We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thoughtful and attentive staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
California
2 reviews
“Thoughtful and attentive staff”
Reviewed August 5, 2013

I stayed at The Ruby for more than two weeks this summer. Both rooms I stayed in were well decorated, but small. However, it's the staff that make The Ruby outstanding. They are friendly and knowledgeable about the area and activities. They quickly and efficiently took care of any requests I had from organizing a jeep tour, to calling about events in town and other needs that I had come up during my time there. They are attentive to individual needs and accommodated my dietary needs. They are incredibly thoughtful too; they gave me a lovely gift as I was celebrating my birthday and the owner, Andrea, made dairy and gluten free cupcakes for me. They even had a little gift for my dog, who was also celebrating a birthday!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mberkovich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

414 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    396
    13
    2
    2
    1
See reviews for
58
269
15
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (63)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
Reviewed August 5, 2013

Our title refers to my reluctance to stay in a B & B because of previous less-than-desirable experiences. This stay at The Ruby was wonderful, thanks to the gregarious and helpful staff, the pleasant ambiance, the nicely preserved "old" charm ( but modern conveniences), and Deb's and Chris' fabulous and generous breakfasts. We particularly appreciated all of the helpful tips that we received from Chris, Allison, Cassie and Deb on where to find wildflowers (the purpose of our trip) and where to find good food in town. And the complementary bicycles made available by The Ruby were so much fun!
For this new B & B guest to say The Ruby is spectacular and that I'll happily return is saying a lot!
Patrick and Barb

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BLT2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado, United States
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed at the Ruby to celebrate our anniversary. It was such a fantastic trip that we didn't want to leave. Chris and Andrea are wonderful hosts that have made sure to staff their bed and breakfast with people who care about their guests. The staff helped arrange massages for my wife and I and made sure to share their expertise on local hiking opportunities. Everything about our stay at The Ruby was excellent. The rooms are comfortable and inviting, and breakfast is an incredibly delicious culinary experience. We cannot wait to go back!

Room Tip: Each room is wonderful, but if you are looking for space for a larger group ask about the suite.
See more room tips
Green Features: All bathroom products are made of natural products. I particularly enjoyed the Natural Earth shampoo and conditioner.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Louisville, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

We've stayed at the Ruby for a number of years, and will keep coming back. When we pull up to the door, our dog goes right to the front door knowing there is a treat for her in our room. Chris and Andrea are great hosts and have developed an outstanding staff. A truly deluxe B&B, with a warm Crested Butte atmosphere. Great food and amenities. Stay here!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JeepGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 28, 2013

My husband and I stayed 2 nights, I believe in room 4. Beautiful, comfortable lodging, and the staff could NOT be more friendly, personable or accommodating. The food was fabulous, and we enjoyed hanging out in the dining room talking with other guests. They include a complimentary refrigerator, so a daily soda pop or beer or wine was great in the evening, sitting outside on the two-person swing. We did not take advantage of the loaner bikes because my husband was riding through on a weeklong bike tour, but they looked fun. They have DVDs for use in your room, and there were different fresh roses in each room. Such nice touches! We will definitely be back!

Room Tip: You can hear the hot tub from room 4, and though it was only in use once while we were there I guess...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Alice80234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
50 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed here two nights and could not have been more pleased with our selection. Our room was room 1, A World Away. The room was well appointed and very comfortable. We could look out our window and see the delightful flowers of the window box. Just down the hall we could enjoy fresh cookies and a comfortable gathering area. They provided free red and white wine for our enjoyment and we enjoyed it each evening.
Andrea was extremely helpful to us. We mentioned our desire to see lots of wildflowers and a trail we wanted access, but we didn't have a vehicle that was appropriate for the road. She was aware of a shuttle that could drop us off and pick us up. She also suggested a place that would pack us a lunch for our trip. She said she could make all of the arrangements and then we could either pay directly or have it added to our room charge which she would do at no added cost. We asked her to do it and it was all arranged in no time at all. Then all of those arrangements worked without a hitch including having a wonderful driver Craig who worked for Dolly Shuttle service. It helped make a perfect visit for us.
Chris fixed these very good breakfasts with creative egg dishes, fruit compote and cinnamon rolls to top off. After preparing the meals he would come out of the kitchen and engage everyone in conversation. You couldn't ask for a nicer more knowledgeable host. This is the place to stay in Crested Butte.

Room Tip: Room #1 is right on the first floor and the easiest to access with luggage.
See more room tips
Green Features: We try to always stay at accommodations that are socially aware.
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wrldtrkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 25, 2013

We have stayed here multiple times and come back for the simple reason... It's easily the best place in town. The proprietors, Chris and Andrea are wonderful people and run an equally wonderful B&B. I'm not sure how anyone could have a bad time hear. Our stays have always been accompanied with children and dogs ... Sometimes ours but most frequently other guests. Every time the kids have been great to see traveling with their parents and the dogs always well behaved. This stay was no different. Wonderful people, breakfasts and accommodation. The 1 bubble review lady couldn't be further from the truth. We'll be back again and again! Thx for another wonderful stay.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anihall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
765 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
263 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
629 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
250 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B

Property: The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Address: 624 Gothic Avenue, In Historic Downtown, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B 2.5*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rated #1 Colorado Bed and Breakfast Inn by TripAdvisor, and recommended by Sunset and Southern Living magazines! Colorful. Authentic. Connected. Truly Crested Butte! The Ruby is Crested Butte's premier Bed and Breakfast Inn for the discerning visitor seeking gracious treatment, abundant amenities, and a destination where affordable luxury and environmental responsibility create an exceptional guest experience. The Ruby is located in historic downtown Crested Butte in the heart of the coveted Bed and Breakfast District. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing