We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not recommended”
Review of Izzy's

Izzy's
Ranked #26 of 67 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Brunch, Outdoor Seating, Seating, Takeout
Stone Mountain, Georgia
Level Contributor
97 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
“Not recommended”
Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

Cute little place but we had to wait 51 minutes from the time we ordered. Joe thought the cashier said 15 minute wait not 50 minutes. They have a small griddle so they can only make one order at a time. The wait was a real puzzle since there were not many people there. The French Toast was huge and enough for three people and samples of four different types of bread. It was not tasty and was dry. Joe ate only half of his scrambled eggs which were dried out and had a jalapeño taste to them which he did not order. He rated the eggs a 2 on a scale of 1 to 10. He was not a happy trouper. There was no way that we would ask for a new order since it takes so long to get food. Not recommended at all. Perhaps the locals have better service. What a disappointment after reading the Trip Advisor reviews.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank LEXUSGAL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    23
    9
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Haleiwa, Hawaii
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Best Bagel and worth the wait!”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

Lox bagel big enough for two! It did take a while but when I ordered the staff was having a blast, the customers were all sooo happy and the chef was moving as fast an any good chef does! If you are really hungry and don't think you can wait - wait anyway. Its worth it!

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Jen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
48 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Not as good as it used to be”
Reviewed August 7, 2013

On a trip to CB several years ago we went to Izzy's almost every morning for breakfast. Even though we continue to travel to CB every year, this was our first return trip to Izzy's and I was disappointed. I knew that the wait time could be a little long if there was a line and was happy to see that we were only one of a few couples there. Despite this it still took 15-20 minutes to get our very basic breakfasts of eggs, toast and bacon.
They could also work on reducing their portion sizes. My breakfast was supposed to be two scrambled eggs and it was more like 5 or 6 eggs. The latke filled up half the plate and the toast was 1 inch thick bread. I saw others eating the plate size, 2 inch thick pancakes and having to throw half of it away. Seems like a lot of food being wasted because the serving sizes are just too big.
The building is very small and with so many people waiting in line you are better off taking your food to go.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank smokan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Worth
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“After 15yrs......nope never going back again now”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

Ok it was July 5th morning,busy day previously for the town, we have visited for 15yrs and now have a 2nd home in Mount Crested Butte.
Entertaining our friends in town this week was let down by breckfast here at Izzy's...I never thought we'd review with such bad service here in all our years visiting.
Yes we got good coffee, told our 4 order breckfast which wasn't that huge for 4 adults would be 45 minutes...so we sat out on the back patio.
Time slowly went by with a young lady coming out to ask if we needed coffee refills and us asking how much longer do we wait to eat..."mmmm not sure but I'll check it out"
Well by the time others had come and gone and we still waited patiently, a loud group of younger adults came and sat in the seats beside us on the deck....and to our astonishment a young kitchen help handed one of these guys his loaded breckfast on a plate with the comment from this red headed guy with specticles "oh its so nice to be a local!"...he was lucky I didn't slap him with my coffee!
This tarnished not only our visitors but our visit there to Izzy's again.
Service like this just is the pits if you are going to hand locals and phone orders their food and keep your customers waiting 50 mintues in total.
Yes the food is great..but next time we go to McGILLS for every breckfast from now on even when we do retire to CB!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank l b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lafayette, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Super yummy”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Do not miss the Mexicali latkes- great breakfast spot with a deck by the river. Get there early as the place has limited seating.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Julie K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Izzy's also viewed

Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Izzy's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing