We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Funky Atmosphere” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secret Stash

Secret Stash
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $20
Cuisines: Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Special occasions, Families with children, Large groups, Bar scene, Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Late Night, Accepts Discover, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Delivery, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: We've moved to a huge new space at 303 Elk Ave right down town. Same great pizza and atmosphere and much shorter wait times (we've tripled our pizza making capacity! Come see why we have been voted Crested Butte's Best Pizza and Wings every year since 2002 when we opened! So you’ve made it to Crested Butte + found the Secret Stash. Good job! Now that you’re here, kick back, relax + chill.You are far away from the hustle and bustle of fast food America. Dining at the Stash is an experience for all the senses, one to be enjoyed to the fullest.We’re not trying to get you in and out as quickly as possible. We’re trying to create a truly memorable dining experience for you, one that stays with you forever.
Florida
Level Contributor
1,146 reviews
598 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 671 helpful votes
“Funky Atmosphere”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2013

We arrived late in Crested Butte and hadn't eaten dinner, so walked up and down the main strip looking for something open. After studying menus of the half dozen places still serving, we decided to peek in the door of Secret Stash because they advertised a salad buffet. The hostess immediately greeted us with "one dollar pizza slices" so we checked it out. The salad buffet was still open at 9:30 p.m. and the very large pizza slices looked good. We ordered one pepperoni slice and another unusual concoction - black bean chipotle paste topped with veggies. Both were excellent.
The salad buffet had a good selection, including black beans and corn - a rare treat. The carrots were a surprise ... they're cooked in curry. Otherwise just good fresh veggies and about a dozen interesting choices of salad dressings.
The atmosphere was very friendly, service was fast. Décor would be best described as hippie-Asian. Techno music played the first half hour we dined and suddenly changed to cowboy western.
Small salads are $7 and large are $10. Pizza slices are normally $3-$3.50. Tap water was good enough that we didn't need to order bottled.
Secret Stash is casual, clean, and comfortable. We'd go back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FancyFree55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

741 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    482
    188
    48
    17
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Salt Lake City, Utah
Level Contributor
47 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Best Pizza in Colorado”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

This is my first stop for dinner every trip to Crested Butte. The pizza is DELICIOUS, and they have any topping you could ever want. The atmosphere of the restaurant is great - so unique. The staff is always friendly and although you should probably make a reservation, once you are seated the service is quick. Definitely stop by if you are in Crested Butte.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jannah D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, CO
Level Contributor
48 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“MMMMac Daddy has moved and it's still awesome!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

We love the Secret Stash and go there as often as we can!! Our favorite pizza The Mac Daddy has since been surmounted by our new favorite - The Hamptons... not sure why we're so into fresh lettuce on our pizza but ooooh boy! Fresh Arugula, Prosciutto, Parmesan, Lemon Pepper Crust - yep tasty goodness!! We tried their new Lasagna and also their new mushroom dish - they're both awesome!

The poor boy special is a great deal if you're in a hurry and light on funds.

As everybody here says - come early or come late - don't come during the dinner rush and don't come hangry! Despite their move and tripling their pizza making capacity there still may be a wait because everybody loves this place - be patient and enjoy the best pizza in the world!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank 3wing
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
2 reviews
“The Secret is out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2013

The Stash is a visual and culinary feast. You can walk right in and eat provided you arrive in mid-afternoon before everyone else in town tries to crowd in. The walls are covered with East Indian/Asian art muddled with Mexican sombreros and the occasional surfboard, and the clutter continues right on into the bathroom stalls, which are definitely worth a gawk. With luck you can sit on cushions at the sunken tables in front while trying to figure out which incredibly creative pizza to order. We were surprised to find that blue cheese, bacon and pineapple could mix with all the other eclectic ingredients and still create the perfect pizza taste, helped by an extremely generous covering of melted cheese. For those who abstain from meat, there are plenty of choices; the fig pizza is particularly nectarous. The Truffle fries are crisply delectable and peppery. Top it off with one of Kyleena's margarita martinis and you will see why it is worth plunging into the dinnertime feeding frenzy.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Level Contributor
71 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“I am not a huge pizza fan, but the pizza here is to die for.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2013

Great choice for pizza. Every imaginable pizza desire can sure be met here. We had everything; cheese pizza for the kids, veggie pizza with gluten free crust, and traditional pepperoni, etc. It was all fabulous. The salad bar was every good as well. We actually ate here twice. Once for dinner and once after a race. We arrived midmorning after the race and had a fabulous piece of cheese pizza and one of the best almond, almond butter smoothies I have ever had. Just wonderful. The new atmosphere can now accommodate large crowds and the interior design is fun. Highly recommend this restaurant...and Crested Butte, of course.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charyl S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Secret Stash also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Secret Stash? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing