We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Our home away from home”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed December 29, 2013

We've been coming to this treasured B&B for the past 10 years during the winter season.
The rooms are comfortable and very clean. We always select the larger rooms to have more space. The breakfast is very good and you'll never go hungry.
The staff is the most teasured aspect of our stay. Coming back yearly has enabled us get to know the staff well and enjoy having conversations with them to learn more about the lifestyle of Crested Butte. This great little town tucked away in the mountains offers a unique experience unlike all the slick ski resorts in Colorado. The Lodge is located in the town only 2 blocks from the main street where there are many great restaurants and the free shuttles to the ski mountain about 10 minutes away.
The Elk Mountain Lodge feels like our home away from home.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank RKNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (252)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

90 - 96 of 252 reviews

Reviewed December 28, 2013

The rooms are nice, they're warm, nice bed and descent bathroom in what appears to be some sort of early 1900s hotel? Wooden inside, very old school. The breakfast is plentiful, they make snacks and coffee/tea throughout the day. The hot tub seems to never be used, which is great for us! Only 2 blocks from downtown, and a great value as compared to other hotels. The owner was willing to work with me on a last minute booking. Thanks! I would recommend it!

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveling_Man_321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2013

We came to Crested Butte just before the Lodge was about to close for the season. Which to me is the best time to go. Along with our traveling companions we had the Lodge to ourselves. The owner was very helpful in getting our luggage up the stairs... we had booked rooms on the 3rd floor but after arriving decided the 2nd floor would work much better for us.. climbing stairs at that altitude was much harder than we had expected! The Lodge built in 1919 was in perfect condition , the owner works very hard to keep it up to date and you can tell it is a labor of love. We had a wonderful view of the mountain, the beds were comfortable and the breakfast was great!!! We walked to the downtown area, just as we left the lodge it started snowing, soon the flakes were huge as we headed back, we were covered in snow by the time we returned!!! It was like Christmas in October! I would recommend this for couples of any age.

Room Tip: This lodge has no elevator be ready to climb some stairs. Try to get a room with a mountain view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Macombsboo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Elk Mountain was an average B&B. Location was good, 2 blocks from Elk Street, the main street in Crested Butte. Room was very small. Breakfast was OK for a continental breakfast. Nothing special. Wireless internet was not good on the 3rd floor. We had to leave our room to get a connection. Room key did not work properly and we had to pull it out of the lock. Staff was very friendly and quite helpful. Biggest complaint was the overall price. Even in Crested Butte for the size of the room the overall price was way to high. We had a balcony on the 3rd floor, total price was in the $160 range after taxes. We feel this should have been in the $110 range. Balcony had very cheap chairs and no table. Very small.

Room Tip: Don't pay for a balcony. Not worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OtisRocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nolan72, Owner at Elk Mountain Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded October 25, 2013

I'm sorry you did not enjoy your stay. It's unfortunate because if you mentioned your concerns we could have moved you to a bigger room that is closer to the Wi-fi signal. Our web site is quite clear that 3rd floor rooms are small. Our second floor rooms are much larger. I would like to mention you decided to stay in a Historic Inn in a National Historic district. That is the charm for most people. Not sure how you missed the full breakfast, it's not a continental breakfast. Maybe you cam down before everything was set out? Online reviews are very important to small owner operated businesses. Please re-consider your 2 star reviews, which most of yours are, when evaluating properties that are better.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Our repeat stays at the Elk Mountain Lodge are never disappointing. We love the comfortable lobby and outdoor adirondack chairs. Cookies and hot tea or espresso in the afternoon are a welcome. Very clean rooms with soft bath towels. This small lodge has a delicious and nutritious breakfast to start your day. The main town street is only a couple of blocks away. The staff is always helpful with good information in the area and will make dinner reservations for you. It just doesn't get any better!

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Pamela S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

I was on a great two-week road trip from Northern ca., and the best three days were at the Elk Mountain Lodge. The location is great. Once you're there, no need to drive. They give you a bicycle to ride to town or walking is a short jaunt. The staff is the best. They made me feel at home. Don't be afraid to talk to the other guests in the morning. I ended up meeting people and had a blast sharing stories and drinking wine with them. I would highly recommend Elk Mountain to any one of my friends and experience a truly memorable stay.
Andy

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Andy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2013

Stayed at the Elk Mountain Lodge over Labor Day and had a great time! The lodge is rustic, welcoming, homey and comfortable. Rooms are pertty basic and clean. Great location in town, great breakfast. Staff went out of their way to connect with everyone during breakfast, and gave some great suggestions for bike rides and must-see's in the area. Will definitely be back!

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Mollygirl415
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.3 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
807 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
649 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
126 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: $162 - $213 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing