We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good, but not the best that Crested Butte has to offer”

More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This trail offers moderate conditions and is very scenic.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Good, but not the best that Crested Butte has to offer”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 12, 2014

When you are surrounded by some of the most beautiful natural landscapes this country has to offer, it is hard to say that the Upper/Upper Upper loops are the best. They are perfect for anyone looking for a day walk around Mt. Crested Butte that is easily accessible and not to difficult of terrain. The Skyland Boulders is a wonderful spot for bouldering and the views are the town are fabulous. But it comparison to say hikes out to West Maroon Pass or the Mill Castle Trail up to Storm Pass, the Upper/Upper Upper loops fall short. If you are looking for wilderness and adventure that will challenge you but leave you breathless, this is not the trail for you.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank EmilyJane42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    23
    9
    2
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
58 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Absolute peaceful beauty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 21, 2013

It was fall break so there wasn't anything going on in CB.... just the way we like it! It gives you a chance to be alone on the trails and soak in all the beauty. Wear layers in the fall because it can change temps with the winds and the fronts. The aspen trees were almost whispering to us as we walked along!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Mkctulsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warren NJ
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fun ride!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2013

Our son took us on the Lower Loop with our mountain bikes. What a beautiful trail. We managed with only a couple of stops to catch our breath (or walk) as us East Coasters need to get use to the altitude!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KCM828
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
139 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“Nice Trail”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

Good for beginner mountain bikers, but no cake walk! The trails get narrow and rocky but not too steep. Beautiful scenery and cows staring at you as you ride by.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank havefuntoday14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crested Butte, Colorado
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Fun hike for visitors and children”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

Here is what we do: We park at car at the country club and then drive up to the trail head at Mt. CB. Then everyone hikes (gentle downhill) to the country club and has lunch out on the veranda. It is an easy hike for beginners and young kids.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynthia S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Upper Loop/Upper Upper Loop also viewed

Crested Butte, CO
Crested Butte, CO
 

Been to Upper Loop/Upper Upper Loop? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing