We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good Nepali food”
Review of Sherpa Cafe

Sherpa Cafe
Ranked #31 of 68 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $8 - $14
Cuisines: Nepali
Restaurant details
Boulder, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
94 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really good Nepali food”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

If you want to support a great local business and like a touch of the exotic, you can't beat Sherpa's Cafe in both Gunnison and Crested Butte. The owner is a Sherpa transplant who still guides Westerners on trips to his home country Nepal. He is delightful to talk to and very informative. He and his family cook, serve and entertain guests with the wonderful simple flavors of Nepal cooking that combined are a treat and a true break from hamburgers and fries. I had the good fortune of discovering and stopping at Pemba's place in Gunnison on my way to our family Ranch in SW Colorado. I sat in the shade outside and had a great lunch and shared my past trips (3) to Nepal and learned about Pemba's upcoming guided trips planned. You can't find a more hospitable people than the Nepalis and Pemba and his family serve delicious Nepali food with a true Sherpa flair. Don't miss it.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BolderK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

69 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    20
    5
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Richmond Hill
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Surprisingly tasty!”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

Locally I've tried Tibetan/Nepali (?) food, and I'm impressed by its richness in taste and complexity. Seeing a similar restaurant in Gunnison, CO made for an experiment in a far off place from home. I was NOT disappointed. The quality and quantity justified a slightly higher price for the Vindaloo lamb. It was tender, tasty, and I wanted more after finishing the sumptuous plate. The staff were super friendly and accommodating; never intrusive. A definite surprise 3000km from home!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Melimar97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level Contributor
43 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“A little gem”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The food at Sherpa is very good and if you are vegetarian this is the place. We had quite a few dishes and were very happy with the food. The place is not fancy but clean and the staff very friendly.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parcells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma, United States
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tastes Like Home..”
Reviewed July 19, 2013

The saag was awesome....could have been hotter-temperature. The naan was good. The Nepalese chili had meat which was dry but the vegetables were very tasty. We had ordered beef and lamb. Could not tell which was which, we left it. Service was very good and friendly. I would go there again. Cannot remember name of our other dish which had chicken and veggies in a light orange-colored sauce-it was very good.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gunnison, Colorado
1 review
“Very Healthy and Natural”
Reviewed June 24, 2013

I am in love with this place. The atmosphere was very friendly and nice people. I had lots of choices, but I got the best one "Jal Frezzi". I went to the kitchen to see the tandoori oven. All the ingredients in kitchen was natural. It was all turmeric, cumin, coriander, cloves, cardamom,cinnamon and many other green vegetables. Very nice naan bread. I just love it. Come here to eat healthy food.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TIna_Costello19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sherpa Cafe also viewed

 
Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Sherpa Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing