We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Yep, good food but watch the prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wooden Nickel

Wooden Nickel
Ranked #37 of 67 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Bar
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar scene, Local cuisine, Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff
Atlanta
Level Contributor
139 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Yep, good food but watch the prices”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2013

That's true. Rather expensive but good rustic atmosphere and food. The meals are large so consider splitting esp. if you add a house salad. We had the Trout and the Buffalo burger with baked potato. Very good. Good service too.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank havefuntoday14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

180 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    57
    51
    32
    25
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Comfort, Texas
Level Contributor
201 reviews
176 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Good food, but watch the prices”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 4, 2013 via mobile

Two couples, 4 drinks, over $200 seems over the top. Staff was friendly but the food was average for the price. Would I go there again - yes, but I would eat in the bar and watch the $$

Helpful?
Thank Lengwhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Charles, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Elk tenderloin to die for!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2013

But watch out for the wine effects. I had to order an apple pie a la mode before walking back to my room after only one glass. It's true what they say about altitude!

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Louisiana T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
84 reviews
50 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“Fun locals spot”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2013

Our group of 10 people stopped by the Wooden Nickel after a great dinner to grab a night cap. The bartender, Betsy (I think), was very friendly and served a strong cocktail. The town was dead so needless to say we had the bar pretty much to ourselves. This is a fun local spot that would be hopping during the busy season.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank deelovnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
82 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Too Pricey in Comparison”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 6, 2013

We've eaten at the Wooden Nickle on other visits to Crested Butte and always enjoyed it. This time we thought it was good, but not a good value in comparison to other choices in town. In addition, we miss being able to eat in the main dining room. The bar is OK, but there were a number of noisy drinkers at the bar, which somewhat spoils the dining atmosphere.

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
Thank gileslw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wooden Nickel also viewed

 

Been to Wooden Nickel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing