We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Surely was the best place for us in Creede; great ambience.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Creede
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Creede Firemen's Inn
Ranked #5 of 5 Creede B&B and Inns
Santa Fe, New Mexico
Level 6 Contributor
233 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 231 helpful votes
“Surely was the best place for us in Creede; great ambience.”
Reviewed July 8, 2012

The rooms are up on the third or top floor of this old brick building and I really loved the decor and ambience.
The Last Chance room at the back of the B&B was spacious and incredibly quiet at night. There was room for a bed, two nightstands, a suitcase rack, a dresser, a small table with 2 chairs, AND a small, comfortable loveseat. We were grateful for the ceiling fan during our summer stay. Three windows with privacy blinds provided ample natural light. The bathroom and everything else was very clean. The only drawback for some was the shower stall in lieu of a bathtub - but we were OK as the online descriptions of the room had warned us that Last Chance had only a 3/4 bathroom. The combo TV/DVD player was there for playing DVDs, of which there was ample stock in the hallway for borrowing. The TV screen was only an old 13-inch, however, so if you are accustomed to a large flat-screen at home, you might be disappointed. The bed was comfy (not very firm) but was starting to sag toward the middle. Very warm, cozy bedspread was provided and the pillows were comfortable.
The location is almost directly across from the original Colorado Repertory Theatre and right in the thick of the main street.
Guests choose their breakfast in the Old Firehouse restaurant, dining with other breakfast diners. This was quite pleasant, as the egg dishes and the pancakes were large portions and very tasty.
We'd stay here again.

Room Tip: Last Chance (the only room at the back of the building) is very quiet. It has three windows and so i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kosmo63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    11
    4
    6
    5
See reviews for
7
21
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

My room was dirty, there were so many flies in the restaurant it was disgusting, I shared my concerns with the owner, Charles, and he acted like I was in the wrong for doing so.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Goinforawalk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
maze123, Owner at Creede Firemen's Inn, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Sorry we were not able to make you happy with the purchase of your jeep that was on craigslist. With the 13000 dollars in cash you received you could of bought your own breakfast. Since you did not stay with us we feel it is unfair that you left a review,(good or bad). Anybody who has stayed with us or eaten in our restaurant knows that there are no flies in the restaurant, furthermore in August the flies are mostly gone or inactive due to the cold. Charles the owner of the establishment (and your old jeep) does everything in his power to make every patrons visit the best, and fix any and every issue at the time of the complaint. Everybody has bad days or lives, some are worse than others.


There are no easy answers' but there are simple answers. We must have the courage to do what we know is morally right.
Ronald Reagan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northglenn, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 12, 2011

We stayed in the Commodore suite and it was very comfortable with good beds. There was a refrigerator, microwave oven and stove available in the hall. The staff was very friendly and helpful. If you choose to eat there, you will not be disappointed. We had breakfast burritos that were gourmet quality, and the other choices for breakfast were excellent as well. It was dog friendly as is the entire town. The theater is directly across the street. There is a fascinating museum of mining well within walking distance. There is a soap shop on the premises that has wonderful soaps. Nothing hoity toidy, but if you are looking for a quiet, convenient place to relax, this fills the bill.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedishSafari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2011

Clean spacious room - Last Chance room. Nice and quiet in the back with great access to outdoor deck. View from deck is of an alley so not great, but nice to sit outside in the quiet. In room coffee only provided decaf and did not get regular when we asked. Bed was a bit soft but overall room was comfortable, clean and spacious. Breakfast downstairs was fantastic--you order whatever you like from the full restaurant menu. Free DVDs to guests to watch on in-room tv/dvd player. Great location right across from the theater. On street parking was free and convenient. Tall skinny stairs up to rooms, so not for the those that are stair challenged or have lots of luggage. Great value and fun place to stay in authentic 100 year old building.

Room Tip: Rooms in back have less street noise, but this is not a huge issue as the town's streets 'ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SAHDenver-CO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2011

We were more than pleased with accommodations and appreciated the generosity of the innkeepers very much. Clean quarters, nice full breakfast and great central location. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank EAE1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Keller
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 15, 2011

Great room, clean, comfortable beds, and the breakfast there was KILLER!!!! The owner made sure we had everything we needed. Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MW1973Keller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
McKinney, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2011

Great little place, clean, great breakfast, great value, one night stay, will return.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bill j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Creede
20.8 mi away
Spruce Lodge
Spruce Lodge
#3 of 3 in South Fork
232 reviews
20.1 mi away
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
Foothills Lodge & Cabins
#1 of 3 in South Fork
255 reviews
20.2 mi away
Allington Inn & Suites
Allington Inn & Suites
#2 of 3 in South Fork
155 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Creede Firemen's Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Creede Firemen's Inn

Property: Creede Firemen's Inn
Address: 123 N Main St., Creede, CO 81130 (Formerly Old Firehouse B&B)
Location: United States > Colorado > Creede
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Creede
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Return to a time and place where you can relax in solitude, enjoy the peace and beauty of the mountains, and leave the hectic life of the city. Join your hosts for a truly historic experience. The Firemen's Inn is located in the heart of downtown Creede, where all that you are looking for is only steps away. Strolling through the shops of downtown, attending a show at the renowned Creede Repertory Theater, hiking the majestic mountains and rafting the Rio Grande River, are only a few of the attractions in the area. You'll dream the night away in Creede's Historic Firemens Inn. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Creede Firemen's Inn Colorado

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing