We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I heart Crested Butte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“I heart Crested Butte”
Reviewed February 18, 2009

Great location, great staff, huge rooms, giant hot tub, allows pets! The town and mountain in general were so different from other Colorado Resorts I usually visit. Far better service, no lift lines and the people that work and live there were welcoming and friendly - the complete opposite of what I'm used to. It was SUCH a welcome change of pace - loved every part of the weekend!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mtngirljen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    211
    62
    23
    27
See reviews for
236
214
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (140)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington, DC
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed February 17, 2009

We have stayed at the Grand Lodge 3 times now and just love it! The staff is super friendly, the rooms are clean and the accomodations are perfect for a mountain setting ski trip (or bike trip in the summer - we have done that too!). The rooms have small kitchenettes which allow you to prepare your own food if you don't want to go out. This is a great hotel if you have kids! The hotel is very accomodating- if you forgot anything at home, like I did, they will happily provide those toiletries for you. On this trip, I forgot my razer and when I went to the front desk for one, I was given a bag of goodies that included not only a razer, but shampoo, conditioner, deoderant and coupons! Also, we brought my mom along for her birthday on this trip and the staff was more than willing to decorate her room with the birthday decorations I provided before our arrival. I was so impressed with their willingness to do this and they did an awesome job decorating- my mom was thrilled!!

The base of the mountain and skiing is a very short walk of a few minutes from the hotel and the hotel is also within walking distance to restaurants and shops on the base of the mountain. We keep going back because we just love the atmosphere and friendliness of the hotel and area.

We also really love Crested Butte because it is a small, picturesque ski town without all the hype. The town is very cute but with great restaurants and shops. There is a free shuttle bus that runs every 15 minutes to town so you dont even need to rent a car! The skiing is great and there are loads of other activities to do in the winter or summer months.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank JMac37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 12, 2009

Probably the best skiing we've ever had. Crested Butte is one of the most beautiful places in Colorado, and being a native Coloradoan I can say that. The Grande Lodge is one of the nicest hotels we've ever stayed in. You have to go to Crested Butte!!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oklahoma City
2 reviews
Reviewed February 10, 2009

The Grand Lodge is close to the ski lifts and you are within walking distance to an array of food and shopping. The staff was very helpful and polite. They made us feel like family. The view from my room was amazing and I loved to watch the sun set behind the mountains. I would definately recommend this location to anyone visiting the Crested Butte area or if you want to get away to ski.

  • Liked — The views were stunning and the proximity of the lifts and food.
  • Disliked — The options for food in the hotel.
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank travelmem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arkansas
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 9, 2009

Great family atmosphere...for all ages. Grand Lodge has excellent staff and accomondations. Have stayed previously and do plan to return.

  • Liked — Clean
  • Stayed February 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank browneye86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Antonio, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2009

Great location-good amenities. My husband and I enjoyed the Grand lodge mainly because it was so close to the slopes and had its own kitchenette. We were able to purchase groceries from the store and make our own lunches/breakfasts which saved a lot of time and money.

The staff was super friendly and was wiling to answers all our questions. The town shuttle comes about every 15 minutes and picks up about 50 ft away. It only takes a few minutes to get to all the bars/restaurants. There are a quite a few around the hotel but we chose to go down to Elk St. (def. go by the Secret Stash!)

I guess if we had any complaints we could say the bed is not the most comfortable and the view wasn't great but everything else makes up for it. We would stay again.

  • Liked — location,staff
  • Disliked — view
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Melody F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spicewood, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
88 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2009

We've been going to Crested Butte for over ten years and stayed at many other properties including Woodcreek, Columbine and others. We've now stayed at the Grand Lodge our last few trips. The location is outstanding for the price. Just a very short walk to the lifts and right across the street from the new Mountaineer Square. The rooms are large and the one's in the west tower are suites with small kitchens. A few have fireplaces but you must request them. The pool and spa are newly remodeled and the pool is heated. The Woodstone Grille restaurant in the lobby is a great place for a drink by the fireplace. Overall it's a great value. Mt. Crested Butte is going through many new and exciting changes and the town of Crested Butte is a classic historic mining town which hasn't been screwed up the normal corporate predators. With the great bus service between the mountain and the town you never need to rent a car. A nice little perk considering the expense of a ski trip.

  • Liked — Great location.
  • Stayed January 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank callmaniac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
767 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
264 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Paradise Crested Butte Condos
#6 of 7 in Crested Butte
5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.9 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
24.0 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#4 of 12 in Gunnison
151 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lodge Crested Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Property: Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Address: 6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Crested Butte 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Grand Lodge Crested Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Resort Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing