We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“breakfast greatness”
Review of McGill's

McGill's
Ranked #16 of 67 Restaurants in Crested Butte
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: American, Cafe, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Families with children, Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Colorado
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“breakfast greatness”
Reviewed August 9, 2012

this is an old-fashioned morning spot. Counters and tables with some of the best breakfast and lunch offerings around. This place knows how to make big portions and the best hash brown potatoes in town.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Larry6547
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

193 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    100
    61
    23
    5
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Colorado Springs, Colorado, United States
Level Contributor
80 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Unbelievable poor service and food”
Reviewed August 4, 2012

We asked a local on the street to recommend a good place where we could perhaps get a veggie burger. This was her recommendation. Not sure what was going on with the restaurant or our server, Amber-according to our receipt, but this was the worse food and service we have ever had. They did have a veggie burger on the menu but it took an extremely long time for the food to arrive. There were very few other people in the restaurant and what appeared to be plenty of wait staff. Our server did not ask if we would like anything, other than water, to drink, never offered to refill our water, did not check back to see if we needed anything, did not bring the bill. We had to go to the register and wait for her to finally notice us and come to check us out. This was the first time in years that we did not leave a tip. The decor is appropriate for the type of restaurant but it needs a good cleaning. I really hate to give such a poor review but this was our experience. We will never try McGill's again.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GlendaS260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Awesome Breakfast, a little slow service”
Reviewed July 29, 2012 via mobile

The food was great. Our 2 year old was not disruptive, so it's kid friendly. It gets a little crowded later, so go before 8 am for breakfast. We really liked all the food. The service was very nice, just a bit slow.

Helpful?
Thank D2Dogs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vista, California
Level Contributor
119 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good lunch and service”
Reviewed July 21, 2012

We has passed on McGills many times because the line was always so long! Somehow we were able to walk in and be seated within a couple of minutes and we now know why there is always a line. Our group had the angus burgers and the ham sanwichs both of which were served on a fresh chibita bun. They were great and the fries were quite tasty. Service was prompt and as a side note this is one of only two places in CB that got our orders right this week!

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jim m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Texas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Breakfast”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

Breakfast was great. Something for everyone. The kids loved the bear-shapted pancakes. I tried the green-chili on biscuits and it was excellent. A great atmosphere.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank TeamAdministrator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed McGill's also viewed

 

Been to McGill's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing