We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Too Much Beef!”
Review of Wooden Nickel

Wooden Nickel
Ranked #32 of 67 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations
Boca Raton, FL
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Too Much Beef!”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I've eaten here twice. The portions are so large that both times I went away with First World guilt. I suppose some people like huge portions, but to me it was excessive. The asparagus was swimming in butter. The French Dip salad couldn't even fit in the bowl.

There was one fabulous part of our meal: the smoked trout appetizer. It was SOOOO delicious, and it could have been dinner for me, maybe with a cup of soup. That's what I order next time.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank BocaJo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

187 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    63
    52
    32
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Solid steak”
Reviewed September 22, 2013 via mobile

We had a big group and everyone had fabulous meals! Chocolate cake is a must! Best ever! Only down fall was they couldn't break down the bill per person.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank WVrunner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sublette, Kansas
Level 6 Contributor
125 reviews
72 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Best steak I've ever had”
Reviewed September 22, 2013

I don't think I've ever eaten a better steak. It was expensive but worth it probably. Fun atmosphere and nice menu. Place was clean and staff was attentive and friendly. Don't expect a low number on your check, but don't expect to be disappointed either.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jasruth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Morrison
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Was Okay”
Reviewed September 4, 2013

My husband had the prime rib and liked it. I had the BBQ pork ribs and they were pretty mediocre. If you like huge portions though - this is the place for you.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank L V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pueblo, Colorado
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Just ok”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

I've been here before but not to eat. They are known for their variety of meats. I would love to try some of them but they're very pricey. Plus, if I'm spending $50+ I'd like a nice atmostphere, here you're basically eating in a bar.

I got the prime rib which was a pretty thick, nice cut. I would get it again. Service was good. Again, a little pricey for eating in a bar but a pretty nice prime rib.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dominic G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wooden Nickel also viewed

 

Been to Wooden Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing