We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bartender Craftsmen”

Montanya Distillers
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $9 - $14
Cuisines: American
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night
Description: Montanya Distillers offers locally made rum cocktails, a delicious selection of locally-made appetizers including Colorado Goat Cheese, Colorado-made fried ravioli with basil, tomato and balsamic reduction, Warm Dips with chips made in house, Seared Polenta, Filet Mignon Tips, Cheese platters, and more. Check out our menu of exceptional Artisan Rum cocktails featuring Montanya rums made right here in our distillery in Crested Butte, CO.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Bartender Craftsmen”
Reviewed July 25, 2014 via mobile

I am not typically a fan of rum or the sickly sweet cocktails it goes with, but after visiting this distillery/bar/restaurant I may be a convert. The service was incredible, the rum was excellent, and the cocktails even better! They test, experiment, and come up with NEW recipes and combinations on a weekly basis. It's hard to find a venue that promotes and fosters creativity. If you haven't visited yet, you are missing out.

Helpful?
Thank Glen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

184 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    141
    32
    10
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Boulder, Colorado
Level Contributor
55 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Rum drinks extraordinaire”
Reviewed July 24, 2014

All of the rum drinks we tasted here were terrific - we tried the Mojito, the Maharaja martini, and the Pina Colada (over 3 different evenings!) On your first visit they even give you samples of their 2 different types of rum so you can taste them straight. Since it was summer, we enjoyed their darling little patio where you get a great view of the action on the main street in town. It was a great spot for a pre-dinner drink after a hard day on the trails. Yummy rum!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Karmalita
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arvada, Colorado
Level Contributor
135 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great Rum Drinks”
Reviewed July 22, 2014

This is a must stop place to go when in Crested Butte. They have the best gold rum. Thier drink menu will blow you away. Their drinks are work every penny, as they are not shy with the amount of rum they put in your drink. We love sitting at the bar and watching them make all the great drinks they have. You can purchase bottle to take home, which is well worth the value and something to savor when your home. We have been to Crested Butte 3 times now and this is definetly on our list.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Karen G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Ohio
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Heidi is amazing!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Best drink I have ever had! Come have a fabulous Maharaja! Great atmosphere and Heidi the bartender rocks! House made rum and fresh ingredients.

Helpful?
Thank Angela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
151 reviews
83 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“A great, unexpected afternoon”
Reviewed July 9, 2014

This was a fun find and a highlight of our trip. Our visit in Crested Butte was to hike but due to a knee injury we were adapting. We found ourselves under the trees (in back) of this place on a lovely sunny day. They gave us free samples of the 2 rums they make. Both good. Feeling adventuresome, we got the Maharaja and the Blue Smoke, among others. OMG! My wife (not a rum drinker) and I thought this was one of the best cocktails we have EVER had. Many days later we are craving it and will try to make one. The chocolate rum balls were also excellent. Karen, the owner, gave us tour upstairs of the setup. Very nice.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Houston_Eriol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Montanya Distillers also viewed

 

Been to Montanya Distillers? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing