We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful ski vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Hartford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful ski vacation”
Reviewed March 16, 2013

This was our first time to Crested Butte and we hope it won't be our last. The Grand Lodge was the perfect choice for easy access to the mountain and to the town of Crested Butte-free town shuttle which runs every 15 minutes. The hotel buffet breakfast is a great way to start the day and the cookies in the afternoon were a lovely treat-a special thank you to Nick who always seemed to be there with cookies fresh from the oven when we returned from a day of skiing or strenuous shopping! Other comments about the hotel-great outdoor pool/hot tub, very friendly and attentive staff, our standard king room was a comfortable size with a large under the counter refrigerator, jacuzzi tub, an old TV -we didn't care but some might mind not having a flat screen. Now to the skiing... I have been to many ski areas in the west and Crested Butte is now my favorite! The mountain has something for everyone, yet is very compact and easy to navigate. My friend and I spent most of our time on the gentle, perfectly groomed greens and blues (a special thank you to our ski instructor Mark from New England who helped get us to those blue runs) while our spouses headed to more difficult terrain, but we were able to meet up for lunch on the mountain (Ule's Cabin/ice bar or Paradise) then again for apres ski options at the base area (Avalanche, Butte 66 and 9380-the last 2 have great outdoor options for those perfect blue sky days). Don't miss out on the town-great restaurants, shops and the friendliest people! Dining recommendations: West End (great steak and seafood options), Brick Oven (good pizza, great taps), Eldos Brewery (3 house taps and great burgers), Marchitelli's-excellent italian food (try the chicken or veal parmesan with eggplant or the mix and match pasta options). For breakfast in town don't miss IZZY's, but if you order the pancake be sure there are at least 3 of you sharing-I'm not kidding! Their breakfast sandwiches, wraps and pastries are freshly made and wonderful. While in town don't miss HJ's-handmade hats, Cleavage Candy (cool jewelry) and of course Rocky Mountain Candy Company. Enjoy!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nancy0600
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

616 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    305
    206
    59
    21
    25
See reviews for
228
209
18
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (137)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Florida
Level Contributor
55 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

The best location for access to the mountain, with large rooms, some with fireplaces, all with at least microwave & one burner for simple cooking.

The jacuzzi is a welcome treat after a long, hard day of skiing and the robes provided in the rooms make it so easy to use the jacuzzi.

The staff were super friendly, efficient and helpful. Always worked hard to meet any of my requests.

Some rooms can be a little dark but a simple solution was to upgrade the lightbulbs to full 3 way lighting and the room brightened up a lot.

Available spa treatments which i didn't use so can't comment but it was nice to know they were located right here in the hotel.

Restaurant offered a most reasonably priced all you can eat breakfast that was delicious as well as satisfying.

Free bus shuttles to the downtown are leave every 10 minutes just steps away from the front of the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for one that is updated with the new flat screen t.v.s and of course mountain views. Some of th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Diana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
COS
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 5, 2013

I found the staff to be attentive and helpful. The location was incredible! The rooms were a little smaller than I like to have my family in but if you are there to ski and do not plan to spend much time out of bed then it is very tolerable.

Room Tip: Get one on the end - they have nice views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oreywa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
73 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
Reviewed February 28, 2013

I've stayed here now twice for the past 2 summers. The first stay was perfect. The second one, however (last year), wasn't so much, as the room was hotter than hell. The problem with the hotel is that since it's mainly a ski hotel, it was built for winter, so the one window you can open is small. We were placed on the top floor, and, since heat rises, the hallways had to be at least 90 degrees, which, in turn, made the room hot (specifically the bedroom by the front door). My advice to management would be to not place guests on the top floor in the summer when the hotel has plenty of rooms available.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Gregs_out_West
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 25, 2013

Stayed here in February - it's very convenient to the slopes, the staff is very helpful, and the suite is perfect for families. Be warned, there is no "oven" (convection on the microwave) - just microwave and one burner stovetop, but we made do...Eat at Slogar's in town for an unforgettable homestyel meal.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveledabout
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2013

Love, love the hot tub! The special $99/pp/lift&lodge was an amazing deal! So glad we took advantage of it. Great weekend away with son; Western State student! Look forward to coming back as soon as possible.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DebbieO2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
68 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2013

What a way to welcome your guests - warm cookies! We were weary from traveling all day and our spirits were lifted immediately when we were greeted with cookies and a smile. A great group of young people working the front area. They were always happy & willing to help us with anything.
We had 3 rooms reserved and were all on the 2nd floor. Our room #206 had an awful view of the roof with alot of mechanical things sticking out in your view. The rooms were clean, spacious and comfortable. Loved having the kitchenette. Room #214 was also great in every way but had a very small tv that was very tricky to watch. Room #219 had a great view and had no issues.
Very nice clenaing crew each day that freshened our rooms for us. Great perk - 2 bottles of water were left each day in your room at no charge.

Room Tip: Our view was depressing to have such a beautfiul canvas out your window. Perhaps the higher floors...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Luvtotravellinda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
0.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 739 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 256 reviews
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Paradise Crested Butte Condos
#6 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
0.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
2.3 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 247 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Lodge Crested Butte? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Lodge Crested Butte

Property: Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Address: 6 Emmons Loop, P.O. Box 1369, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Hotels in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Grand Lodge Crested Butte 3*
Number of rooms: 226
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Grand Lodge Crested Butte features 226 oversized hotel rooms and spacious suites to accommodate all types of travelers. Every room is surprisingly affordable and includes comforts and conveniences to make your stay ideal, any time of the year. Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Climate Control Each room at the Grand Lodge is equipped with a ceiling fan, box fan, and at least one opening window to assist with climate control. Consistent with most Colorado mountain resorts, the Grand Lodge does not offer air-conditioning in guest rooms. Pet Friendly Property The Grand Lodge welcomes well-behaved dogs of all shapes and sizes. Pet friendly rooms are limited, so please reserve in advance. A nightly $30 fee for each pet will be charged to your room, and a portion of this fee will be donated to P.A.W.S., a local animal rescue service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HotelsClick so you can book your Grand Lodge Crested Butte reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Lodge Crested Butte Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Hotel Crested Butte
Grand Resort Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing