We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Crested Butte institution - thank goodness!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Soupcon Restaurant

Soupcon Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Romantic, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Colorado
Level Contributor
23 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A Crested Butte institution - thank goodness!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2012

Over the past 25 years we've seen many excellent restaurants come and go in CB, but the mainstay for fine dining has been and still is Soupҫon. Don't be fooled by the whimsical name; this is a truly exceptional dining experience in an unpretentious, intimate, quintessentially Colorado mountain setting. From the locally-sourced ingredients to the masterful technique to the crisp white linens to the attentive wait staff, you'll be hard pressed to find a more enjoyable dining experience within a 600 mile-radius.
Reservations can be hard to come by so call well in advance if possible. The waitlist also works - they called us 2 hours in advance on our preferred date to tell us that a table had opened up. They have two seatings, and if you prefer to linger a bit over a cognac or dessert you may be more comfortable at the later seating. Also, the menu changes frequently and those changes may not be updated on their website.
Just go. Enjoy yourself.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank ChairmanoftheBoard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

191 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    161
    17
    9
    3
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Santa Barbara, California
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“special treatment for vegetarians”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2012

A group I was traveling with had made reservations at Soupçon for a midweek dinner. Being a vegetarian, I was a bit skeptical after looking at the menu online, which featured no vegetarian entrees, although the meat dishes were paired with some promising vegetable sides. I was hopeful that the chef could accommodate me and the other two in our party who preferred not to eat meat, so I called the restaurant to find out. The chef himself answered the phone and said that of course he would do his best to make us happy. When we arrived, our waiter brought complimentary amuses bouche to our table, presenting vegan, vegetarian, and meat options -- all delicious. The waiter then took our order, offering a variety of non-meat and non-dairy options. The result was one of the best vegetarian meals of my life, a bit of beautifully textured saffron risotto surrounded by an array of succulent, perfectly prepared vegetables -- bok choy, wild mushrooms, smoked tomatoes, sweet roasted carrots, and airy, bright green, deep fried spinach leaves to give everything a crunchy finish. If you are in Crested Butte and want a fine vegetarian meal, do not miss this restaurant.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank lindsey_1016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bonita Springs, Florida
Level Contributor
487 reviews
265 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 189 helpful votes
“yummy but pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2012

This is a cute little restaurant in a back alley of a cute little town. The view from the windows is awesome (see below), despite the alley location. They grow their own herbs on a side lot. French food is quite good; prices are higher than you might imagine for this town of 2,000. Be sure and make a reservation -- the place was packed, so locals obviously don't care if it's expensive. Check it out!

  • Visited July 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Spoonball
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte
1 review
“AMAZING!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2012

Hands down the best restaurant in CB! Amazing service - amazing food!

  • Visited June 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galveston
Level Contributor
70 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Cooking and presentation at its best”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2012

I won't repeat all the raves; just say that they are all true. Soupcon is owned and operated by Jason Vernon, clearly the best chef in Crested Butte and regular winner of the local "Iron Chef" contest held each year by the Center For The Arts. What hasn't been mentioned much is that Soupcon is such a small bistro, there's no walking in to eat. There are two seatings each night, and reservations are really a must. Additionally, it should be said, this is not a place for small children. The seating is cozy to say the least and you will most certainly get some angry stares from fellow diners if your table includes inappropriate little guests who ought to be eating Mac and Cheese or pizza rather than the wonderful foie gras or beautifully plated fish.

  • Visited February 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Islandtexan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Soupcon Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Soupcon Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing