We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Lodgical place to stay in CB”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed August 17, 2012

Plenty of comfort. Quiet, friendly, well-tended and well-suited decor. We biked downhill, hiked, swam, kayaked, biked uphill, fished and biked. We listened to local mountain-rock Coreshot on main street. We ate at all the best restaurants. Secret Stash, Slogars, Ryce, Maxwells, Teocali Tamale ... Each night we returned with that good-to-be-home feeling, walking the short 2 blocks from main street back to the Lodge. A dependable place. Perfectly located. 7 days and not long enough. Until next year.
(Note- the "Fitness Center" rating is for everything outside, and uphill). The "Swimming Pool" rating was for Meridian Lake, and not for the feint of heart.)

Room Tip: East rooms see Mount CB
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Karl R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (250)
There are newer reviews for Elk Mountain Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

132 - 138 of 250 reviews

Reviewed July 30, 2012

My wife and I enjoyed a great stay last week at Elk Mountain Lodge in Crested Butte. We love coming to Colorado, but had never stayed in that part of the state. The lodge was recommended by a business friend. We trusted in his suggestion and don't regret. An historic building two blocks from the main street. Loved the '60's bikes out front free for use around town. Great breakfast included in room cost. Lodge has homey feel, especially the great room. Front porch and breakfast is a great place to meet other lodgers. We will return!

Room Tip: third floor rooms have great views, but even lugging luggage up to 2nd floor is a tough climb!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Bob G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2012

Our expectations were high before we arrived due to the reviews here and elsewhere. My wife and I were not disappointed. In fact, I would venture to say that this may be one of the best Hotel/ B&B's we have ever experienced. The entire staff made us feel at home throughout our 4-night stay. It was like visiting relatives or old friends during the holidays. Great location in Crested Butte, excellent breakfast, homemade cookies with coffee and tea in the afternoon and evening. Our 3rd floor balcony room had a beautiful view. We highly recommend Elk Mountain Lodge to anyone wishing to visit Crested Butte.

Room Tip: Most 3rd floor rooms have a balcony and great view of Mt. Crested Butte.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GeoffreyS431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2012

Although our 3rd floor room was pretty tight with an awkward slanted beam you had to walk around, I would stay here again because of the outstanding view of Mt. Crested Butte. If possible, request a balcony room and you probably won't want to leave. They have a lovely breakfast room, but I would add they might want to work a llittle harder on the breakfast choices. The in-town location is a bonus.

Room Tip: Request a 3rd floor balcony room with a view.
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SchoolmarmAustin_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

We loved staying at the Elk Mountain Lodge! We knew we would like it the moment we walked in. The inn has a lot of character and charm and the staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Additionally, the breakfast (which is included) is delicious and plentiful - and has soy milk, which is important for us because we are vegan. The lodge is perfectly located in the center of town, only a few minutes walk to shops and restaurants.

We stayed in a room on the third floor with a balcony and a terrific view of Mt. Crested Butte, which had a double rainbow on our first night.

You really can't go wrong staying here. We would love to return!

Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
2  Thank LantzMill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

I would highly recommend a stay at the Elk Mountain Lodge for those looking for a great experience in downtown Crested Butte. The lodge was clean, the staff was extremely helpful and courteous, and the breakfast each morning was a major bonus! My boyfriend and I will definitely be back!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank julie g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2012

Elk Mountain Lodge was a great place to stay for a summer weekend getaway in Crested Butte. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful. We loved the breakfast and prime location. If you want to stay right in CB, this is the place!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Aliwaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Crested Butte hotels
2.3 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
798 reviews
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
272 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
373 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
646 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
146 reviews
0.5 mi away
Cristiana Guesthaus
Cristiana Guesthaus
#5 of 9 in Crested Butte
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: $162 - $250 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing