We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Even this being the 'shoulder or mud' season, the hotel was clean, my room ready and inviting, and the breakfast very good. The main level has many places to sit and read, gather and chat, or find a corner all to yourself. I will stay here again.

Room Tip: I chose the 3rd floor room with a view. If you are tall, you may want to get a more traditional room...
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank apachesue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Elk Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

105 - 111 of 250 reviews

Reviewed March 17, 2013

We had a lovely weekend in Crested Butte and enjoyed very much our stay at Elk Mountain Lodge. We were on the third floor and had a great view from the balcony. The room was clean, warm and very adequate. Breakfast was plentiful with many options to choose from. The staff was friendly and provided helpful information regarding local trails for skiing and snowshoeing. Restaurants were a short two block walk away. Great location and unique lodge.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Carole S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

The Elk mountain Lodge is a perfect spot for enjoying what Crested Butte has to offer without breaking the bank. The lobby is large and filled with antiques and co for table furniture to have friends stop in for a glass of wine or a beer before dinner. The rooms are simple yet fresh and clean. The breakfast was served in a warm inviting dining room and the tables were located in a bright, cheerful sun porch. the food was ample - an egg dish, fruit , cereals and tasty breads and homemade jams- and offered espresso drinks for a little extra cost. We didn't use the hot tub but towels were provided and it looked clean.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BuckleUpGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

We needed to be in CB for the weekend and our regular cabin was booked, so we decided to stay Elk Mountain Lodge for a couple of nights. Built in 1919 by Colorado Fuel & Iron as company hotel and boarding house for local miners, this structure was sold in the early 1950s to private owners. Passed through several more proprietors, the current owner has been improving the property steadily and significantly since 2000, and it shows. Lots of great details combine to make this a very pleasant and unique place to stay. Love the John Muir quote carved into the fireplace mantle.

One of the best things about CB is the laid-back attitude of most residents. Brian at EML epitomizes the folks who live and work here. Clerk, bartender, breakfast chef, and all-around chill host, Brian makes every guest feel at home. Co-worker Dara took over these duties the next day, and was equally friendly and helpful. The breakfast buffet drew everyone into the dining areas with a friendly chatter among Texans, New Yorkers and Coloradans alike. Skiers soon departed for the mountain, and those of us left easily found a quiet nook to read and enjoy another cup of coffee.

The first morning's included breakfast was simple and delicious featuring blueberry pancakes, fresh fruit & juice, hard boiled eggs, grilled ham, bagels & muffins, cereal, yogurt and of course bottomless coffee. Our second morning featured a delicious Southwest egg, cheese and black bean casserole in place of the pancakes & ham. Breakfast is available from 7:30 to 9:00 each morning.

Our room seemed a bit tiny, probably because it sits over the entrance stairs. The queen bed was very comfortable, with a varied selection of pillows. This part of town is pretty quiet, but you can definitely hear other roomers thumping around during the night and early morning. Modern hotels are constructed with sound dampening in mind, but we're talking about a hundred-year-old wooden building here, so we can cut it some slack. Apparently ghost stories are associated with our room (#11) but there was no spectral evidence during our stay. The occasional ticking sound we attributed to the baseboard heater. The bathrooms have been updated and ours was just fine.

Free WiFi was strong throughout the hotel.

The lodge is on the corner of Gothic and Second, only two blocks from main drag Elk Ave. and the free town shuttle stop, which takes you up to the mountain ski area. BTW, Crested Butte ski area offers the best all-around skiing terrain in Colorado, in our opinion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tmitchco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We spent there 6 days. Our trip without car was easy, Alpine Express took us from Gunnison airport to door step of the Lodge. We had a first floor room, on the back side of lodge which slopes, so it was like being on second floor almost. Views on the mountain Crested Butte and more was fascinating every morning. Room was very cozy, but enough for 2 people tired after skiing all day. Bed was very comfortable, nice warm bedding, heater worked great. The only negative I would say it was, tv was on upper shelf right beneath ceiling, so only way to watch it you had to lay completely down to look up. So, may be in the next upgrade flat screen mounted on the wall would be nice.
Location was great 2 blocks of the main drag ( Elk Ave) and for us walking distance to Nordic center was perfect.
Breakfast every day was a little different, full warm dish served along with cold fixings( cereal, baggles, home made preserves etc...). Wonderful service, thank you Mike and Valerie for being great hosts. We will return for more skies next year.

Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
1  Thank Bozenaclay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 26, 2013

The Elk Mountain Lodge is located 2 blocks away from the original Town Hall of Crested Butte which serves as a bus stop to whisk skiers up to the Mt. Crested Butte Ski Area. This location is Elk Avenue that is that is the hub for Crested Buttes numerous interesting restaurants and water holes. The lodge is more like a B&B then a hotel. The common areas are expansive for the serving of wonderful full breakfasts, lounging in the evening and a small bar is open in the evenings. The service is top notch.

The biggest draw back to the Elk Mountain Lodge are the small room sizes and marginal quality mattresses and spartan furnishings. It is not comfortable to lounge in your room. That said the positives are so strong that we will be back when we return to ski at Crested Butte.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ben K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 22, 2013

Mike Nolan and his team did a great job of providing for our group ski trip to CB. Individual rooms, breakfast, apre' bar, hot tub are all the foundation for a outstanding skiing experience for a group of 5 guys that wanted to eat, ski, tub and drink. Great insight into local attractions and events.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.3 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
798 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: $162 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing