We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Stay in Pioneer Guest Cabins - Crested Butte”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Certificate of Excellence
Wolfheze, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great Stay in Pioneer Guest Cabins - Crested Butte”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2012

Great Place to stay, we were there for one week. Cabin (Red Fox) was a bit older but clean with wooden fire place. Scenery is beautiful & nearby Crested Butte a nice town to visit for shopping. Matt & Leah are friendly hosts and helpfull. Wifi in the office is real fast!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Robin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    152
    15
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
56
86
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Longmont, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2012

If you are looking for a memorable Colorado experience (whether you live here or not) don't miss Pioneer Guest Cabins. We have stayed in many of the cabins, as a couple and with friends, and each one has been clean, cozy, comfortable, and romantic with just the right amount of rustic charm. The cabins have everything you need to cook complete meals, the property is peaceful and quiet, and the surroundings are magnificent! You can hike and snowshoe from your cabin, and if you want to go into Crested Butte it’s just a few miles away. One of the reviews mentioned the owner’s dog, but after coming to Pioneer for many years, I respectfully disagree with this review. The dogs who live on the property have always been friendly, gentle and not at all bothersome. You will not be disappointed if you visit Pioneer!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Amy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
OKC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2012

We have stayed at several cabins/resorts in the Gunnison/Crested Butte area, but this was our first time at Pioneer Guest Cabins. It certainly will not be the last. The Wildrose Cabin was clean and cozy with a very comfortable bed and a warm seating area by the fire. The furnishings were "rustic charm". The cabins are nicely separated with trees and are private. The views are great right outside the cabins, but walk a mile or two up Cement Creek and they even get better. The cabins are close to several great hiking trails and cross-country/snowshoeing in winter months. The owners give you access to games, books, movies, etc 24 hours a day. You can bury yourself in nature or take a short drive to Crested Butte for other activities. It is a great cabin at a great resort in a great place!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CatOKCOkc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2012

If youre looking for the perfect little log cabin in the moutains this is it. We stayed in the Sunshine cabin which was adorable. For us, it was the perfect combination of "rusticness" with all the necessary comforts. The snowshoeing was amazing with some of the best views I've seen in Colorado. Walrod trailhead is just up the road. Matt the owner(?) is friendly and helpful, and their dog Kita a delight. I cant say enough good things about the cabin. It was our first trip and will definitely return in the summer months for another great experience. If youre the outdoorsy, naturey type you will absolute love it. Quite, peaceful, rustic, charming, private, but only a 15 min drive into Crested Butte.

Room Tip: Sunshine cabin was great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nicole G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2012

First off, great property was doubletop cabin, truly without equal in my experience. Secondly, not everyone sees dog-friendly lodging a bonus. The owners dogs run around unattended, trying to sniff your butt and jump up at you at every turn. There were dog hairs on our items when we left. Thirdly, there is a long list of things they will charge you additional for on the fridge, which is tacky and unwelcoming at that price point, one of which was the property must be left in the state it was found, basically carte blanche authority to charge you extra. I would have given them 4/5 rating if dogs, no matter to whom they belong, were not allowed to roam unattended, and some accommodations were not pet friendly, which is reasonable to expect from any lodging.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ColoEng
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado Springs, Colorado
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 28, 2011

Our family loves it here! In 2010 we stayed at Oh be Joyful & this December at Cottonwood. We needed to drive a few minutes up Cement Creek for cross country skiing since this year the snow was spotty right from the cabin. Jotul woodstove cranks out the heat and there is a back up gas stove for when you are out or overnight so it the cabin does not become too chilly. We are very comfortable & appreciate being "unplugged" in this special place. Our boys (ages 8 & 11) really appreciate coming here. We hope to come every year at the holidays. We have yet to visit during the warmer weather but the mountain biking & fly fishing must be fantastic. The hosts are available & attentive but are also not at all in your space - it is very private.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mmgully
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Holly, North Carolina
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 26, 2011

We spent about a week searching for a cabin in CO that fit what we were looking for when it comes to the balance between rustic and comfortable. Pioneer Guest Cabins was one of our first choices but we kept searching for days just to make sure. We always came back to Pioneer and their excellent web site with great pictures, descriptions and easily navigated site.

The cabins are situated in the woods next to Cement Creek less than 7 miles from Crested Butte and less than a mile from Crested Butte South (small community with a general store for any forgotten supplies).

We arrived after 7pm do to a 5 hour drive from Hayden/Yampa Airport on several back country roads, but were delighted to have a a note on the office door with our cabin key and instructions. We arrived in our cabin, "Homestead", which had been dimly light and already heated by the quaint gas fireplace. It was perfect!

After settling in we headed to Crested Butte for dinner at "The Secret Stash" for a gourmet pizza and a few beers. Back at the cabin we settled in for a cozy and comfortable nights sleep in a surprisingly solid and draft free cabin, which is amazing considering it was built in the 1930's. The sheets and towels were fresh and clean and the kitchen had everything we needed to prepare most meals. The cabin is small and the bathroom is tiny, but it was perfect for two people and a dog. We didn't use the second bedroom except to put our clothes and such, but another close couple or a child (or two) would be fine sleeping there.

The next day we meet with Matt (the owner) and settle up on the bill and got a lot of useful information about places to eat in town, trials to hike right from the cabin as well as were to get any supplies for the cabin right there in the office if it was late or the owners were not home.

We headed back to Crested Butte for a wonderful breakfast at Paradise Cafe then to Mountain Earth Whole Foods for supplies for our dinner on the camp fire later that night.
After a lil window shopping in town we headed back to Pioneer for a steep hike that begins from the just behind the cabin to a trail that took about an hour and a half to the old warming house on top of the mountain left over from the old ski resort that existed on the property in the mid to late 1930's.

That night we prepared a fire on the private fire pit in front of the cabin along side the cement creek, which was a perfect setting for couples, friends and families alike. The site and cabin are semi private with about 75 to 100 yards between most cabins, but you really feel like your out in the woods, but not so separated from civilization that your alienated. The owners are very accommodating and friendly, including their two dogs, "Kita" and "Toby".

We could not have asked for a more pleasurable place to stay and would recommend it to anyone. I know we'll be back!

Room Tip: We only were in our cabin "Homestead", but could tell from the outside that the other cabi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Kyle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
7.9 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
8.0 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.9 mi away
Three Rivers Resort
Three Rivers Resort
#1 of 1 in Almont
4.5 of 5 bubbles 110 reviews
8.1 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
7.7 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#3 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pioneer Guest Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pioneer Guest Cabins

Property: Pioneer Guest Cabins
Address: 2094 County Road 740, Crested Butte, CO 81224-9605
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Pioneer Guest Cabins 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
8 cabins surrounded by the Gunnison National Forest with Cement Creek running through the property. Just a 15 minute drive to Crested Butte. Cabins feature fully equipped kitchens, baths, fireplaces and all linens and firewood provided. Outside cabins are picnic tables, grills, firerings and adirondack style chairs. Snowshoe and xc ski trails out your door in the winter and hike and mountain bike in the summer. Pet and kid friendly. Open year round. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Pioneer Guest Cabins reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pioneer Guest Cabins Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing