We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“TERRIBLE SERVICE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel
Reviewed July 17, 2013

The facility is very nice, clean and convenient, however the service is TERRIBLE. Some college age puke by the name of Ryan appearently thought the place was called a HOSTILE. Every interaction with this kid was unpleasant and rude. It seemed I, as a paying customer, was an interruption of his napping, biking and smoking time. As a specific example, I asked for some clean bath towels. Ryans response was something to the effect of "dude, this is a hostel, we don't service the rooms, you have to tell me what you want." Evidently, standing at the "service desk" requesting towels wasn't adiquate notification for him. The town is lovely, but I got this attitude from many in this community. It seems as if paying customers, ie; tourists, are unwelcome. I am a Colorado native and grew up in a tourist town too. I know it can be frustrating waiting for the first snow and the last tourist, but employees are paid to put aside their desires and serve the customers in front of them. I will gladly take my dollars to Salida, Buena Vista, Cripple Creek or any of the other more welcoming communities in our great state. By the way, I am a top rated customer service agent for one of the worlds largets auto companies; regarding customer service, I am an undisputed authority.

Room Tip: Make sure the hallway light is left on at night so you don't tumble down the stairs in the dark.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 42 of 50 reviews

Reviewed June 29, 2013

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed April 2, 2013

Own room in the hostel for $61/night (tax included). The room was small, but clean. Very nicely furnished common area with large kitchen. Looks to be great for families. Met some nice people there, which is perhaps the best feature of hostels. Recommended.

Stayed: October 2012, traveled solo
2  Thank mikek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2013

I stayed in the crested butte hostel in late november, before the snow. the hostel was virtually empty so it felt like i had it all to myself. The town of Crested Butte is great but not much to do if you are there before the snow. I think the hostel itself would be a bit crowded when full but it would be one of the cheapest options in town. The kitchen and lounge and washrooms are good and Susan, behind the front desk, was very helpful and friendly. she knows alot about Crested Butte.
Overall i had a good stay.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was my very first experience staying in a hostel, and I was pleased. The staff was courteous and helpful, the bathrooms were extremely clean and the sleeping quarters provided adequate space. I enjoyed visiting with the other guests. I would definitely stay here again.

A couple suggestions:
1) Common kitchen area: in respect to labeling individual food items and having them cleaned out upon expiration - in order to have this happen the necessary supplies must be on hand (sharpie pen, tape ....) and the staff (housekeeping) would need to check the refrigerator contents on a regular basis.
2) Sleeping quarters - there was plenty of blank wall space where hooks could be put in place for hanging jackets, backpacks etc.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CSK12357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place was decent. The staff was friendly and offered some trail suggestions. The kitchen was large and well stocked. I would say the bathrooms and rooms could use a better cleaning job. There was hair and dirt all over my blanket which I don't believe gets cleaned between stays. The bathrooms were large, but the cleanest place. I've stayed in many hostels around the world and this one was a little pricey for what you get. We paid $95 for a private room with 3 of us in it. Most other hostels are cheaper and some even offer a small breakfast or at least coffee/tea. It is definitely an economical choice for the town of Crested Butte, but still not cheap. If you want cheap, then camp and just pay for a shower at the hostel after a day out on the trails.

I did like you could walk into the town for the shops and restaurants. It is a great town with beautiful scenery. There is also a bus that will take you into town or over to the ski area.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed one night at this hostel while doing Fall photography late September. My bunk room was clean, comfortable and had six beds in our room. Since I was there off season, the hostel wasn't crowded and I had only one roommate. The common area is just wonderful with a huge kitchen and living room complete with TV and free wireless internet. The staff was helpful and friendly, making me feel welcomed. The hostel is within walking distance to the town center. There is a laundrymate next door. What a deal in a resort town.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Photog4funn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
7.2 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
275 reviews
7.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
820 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.7 mi away
Three Rivers Resort
Three Rivers Resort
#1 of 1 in Almont
143 reviews
7.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
656 reviews
1.8 mi away
Pioneer Guest Cabins
Pioneer Guest Cabins
#1 of 15 in Crested Butte
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel

Address: 615 Teocalli Rd, PO Box 1332, Crested Butte, CO 81224-9759
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range: $64 - $129 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, Priceline, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crested Butte International Lodge And Hostel
Crested Butte International Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing