We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relax”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Cristiana Guesthaus
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Relax”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

What a great experience. Laid back, quiet, hospitable. Room was more than adequate and very comfortable. Breakfast was fine. Didn't use the hot tub but it looked inviting.Too bad we could only stay one night...a week's worth of this could be habit forming. And old town is wonderful.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Del O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    75
    28
    7
    3
    0
See reviews for
21
60
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
SF Bay Area
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Received friendly greeting on arrival at this B&B. Room with king bed was adequately equipped but lacked good ventilation - trying to open the one window with a sash resulted in the whole window dropping down. No phone or TV but that did not bother us. Also, the bathroom had practically no shelf space for two people to keep their essentials by the sink. Continental breakfast consisted of cereals, breads, fruit and there are no tables to sit at. Still, we had a restful stay and would recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2012

We loved Cristiana Guesthaus in Crested Butte. The rooms are small with no tv, but very cozy and comfortable. There is a tv in a common room with a fire place that is very nice and it is always nice to speak with other guests from all over the country. The Innkeepers are very friendly and accommodating. The breakfast is wonderful - warm breads and pastries, fresh fruit, yogurt and granola. Very easy to walk to shops and restaurants in downtown Crested Butte. Great value for the money, especially in this area.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NyLbn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Christiana is a modest (not fancy) and pleasant guest house (meaning smaller rooms and a shared living room) that is inviting, warm and friendly. The basic queen bed room is on the small side (I understand why one reviewer was disappointed) with no room for a bed table on one side and minimal storage space. The next night we requested the larger style room with a king bed. It made a big difference. This room was bright, spacious and luxurious for very little extra cost. So I recommend you just start with the bigger room.

There is a pleasant hot tub, but it has a roof over it , depriving me of the main reason to sit in a hot tub at two miles high - looking at the stars. I assume it is easier to maintain in winter with a roof. By the way, you can use it before 10AM if you want - just ask them to open it.
The staff at Christiana were fabulous and they helped visitors with whatever they needed. They helped us choose day hikes and gave accurate information. They helped someone else figure how to rent a truck and some mountain bikes and find a trail (a cool idea since our rental compact could not handle some of the dirt roads). They are located right in town so we walked to dinner and there is a nice porch to have morning coffee in the bright sun. Breakfast was an excellent continental style breakfast with tasty pastries, granola and yogurt. All this in a heavenly location for a very reasonable price. We recommend it.

Room Tip: Only get the small room if you are comfortable with minimal space. It was clean and bright.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pegnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
el Paso, Texas
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2012

The hotel lobby has a lovely fireplace and was a great place to sit and visit. There was also an upstairs common area which opens onto a small deck outside with tables and chairs affording a beautiful view. Our room was a good size with space to store our suitcases and hang up our clothes. It was very clean and quiet, beds very comfortable. We didn't use the hot tub, but others in our group did and said the temperature was great and commented on the wonderful feel of the cool mountain air and the warm water. We loved the buffet style breakfast: two kinds of muesli, plain yoghurt, milk, juice, fruit, and the homemade baked goods were delicious and different every morning. I would go back just to have the chocolate filled croissants! There were cookies (homemade again) in the afternoon and the self serve coffee and tea was available all the time. I liked that the teabags never ran out. (You know how the kind you want is always gone? Didn't happen here!) Innkeepers were pleasant and helpful. We stayed here four nights and would return in a heartbeat. Overall, a very pleasant place to stay and a great value in Crested Butte. .

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lpaso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lenexa, Kansas
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and I typically stay in B&Bs when traveling. It was our first visit to Crested Butte, CO. We were there to see our new granddaughter. Our first B&B choice was not available on our dates of visit, so we selected the Cristiana Guesthaus based on Tripadvisor reviews. It felt more like a cheap motel than a B&B. The room was the smallest I have ever stayed in, not much bigger than the queen-sized bed in it. Little room for luggage and no place for hanging clothes. There was nothing to sit on other than the bed. The window was partly open when we checked in at 4 PM which was fine. We were out for the evening and when we returned at about 10 PM and entered the room it was uncomfortably cold. There was a rheostat on the wall that could be turned to warmer or cooler, but did nothing when adjusted. I went to the front desk and rang for the innkeeper. I asked her how to adjust the heat in the room and she informed me that there was no way to do so as the rooms had no heat or air conditioning, but they kept the place at 72 degrees. I let her know that it was much colder than 72 in our room. She got me a blanket for the bed (we needed it).

So we ended up in an overly small room with an average bed (and bedding) and no other place to sit, no TV and no room temperature control, the wireless internet service did not work while we were there, and lastly, the rooms were quite noisy when people moved around the room above us or when kids were running back and forth in the hallways.

On the plus side, the lobby area had a fireplace and was cozy and the innkepers served fresh pastries in the morning along with coffee and juice (although watery). They also served fresh-baked cookies around 4 in the afternoon (although they were limited). The hot tub area appeared to be nice, but the hours of operation did not fit our needs.

I do not know about the other rooms, maybe they were larger and better. I do know that this is the poorest excuse for a B&B that my wife and I have ever stayed in. I would suggest potential vacationers check with the innkeepers about their needs and expectations before reserving a room (also note that there is a 7-day leeway required to cancel your stay without potentially being charged for the room).

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
denver
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 5, 2012

Clean rooms, bathrooms and very comfortable beds. Perfect healthy breakfast. Nice sitting areas inside and out. We did not use the hot tub, but it we will try it next time. Very nice people that make you feel like you are visiting them for the weekend vs. staying in a hotel. The price point is manageable. We will visit again!

Room Tip: We wear ear plugs at home as well as in hotels so we don't know the noise level, but I think it...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denver45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
746 reviews
2.2 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
256 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
248 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Town Inn
Old Town Inn
#6 of 9 in Crested Butte
115 reviews
2.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Cristiana Guesthaus? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Cristiana Guesthaus

Property: Cristiana Guesthaus
Address: 621 Maroon Ave., P.O. Box 427, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Cristiana Guesthaus 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Enjoy the ambiance of a European alpine lodge with a relaxed, friendly atmosphere. Located in the Historic District of Crested Butte, one block from the free ski shuttle and close to downtown. Our 21 comfortable rooms have phones and wireless internet access and private, recently renovated bathrooms with hair dryers. The pillowtop beds are furnished with triple sheeted duvets and down pillows. We offer a choice of either smaller reasonably priced rooms with one queen bed, or more spacious rooms with one king bed or one queen and one double bed. To enhance the feeling of relaxation our rooms do not have televisions although there is a TV in the upstairs sitting area. Start each day with our hearty homemade continental breakfast served fireside in our cozy lobby; and after your day's activities unwind in our outdoor hot tub or sauna. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Cancelon so you can book your Cristiana Guesthaus reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing