We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Oh my!”
Review of Schofield Pass

Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Between Crested Butte and Marble, this difficult road has narrow, steep passages.
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Oh my!”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Views were amazing.
Warning...you really must have 4wd to get up the road safely. We drove our rental compact about a mile short of the top of the road , hiked the road and then hiked the schofield trail. Took about 4 hours to top and return. We loved it.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Pegnick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

64 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    45
    14
    3
    0
    2
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Evergreen, Colorado
Level Contributor
220 reviews
63 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Devil's Punchbowl!”
Reviewed September 9, 2012

You need to be an experienced off-road enthusiast for this one.....there are a few dangerous spots but this is by far the BEST 4WD trail ever! From the beautiful waterfall, to stopping at the Crystal Mill, and then riding into Marble, make it an unforgettable experience.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank gecco2003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Awesome drive but not for those who hate heights.”
Reviewed August 12, 2012

Drove from Crested Butte into Schofield Park to hike the West Maroon Trail. The road is in decent shape (4WD is useful due to a number of large potholes and humps in the road). There is one part that I found scary - road carved into the steep mountainside, no guard rails, and no room for 2 cars. We ran into someone coming up when we were coming down, and he had to back up 20 yds to where we could pass.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank LynneC_TX
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dawson, Texas
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great drive!”
Reviewed July 12, 2012

We have been going to Crested Butte ans Gunnison for years and decided to take the pass to Gunnison. This road had awesome views, beware that the road is like a washboard for about 2 miles but it is well worth the drive.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
Thank CheriM2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego
Level Contributor
158 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Fantastic scenery”
Reviewed December 18, 2011

In summer, it can be very crowded, so take your patience pill. Mountain bikes, motor bikes and hikers. If you have the chance to explore the hiking trails here, you won't be disappointed. Wildflowers are amazing, weather is great, trails are well marked.

Visited December 2011
Helpful?
Thank Kaliko Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Schofield Pass also viewed

 

Been to Schofield Pass? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing