We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect weekend!”
Review of The Nordic Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Nordic Inn
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We recently stayed at the Nordic Inn and had the most amazing experience. Kim and her husband were warm and welcoming, even spending time with us over breakfast to help us plan what hikes to do that day. The room was very clean and comfortable. Every detail of the Inn felt cozy and my husband and I instantly felt at home. We will certainly be return guests.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Courtney A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (373)
There are newer reviews for The Nordic Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

314 - 320 of 373 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2013

The staff called us the day of our arrival to provide directions. Upon arrival, we were greeted with lemonade and friendly faces. Don't let the hotel facade fool you; inside the hotel is beautiful--modern with a mountain touch. Clean hot tob, nice grounds, and then the exterior starts to grow on you. Cozy room with one of the most comfortable beds I have ever slept in. The Nordic Inn staff have excellent suggestions for hiking, dining, and all things Crested Butte.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LewiandAl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 5, 2013

My girlfriends and I wanted a weekend away and decided Crested Butte was the final destination. While in the lobby for breakfast, we were greeted by the owners who sat and talked to us, recommended places to eat and hike, and were so friendly and accommodating. They waited up for us to arrive till after midnight! I would definitely go back!

Room Tip: They were redoing all of the rooms while we were there, so while we were in one of the dated rooms...
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kskattebo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 2, 2013

The Nordic Inn was a pleasure to stay at over the long Memorial Day weekend. The rooms were very comfortable, bordering on luxurious - though on the smaller side. The intent of the small room is to make you feel comfortable while in them, but encouraging you to explore all of what Crested Butte has to offer. I only wish there was seating on the upper balcony to relax with a glass of wine or just to sit and really take in the incredible view from the Inn.

The weather was impeccable, which lead to a want/need to be outdoors as much as possible. The Innkeeper Kim was well versed in the surrounding trails that were no longer snow packed this early in the season. I went for a hike on the Snodgrass Trail and the Lower Loop Trail, both recommended by Kim.

The Snodgrass Trail (7 miles round trip) is a moderate hike that starts with an uphill climb that is immediately rewarded by spectacular views and a moderate walk through a woodsy area. It was a great workout - the only downside was the number of mountain bikers sharing the trail - I would recommend getting an early start to avoid the bulk of the bikers which seemed to hit the trail between 11am - 1pm. Don't forget your camera!

The Lower Loop Trail (not sure of distance, walked out for an hour and then back - could have gone further though) is a very easy walk along the local river. Pretty views which are pretty much around every turn in Crested Butte and enough shady areas to make the walk very pleasant. There is a "restricted parking" area closer to the trail head that we didn't park in, but everyone else on the planet did - I would recommend parking there and ignoring the "restricted parking" sign. Don't forget your camera!

The continental breakfast at the Inn is light and convenient, which was great for my long hike day. If you are looking for a more hearty breakfast head into town to Izzy's which is in an alley, but totally worth it! They are known for the latkes and are included in just about every dish they serve. Kim will be able to direct you on Izzy's location. Brick Oven Pizza (recommended by Kim) is also a great place to grab a seat on the patio, have a beer and people watch (the pizza is pretty good too!) The shops in town were a little disappointing - Estes Park and Breckenridge have much better shopping. The poor shopping only made me want to relax more - which was the goal of the mini-vacation.

A very pleasant stay at the Nordic Inn and Kim really made me feel comfortable in my surroundings. I was by myself for the first night and felt completely safe at the Nordic Inn as well as in Crested Butte town. I will go back again someday for sure! Regards, EllenT.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Zadia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Just returned from our weekend away in Crested Butte and couldn't have asked for a better place to stay. The location is amazing, with close proximity to the mountain, as well as a 2 minute walk down to the bottom of the ski village where you can catch a bus into town that runs throughout the day and late into the night! The Nordic Inn is charming and comfortable. We brought our two pups with us and they felt just as welcome as we were. Kim is very accommodating and very enjoyable to be around. She remembers your names, asks what you did and if you need recommendations, etc. Feels like we've known her many years even though we just met. If you are looking for a cozy, inviting place to stay within reach of anything you need-this is the place!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Lindsay T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 23, 2013

I have yet to even stay at the Nordic Inn and Kim has made me feel at home and has saved my little mini vacation. I purchased a Groupon, so not even a full rate customer and she went out of her way to help me out.

I had some unexpected scheduling conflicts with my weekend excursion and started to freak out a bit internally. Kim was able to help me change my reservation which in turn kept me calm and made it a very easy process. Her relaxed demeanor helped me continue my day without being flustered.

Thanks Kim!! We look forward to our stay!

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 9, 2013 via mobile

Job well done with the renovations!

However, the service was what makes me want to come back. Kim is an amazing owner operator...she's definitely real, down to earth and hospitable. Taylor did a great job during breakfast and check out.

Charming, charming, charming!

What an excellent home away from home!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ChelleBinLuvs2Travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
0.3 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
799 reviews
0.2 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Elk Mountain Lodge
Elk Mountain Lodge
#4 of 9 in Crested Butte
250 reviews
2.6 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
2.3 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
124 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Nordic Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Nordic Inn

Address: 14 Treasury Rd, Crested Butte, CO 81225
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: $153 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Nordic Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Nordic Inn is a part of Colorado skiing history... a Crested Butte original.Only 500 yards from the lifts at the base of Mt. Crested Butte. The Nordic Inn is truly a slice of nostalgia from the early days of skiing in Colorado and now represents a part of Mt. Crested Butte's history from its colorful early days. The feeling of the classic past meets present day with luxury accommodations, amenities, and services of a contemporary boutique bed & breakfast hotel. The Inn is the longest operating lodge in the county. Owner managed by Mark and Gill who are known for their genuine hospitality, sense of humor, and personal connection with their guests. Beautiful renovations combined with the charm of the original hotel make this mountain inn an unforgettable one-of-a-kind experience. Begin each morning in the warmth of the breakfast room with a wholesome continental breakfast to start your mountain adventure. After a day of playing hard, you are welcomed back to a roaring fire in the hotel's great room where you can relax, socialize, play games, or just take in the amazing views of Mt. Crested Butte. The Nordic Inn features a range of room types from a basic lodge room to luxury custom accommodations. The Nordic Inn is the perfect location in both summer and winter to enjoy all that is special about Crested Butte ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your The Nordic Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Nordic Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing