We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“First timer”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel
Plano, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“First timer”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2012

This was my very first experience staying in a hostel, and I was pleased. The staff was courteous and helpful, the bathrooms were extremely clean and the sleeping quarters provided adequate space. I enjoyed visiting with the other guests. I would definitely stay here again.

A couple suggestions:
1) Common kitchen area: in respect to labeling individual food items and having them cleaned out upon expiration - in order to have this happen the necessary supplies must be on hand (sharpie pen, tape ....) and the staff (housekeeping) would need to check the refrigerator contents on a regular basis.
2) Sleeping quarters - there was plenty of blank wall space where hooks could be put in place for hanging jackets, backpacks etc.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CSK12357
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    16
    8
    4
    1
See reviews for
7
9
17
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (8)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Westminster, Colorado
Level Contributor
86 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

This place was decent. The staff was friendly and offered some trail suggestions. The kitchen was large and well stocked. I would say the bathrooms and rooms could use a better cleaning job. There was hair and dirt all over my blanket which I don't believe gets cleaned between stays. The bathrooms were large, but the cleanest place. I've stayed in many hostels around the world and this one was a little pricey for what you get. We paid $95 for a private room with 3 of us in it. Most other hostels are cheaper and some even offer a small breakfast or at least coffee/tea. It is definitely an economical choice for the town of Crested Butte, but still not cheap. If you want cheap, then camp and just pay for a shower at the hostel after a day out on the trails.

I did like you could walk into the town for the shops and restaurants. It is a great town with beautiful scenery. There is also a bus that will take you into town or over to the ski area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Heather R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2011

I stayed one night at this hostel while doing Fall photography late September. My bunk room was clean, comfortable and had six beds in our room. Since I was there off season, the hostel wasn't crowded and I had only one roommate. The common area is just wonderful with a huge kitchen and living room complete with TV and free wireless internet. The staff was helpful and friendly, making me feel welcomed. The hostel is within walking distance to the town center. There is a laundrymate next door. What a deal in a resort town.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Photog4funn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
144 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

Do not use the ground floor disabled room too noisey. Freezer machinery from adjacent kitchen run & rumble all night. Images on web 5 Aug 11 site are correct but exagerated. There is 2 Toecalli roads..the hostel is in the town not in the outer suburb. Good kitchen. Car aprking outside. Could walk to shops, cafes which are not too exciting - in early June many were closed. A quiet town in first week of June - not a lot to do. Chairlift for summer starts 4th July.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janellesteve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westminster, CO
Level Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 15, 2010

Just returned from a CO road trip that we tried to make affordable. Did some camping in other towns, but while in Crested Butte decided to try this hostel. It was GREAT! The shared unisex bathrooms and private room were very comfortable and very clean. There is a big common room on the main floor with a television, several large tables and a full kitchen. We chose to eat our breakfast at the hostel to save a little money--and then were able to find many reasonably priced restaurants in town. The location of the hostel is PERFECT! We rode our bikes or walked into town daily, the hostel is just blocks away from many hiking, biking trails, and parks. What a perfect place to stay when trying to save a little money--and have a great location!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mojo6170
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loma Linda, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2010

I stayed in a private room at the hostel, which was about three times the price of a dorm-style room. The room was a good value in a resort area, and the rooms and bathroom were reasonably clean (could have been better). The facility was quite at night, included free wi-fi, laundry facility next door, kitchen facilities, BBQ, and a very helpful front desk staff. Overall, it was a very adequate place to stay while mountain biking in the area for several days.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 7kcab150
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, OH
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2009

I have been coming to CB for 15 years, and my parents have been visiting since the late 60's. Housing is far from a bargain in this town, but when you consider the ammenites the town has to offer, we keep coming back. My fiancée an I were in town planning our wedding for next fall and to hike. Given that our trip was planning on how to spend our money next fall, our goal for this short wknd excursion was to stay cheap. We stayed in the first floor private bath room and found it to be adequate. If the bedspread and shower curtain were newer, this room would be excellent. We did not see the mold in the shower as one of the other reviewers claimed. There was dark tile and dark grout, but no mold. There was a little bit on the shower curtain, however I didn't consider it to be a big issue. Considering some of the hostels I have stayed at in Europe, the was really clean. There is a considerable fan noise adjacent to the room, however it never bothered our sleeping.

Yes, it is more expensive than comparably equipped hostels in other parts of the country (or world) however it is probably the most affordable housing option in Crested Butte.

  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Scrupulous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
7.1 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 738 reviews
7.1 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.5 of 5 bubbles 255 reviews
18.7 mi away
The Inn at Tomichi Village
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.2 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 614 reviews
6.4 mi away
Forest Queen Hotel
Forest Queen Hotel
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1 reviews
7.3 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
5.0 of 5 bubbles 339 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel

Property: Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel
Address: 615 Teocalli Rd, PO Box 1332, Crested Butte, CO 81224-9759
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 15 Specialty Lodging in Crested Butte
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:1.5 star — Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel 1.5*
Number of rooms: 52
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crested Butte International Lodge & Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crested Butte International Lodge And Hostel
Crested Butte International Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing