We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time B&B-Feel at home atomospere,food,clean comfortable,great skiing,no cars needed-Purple Mt. and Crested Butte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
ann arbor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First time B&B-Feel at home atomospere,food,clean comfortable,great skiing,no cars needed-Purple Mt. and Crested Butte”
Reviewed April 25, 2011

Purple Mt. and Crested Butte has it all,food,homey atomosphere,great skiing,1st time B&B would not hesitate to go back-Thanks Chris

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hockey055
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

170 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    155
    13
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
12
128
8
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2011

Last summer my husband and I stayed at the Purple Mountain Lodge to celebrate our 5th wedding anniversary during the Crested Butte Food and Wine Festival. It was the perfect launching pad for a very memorable weekend of good food, wine, wildflowers, and hiking.

Chris was the perfect host. The breakfasts each morning were absolutely divine. And each day Chris took extra time to give us customized recommendations for great hikes and restaurants. The Secret Stash Big Mac pizza was awesome (hard to believe with that name)! He has bikes we were able to use to ride around town whenever we wanted, which was an unexpected extra. And of course the hot tub felt great after an arduous day of wine tasting!

And being able to have our baby with us...our black lab, was the best. We will never come to Crested Butte and stay anywhere but the Purple Mountain Lodge. Thank you, Chris!!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kristen_bov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greeley, colorado
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2011

Wonderful B&B in the heart of Crested Butte. Chris is an amazing resource for restaurants and skiing locations. All the breakfasts were delicious. His oatmeal, raisin, almond cookies are to die for! Thanks for the recipe.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worldtraveler795
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 11, 2011

Chris' hospitality is fantastic! He is very knowledgeable about all the trails, events, and restaurants in Crested Butte. He also makes a mean breakfast that will get you out of bed as soon as the wonderful smells begin to waft upstairs each morning. Breakfast normally consists of a yogurt/granola parfait, a hot main course (waffles, omelette, French toast, etc.), some type of meat protein, juices, tea, and coffee. This varies day to day, but we've never been disappointed by a breakfast.

Miscellaneous:
-The rooms are cozy, clean, and well furnished. The rooms aren't huge, but we've never been too cramped. We've never had a problem with noise either.
-The living room has comfortable couches and a larger tv.
-The hot tub is great at the end of a long day outside.
-Hot water is available for tea anytime.
-Massage is available on location by reservation and the massages I have had have been wonderful.
-It's only about a 5 minute walk from all the restaurants in downtown Crested Butte.

We have also recommended friends who are also hooked and we'll be back again soon!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JohnAndMer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Highlands Ranch, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 10, 2011

Chris, our innkeeper, creates a wonderful guest experience! He's an amazing cook, and the rooms are cute and comfortable. Chris is an active outdoor enthusiast able to recommend just the right hiking and biking trails for our ability levels - having explored them many times himself. This will be an annual trip for sure!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CO_Shell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2011

This was our first time at Purple Mountain but nearly everyone else staying there were repeat customers -- for one good reason -- Chris! What a wonderful host/cook/guide & conversationalist. His restaurant recommendations were spot-on and he provided us with many laughs and lots of great stories. This was one of the most relaxing and enjoyable New Years Eves we're ever had. Thanks, Chris for a warm and wonderful stay!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoulderLyons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 31, 2010

We have stayed at Purple Mountain twice now - Chris is great and friendly and an amazing cook. Breakfast is lovely every day. Chris gives great recommendations for where the colors are best, where you can hike, or where snowshoeing is the best depending on your season. Able to walk everywhere in town from here. Nice hot tub in the back with a fridge available, movies and book around for browsing. We plan on coming back regularly!

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ColoradoGirl80226
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.0 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
746 reviews
2.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
256 reviews
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
248 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
347 reviews
0.3 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#7 of 9 in Crested Butte
139 reviews
0.1 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa

Property: Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa
Address: 714 Gothic Ave, PO Box 1879, Crested Butte, CO 81224-8700
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's exclusive boutique lodging, conveniently located in the heart of downtown. We are a historically modern bed and breakfast featuring six plush rooms, each with its own private bath, perfect for a cozy, authentic experience. In the morning, you will awaken to the aroma of freshly brewed Camp 4 Coffee, a local Crested Butte mountain brew. Daily we offer a gourmet breakfast providing the fuel your body needs to enjoy paradise. Customizing each guest's stay, we work closely with our clientele when recommending and scheduling activities to make your stay truly memorable. In the winter, you may choose to ski, snowboard, snowshoe, and snowmobile, and in the summer, there is endless hiking, biking, jeep tours, fly fishing and golf. Located within walking distance to Elk Avenue, Crested Butte's National Historic District, and the free town bus shuttle to the base area of Mount Crested Butte Resort, Purple Mountain Bed and Breakfast is Crested Butte's premier setting to experience "Colorado's last great ski town". ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Travelocity so you can book your Purple Mountain Lodge Bed & Breakfast and Day Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing