We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fun, funky and yummy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Teocalli Tamale

Teocalli Tamale
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Mexican, Southwestern, Fast Food, Fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Providing fresh, fast, friendly eats with a smile
Colorado Springs, Colorado
Level Contributor
143 reviews
82 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Fun, funky and yummy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013 via mobile

Finding tamales in a Mexican restaurant is pretty rare, but for this place tamales are a regular offering on their menu. It is a tiny place on the main strip but because it was raining when we went, there was still ample seating. The guys behind the service counter were extremely friendly and engaged you in small talk. We had the green chile tamales and they were awesome. Covered in cheese and green chile sauce, two of them made a meal. Along with a couple of beers and chips and salsa, we were surprised at how little it cost. Menu included other offerings like burritos and tacos. The burritos look huge! Highly recommend if you are looking for a casual, laid back place for a quick eat.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kay9040
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

235 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    63
    12
    1
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Menlo Park
Level Contributor
73 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Great tacos!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 9, 2013

This place was great. I had three tacos, one beef, one chix, one pork. All were great, but that beef taco was something else!! The owner offered amazing service, and even offers a discount for people with a gap in their teeth. My daughter was thrilled!! She literally walked out of that place a happier person. I had no idea that she had been teased for the gap in her teeth before, but here, she saved all of us on lunch and felt truly valued. This place has a sense of humor and GREAT FOOD!!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank JP N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
146 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Absolutely our hands down Fav!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 2, 2013

Enthusiastic staff. Great, fresh, authentic Mexican food. Fun atmosphere.
All of the locals were hanging out here!

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DiscriminatingDiva08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great Food, Fun and Funky.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

Since we were there in off-season, it wasn't crowded which I hear is not the normal state of affairs.

The staff was great and patiently guided us through the choices. Being from Texas, we have some pretty decent tacos and tamales ourselves but these were outstanding. I had a couple tacos and a couple tamales and all were great.

Fresh, tasty, well prepared ingredients will satisfy both carnivorous and vegetarian patrons.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank AustinTexasTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Gatos, California
Level Contributor
41 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fast and flavorful”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2013

I got the spicy beef tacos twice in two days and would go back again if we didn't have to leave. Fresh salsas, guacamole and great margaritas completed a perfect quick lunch.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank greatfoodandtravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Teocalli Tamale also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Teocalli Tamale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing