes going green as seriously as The Ruby! They have incorporated environmental awareness and stewardship into almost every aspect of their business without compromising quality, taste, cleanliness, and ambiance.
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cstinap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

408 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    390
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
264
14
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (61)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Roxborough,CO
Level Contributor
78 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 4, 2014

We fell in love with Crested Butte and the Ruby had so much to do with this. The accommodations are comfortable and immaculate and the food delicious but the owners and staff are the real bonus. They do everything in their power to make you feel like a guest in their home and they go above and beyond to assist and help with anything and everything. They greet you with homemade cookies and have a nice supply of good wine, good beer, water and soft drinks available for your convenience. Everything is so lovely and thoughtful...fresh roses everyday. wine glasses in the room, lush towels and linens, ski boot warming machine and a great array of books, movies, and games. Incredible attention to detail. My only suggestion would be a table of some sort in each bathroom for cosmetic bags. That is so minor and not a criticism. This place is a keeper and we will return to the Ruby every time we visit Crested Butte which thanks to them will be much more often!

Room Tip: The upstairs room is private but near the Kitchen and morning activity. Still. we likes the extra s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2014

CB experienced upwards of 40" of snow during our 4 day stay. Chris and the staff at The Ruby provided a great base from which to explore the valley and then return to for relaxing and recharging. This was our 4th stay at The Ruby and every time has been the same; gourmet breakfasts and great conversation to start the day, a relaxing hot tub after a day of mountain activity, a super town location that is quiet but close enough to walk everywhere and a comfy room to dream about the day that was. The staff at The Ruby is knowledgeable of the community and will provide accurate information on the attractions and local restaurants. I can't imagine staying anywhere else in CB.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gotta J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lyons, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2014

We have stayed at The Ruby a few times over the years, and we enjoy our stay each time. Chris makes great breakfasts, the home is always clean and comfortable, and the location is perfect for exploring all that CB has to offer. Use of a ski locker at the ski area is a nice perk if you stay a few days and ski. The staff does a great job of allowing you to relax and enjoy your stay as if they were not there, but they somehow are immediately available if need be. Whether you need a base for skiing, cycling, or just reading, relaxing and exploring town, The Ruby is a wonderful choice for any stay in Crested Butte.

Green Features: Chris and Andrea do a good job of promoting sustainability and giving back to the community, so you can feel good about your stay.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heath B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Ruby while we were in town to ski. This was our first time and it was excellent. Everyone was extremely friendly and the place was very clean. Chris cooked us a great breakfast every morning and there were always some sort of cookies or snack out to eat during the day. The complimentary beer, wine and soda was a nice touch! I can't say enough about the friendliness and helpfulness of the staff. They did a great job making it feel like you were going "home" every night. The location is another plus - very close to town and the bus stop.

When we return to CB, we will most definitely be staying at the Ruby.

Thank you for helping to make our trip so enjoyable!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 11, 2014

We ALWAYS enjoy our trips to Crested Butte and our stay at "The Ruby!" Chris and Andrea always take great care of us and the location is Great!! We're looking forward to our next stay this Summer/Fall!!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank theredmex45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
rowayton, ct
2 reviews
Reviewed January 21, 2014

Maybe the most amazing thing about The Ruby (and Chris and Andrea) is that it exceeds expectations every visit. And that's no mean feat considering I have been there probably 12 or so times -- and I've thrown a few curve balls at them in the process (including showing up unexpectedly due to a litle oversight on my part). Welcoming, accommodating (all sorts of things, including working special dietary considerations into the phenomenal breakfasts) and gracious do not begin to describe The Ruby experience. We love arriving (the warm cookies don't hurt) and hate leaving, but we know we will only be away temporarily!

Green Features: Chris and Andrea are very environmentally responsible in all aspects of their operation, but it is never intrusive.
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank feebsct
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
746 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
256 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
248 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
139 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Property: The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Address: 624 Gothic Avenue, In Historic Downtown, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 Colorado Bed and Breakfast Inn by TripAdvisor, and recommended by Sunset and Southern Living magazines! Colorful. Authentic. Connected. Truly Crested Butte! The Ruby is Crested Butte's premier Bed and Breakfast Inn for the discerning visitor seeking gracious treatment, abundant amenities, and a destination where affordable luxury and environmental responsibility create an exceptional guest experience. The Ruby is located in historic downtown Crested Butte in the heart of the coveted Bed and Breakfast District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing