We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Ruby of Crested Butte - A Luxury B&B
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
The Plaza Condominiums(Crested Butte)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Buttes Condominiums(Crested Butte)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Pool
Grand Lodge Crested Butte(Crested Butte)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Comfort Inn(Gunnison)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
A-B-C Motel(Gunnison)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (434)
Filter reviews
434 results
Traveler rating
416
13
2
2
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
416
13
2
2
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscinnamon rollsother guestscookieshot tubin townplace to staybed and breakfastchocolate covered strawberriesfrench toastdog treatsegg dishesbeer and winewonderful hostsowners and staffeach morninghome away from homeelk avenue
Filter
Updating list...
175 - 180 of 434 reviews
Reviewed July 24, 2013

Just have to respond to guest Cindy E with one star. We had our children there along with other guests. Yes, we were watching a movie in the family room with the volume turned down, as to not bother anyone. The kids screaming? While every kid can have their moments our kids were on very good behavior and are very used to keeping quiet at B&B's across the globe. Oh yes, we stopped watching the movie well before 10pm as she kept opening the door as if there was a raucous party happening. Simply tell people you have the hearing of a dog and we would happily leave. Our dog was out on a walk during the time frame she complained. The other dogs there were well behaved and all guests were very responsible with their k9's. As for not being able to speak and mingle with other guests? Couldn't be further from the truth. We met some wonderful new friends. The Ruby is a wonderful place, as always. Cindy E appears to be the one thorn on the bush.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ise8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We loved The Ruby, we loved Crested Butte, the other families and dogs(we brought our dog) were pleasant. The bed in room 2 was comfortable. Yes the room was small but we spent much of our time outdoors enjoying the incredible beauty of the massive displays of wildflowers amidst the mountains. Soooo glad we stayed there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Service
Thank Betsy K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 30, 2013

I guess it was my own fault for not asking if they allowed dogs and small children here but they accept both. We wanted a QUIET anniversary get away from our neighborhood barking dogs and screaming kids and instead ended up at a place that had both. The rooms were very clean but small and the owners and staff were extremely nice but relaxing it was not. We were in room 4 which was right next to one of the lounges where there was a TV and DVD so after 10:00 I had to call the owners because the kids staying there were very noisy. Also, that room is next to the hot tub room so when it was heating up or someone was in it our whole room vibrated. Also, we had to close the bathroom door because we could hear the TV from the adjacent room as if it were in our room. The breakfast was yummy but because they have staggered guest seating you cannot sit and relax and chat with the other guests because you need to move for the next group. We also lost power in the bathroom and it took a while for them to come and get it turned back on. They say it happens once a year and of course it happened to us. Bottom line, if you don't want to be subjected to or are allergic to multiple barking dogs (there were 4 there) better not stay here. The owners did make it right and did not make us pay for our second night (the bed was also so uncomfortable I had to sleep on the floor) so they did take care of that.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Cindy E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 29, 2013

Want to get away and yet enjoy the feeling of being home and just relaxing? The Ruby is your home in Crested Butte. FABULOUS food, comfortable rooms, quiet and relaxing back yard, dog friendly, and enjoyable conversation with other guests. Worth the drive, the price, and you will want to come back to enjoy another stay.

Room Tip: All rooms are quaint and CLEAN with comfortable beds, views from their windows and quiet.
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Crested Butte is a perfect example of a mountain town .We don't ski so visiting Colorado towns in off season has become our passion. C.B. is so pretty and full of great restaurants. fun shops and plenty outdoor attractions to keep anyone busy. The town is the place to stay in during off ski season. We always use tripadvisor to check out where we will stay....as usual, the reviews were right....we went with #1 The Ruby.....LOVELY....all the other reviews before and after ours should be read, most if not all, were spot on!!!!!! Thanks Cassie, Deb and Allison, we had a great time. Please remember the Ruby is a b&b and therefor, you can hear other guests easier than a large hotel but the location and all the other pros outweigh the need to be a little more respectful of other guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews