We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Elk Mountain Lodge is FANTASTIC!”
Review of Elk Mountain Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Elk Mountain Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed September 27, 2007

Simply put, The Elk Mountain Lodge is the next best thing to home. Actually, better than home!, as Mike Nolan and his friendly and accomodating staff go out of their way to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. They serve a wholesome and delicious breakfast every morning and are always ready with ideas for exploring the most beautiful mountains in Colorado right out their back door. The rooms are clean and very comfortable and most have nice views of the valley. We ended up staying for 2 weeks due to a family illness and we were all so grateful to all the staff for their genuine concern and going out of their way to help us get through it. One evening, we sat with fellow guests, who have been coming this little gem of a lodge for years!, and listened to elk bugling out of the near by Slate River. There is no need to stay elsewhere in Crested Butte. The Elk Mountain Lodge is it!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank MongolianSpiceGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (255)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

247 - 253 of 255 reviews

Reviewed September 19, 2007

Boy, I have to disagree with some of these reviews. Ok, so the coffee may not be sizzling hot in the late afternoon and the bananas may still have peels on them....mind you, this place is not trying to compete with the Plaza in New York!
This was my husband's and my second stay at the Elk Mountain Lodge this year. (We booked our second reservation as we checked out in July! In fact, we liked the Lodge so much we decided to bring friends with us for the second stay.)
This is why we love this place (in no particular order):
1) It feels like home!!! We love the people who run and work at Elk Mtn Lodge. They are all young and very nice. Mike, the owner, is an energetic, personable dad who spends time getting to know all his guests. He offers inside information about what to do, where to hike, where to eat, where to get info if he doesn't know, and even maps out the locals' favorite mtn bike trails. (I was greatly impressed when he greeted us by name as we walked in this visit.)
2)The location is wonderful - an easy 2-block walk to Elk Ave. (Main St.) just far enough away from the noise and bustle of restaurants and night noises.
3) The 3rd floor rooms have balconies which have great views ot Mt. Crested Butte. Second floor rooms are a bit more roomy, if you tend to pack a trunk of clothes and need an alcove to store them all in.
4) A beautiful, historic in-house, full bar (open every evening) offers a cocktail or glass of wine before heading out for dinner on the town.
5) There's a great front porch to sit on and drink your coffee or wine or just check out all the people walking and biking by.
5) There are fresh cookies in the afternoon accompanied by live jazz piano or chamber music, if you're lucky. (We've had the pleasure of both!)
6) The historic Crested Butte miner's lodging charm (historic designation keep the Lodge from offering some of the amenities one would find in a hotel in Chicago.) Don't expect: elevators, room service, little sewing kits, a basement spa and head dresser, or DVD players in each room. Do expect: free Wi-Fi (high speed internet), a wonderful library if you left your reading material at home, a grand piano in the salon, lots of stairs to climb for high elevation exercise, a separate reading and game room, house plants, a huge kitchen where you can keep your left-over pizza, a very clean 4-man hot tub, comfy beds, and a wonderful sense of hospitality.
Chances are, if you don't like this place you are probably more of a "resort-type" person and should probably just head 2 miles up the hill to Mt Crested Butte and find a room at one of the high rise hotel chains decorated with generic artwork and soon-to-be-dated granite countertop bathrooms!

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank COLORADOnative2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2007

On arrival after a very long journey and finding no coffee-making facilities in our room, we returned to reception to request some coffee. The girl on reception directed us to a thermos in the corner of the lounge but on pouring the coffee we found it to be virtually stone cold. On pointing this out we were told "No problem I'll show you how to zap it". We were clearly expected to reheat this stale coffee in the microwave. Only when we suggested that making some fresh would be a better idea did she consent to brew a new pot!

Breakfast in the morning was far from the "Deluxe Continental" described on the web site. It was an entirely do-it-yourself affair with no service whatsoever. Fruit salad was crudely chopped mixture in which the bananas were chopped into chunks with their skins still intact !

The only saving grace is that it's in a good location just one block off the main street and there is a good hot tub.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank OntCommon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 16, 2007

We have been guests at Elk Mountain Lodge for the past 7 years. Amy & Mike are gracious hosts, the breakfast is fantastic and the lodge employees are very knowledgable of the hiking trails in the area. We have stayed both in the summer and winter and love the historic, cozy, comfortable,and inviting atmosphere of the Elk Mountain Lodge. It is clean, has a great location in a quiet neighborhood and within walking distance of a great downtown area with wonderful restaurants and shopping.

Stayed: July 2007
1  Thank sandra_deke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2006

I was severely disappointed in this property. For $135/night I expected much more. For those who described the breakfast as wonderful, where did you stay?? We had a nasty egg casserole with black beans one morning & a very simple tiny cheese omelet the next morning. We had read about the great breakfasts & we didn't get much more than what you would get at some chain hotel with a free continental breakfast. The stairs were very steep & our room on the 3rd floor was TINY with slanted ceilings so we hit our heads constantly. The staff at the front desk & the young man making breakfast were very nice, but that is all that I can say that is positive about this property. I

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank chayes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2006

Very quaint old hotel. The location is quiet and tucked away but less then a 4 minute walk to Elk Ave. The walk is SAFE by the way. The two main highlights are the fabulous breakfast and the hotel staff. The rooms are what you'd expect from an older hotel; small but very clean with all the basic needs. they also have a nice hot tub. Great place with great people.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank skibumajg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

August 30th 2006
We thought that Crested Butte was more of a winter town than summer. Boy were we wrong.
There are so many things to do here. It's a real young persons town with hiking, kayaking, mountain bikeing, mountain climbing seeming to be the main objective.
However, since we don't do those things we still found plenty to do. A 4 x 4 would be very useful here. We took the off roads in a car and sometimes had to turn back but the scenery is wonderful.
The Elk mountain Lodge is very comfortable, the staff friendly and the breakfast good.
This B&B is larger than most B&B's we've stayed in. More like a small hotel with breakfast but we had no complaints and would go back.
There are many good restaurants in town that are just walking distance, though the Lodge also provides bikes complimentary.
Colorado is a beautiful state.

2  Thank Vernalyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crested Butte
2.3 mi away
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
Lodge at Mountaineer Square
#1 of 7 in Crested Butte
274 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
The Elevation Hotel & Spa
#3 of 7 in Crested Butte
820 reviews
23.7 mi away
The Limelight Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
The Nordic Inn
The Nordic Inn
#1 of 9 in Crested Butte
380 reviews
2.3 mi away
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
Grand Lodge Crested Butte
#2 of 7 in Crested Butte
656 reviews
0.4 mi away
Inn at Crested Butte
Inn at Crested Butte
#9 of 9 in Crested Butte
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Elk Mountain Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Elk Mountain Lodge

Address: 129 Gothic Ave, At Second & Gothic Ave, Crested Butte, CO 81224
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Colorado > Crested Butte
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 9 B&Bs / Inns in Crested Butte
Price Range: $172 - $227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Elk Mountain Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
“Crested Butte’s Historic Inn” A modest, yet elegant, bed & breakfast lodge with 19 quaint rooms downtown Crested Butte. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotwire and TripOnline SA so you can book your Elk Mountain Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Elk Mountain Hotel Crested Butte

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing